OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Search by title, author...

LIBRARY GUIDE TO NRS 674 - Foundations Forensic Nursing

Searching
Research and read lots of information to develop your understanding of the topic.

START by exploring Library OneSearch (includes books, ebooks, academic journals, newspapers)


*Try search terms like adhd, children, "drug treatment" and use facets on left to narrow by source type - choose " "

Relevent ebook collections:
Law, Politics & Government
Health & Biological Sciences

For research databases try suggested databases from OneSearch or BROWSE SUBJECT LIST of DATABASES.

Possible choices:
  • Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff CINAHL Plus with Full-Text  -comprehensive and highly-authoritative database for research in nursing and health sciences
  • Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff ERIC  -resources in education including journal articles from research/scholarly and practitioner literature
  • Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Thanks to Mel Health Reference Center Academic - provides access to the full text of nursing and allied health journals, includes multimedia
  • Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Thanks to Mel Nursing Resource Center  Brings together disease and drug overviews, care plans, relevant journal results and animated anatomy and physiology diagrams and core encyclopedia texts. 
  • Unrestricted Resource PubMed (MEDLINE) - The National Library of Medicine's free interface for MEDLINE the premier database for biomedical journal citations
  • Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff PsycINFO  - literature in psychology and related disciplines such as psychiatry, education, business, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, law, linguistics, and social work.
  • Social Sciences Full Text
    Includes full-text articles from over 300 journals, covering concepts, theories and methods from both applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences: 1983 - present. How to export to RefWorks
  • Social Work Abstracts
    Indexes more than 450 social work and human services journals. Coverage: 1965 to present. How to export to RefWorks

Government sites

Legal documents
  • LegalTrac - major law reviews, legal newspapers, bar association journals and international legal journals
  • LexisNexis Academic Universe - LEGAL - court decisions, legal codes, legal news, and law journals, both at the state level and federal level.
  • Google Scholar - Legal documents limit
Books & ebooks
Examples forensic nursing titles:
HARDCOPY
EBOOKS
Library Contact
Picture: Julia Rodriguez

Julia Rodriguez
Associate Professor / Nursing, Health Sciences & Scholarly Communications Librarian
juliar@oakland.edu

Schedule a research consultation (Fall & Winter only)
 
Tutorials

Database tutorials
CINAHL
PUBMED

EBP tutorials:
Evidence-Based Practice Quick Reference Guide (Alaska Medical Library)
Evidence-Based Practice in the Health Sciences: EBP Nursing Tutorial (UIC

Analyzing Sources & Literature Review tutorials:
Essential Elements of a Literature Review guide (UC Santa Cuz)
Conducting Literature Reviews - detailed guide (USC)
Critically Analyzing Information Sources (Cornell Libraries)


Citation Tools
RefWorks is available through the Library subcriptions. You create a personal database of references, generate a bibliography from your list of references & automatically format in any common citation style.Refworks tutorials

Citation Style Guides:

Writing Help

The Writing Center at Oakland University will assist developing their ideas into polished final products. The Center's services are in high demand so be sure to plan ahead when scheduling an appointment.


Edit

OU Libraries | 100 Library Drive, Rochester, Michigan 48309-4479 | (248) 370-2471
Accessibility | Sitemap | Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster


Hours | Location

OU Libraries on Facebook OU Libraries on Twitter OU Libraries on Instagram OU Libraries News