OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Search by title, author...

LIBRARY GUIDE TO NRS 6765 - Emergency Preparedness, Disaster Management, Violence in Society CLINICAL

Searching for Literature
START by exploring Library OneSearch (includes books, ebooks, academic journals, newspapers)

*Try search terms like "health promotion" AND "at risk" AND teen* (using * will get teens, teenages etc) and use facets on left to narrow by source type - choose " "

Search for articles, books, and more... Suggested NURSING / HEALTH SCIENCE databases with evidence-based literature:

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff CINAHL Plus with Full-Text is a comprehensive and highly-authoritative database for research in nursing and health sciences. How to Export to Refworks. View the Researching with CINAHL tutorial.

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Cochrane Library Collection of databases that contain evidence for healthcare decision-making.   How to export to Refworks.

Unrestricted Resource PubMed (MEDLINE) The National Library of Medicine's free interface for MEDLINE, the premier database for biomedical journal citations. How to export to RefWorks

View entire list of Nursing related databases
 
Library Contact
Picture: Julia Rodriguez

Julia Rodriguez
Associate Professor / Nursing, Health Sciences & Scholarly Communications Librarian
juliar@oakland.edu

Schedule a research consultation (Fall & Winter only)
 
Citation Tools
Citation Style Guides:
Tutorials

 EBP tutorials:
Evidence-Based Practice Quick Reference Guide (Alaska Medical Library)\
Evidence-Based Practice in the Health Sciences: EBP Nursing Tutorial (UIC)


Analyzing Sources & Literature Review tutorials:
Essential Elements of a Literature Review guide (UC Santa Cuz)
Conducting Literature Reviews - detailed guide (USC)
Critically Analyzing Information Sources (Cornell Libraries)
 
Locating information for clinicals
To find information to answer quick questions about diseases, diagnosis, drugs, treatments etc, you will need to use different databases then you may have used in the past. 

POINT OF CARE
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff ClinicalKey Leading medical and surgical quick reference tool including epidemiology, diagnosis, treatment and patrient information. To access the PDF, please log in or register for a free account with your institutional subscription.

 An evidence-based clinical reference tool for use at the point-of-care,more than 3,200 clinical topics includes information about epidemiology, diagnosis, prevention, guidelines etc.

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff UpToDate Evidence-based online resource covering thousands of internal medicine, pediatric, and OB/GYN topics. Includes topic summaries, adult and pediatric facets, graphs, images, guidelines etc. 

 
DRUG INFORMATION
  • Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff AccessMedicine Collection of 60 full-text medical and basic sciences books from McGraw-Hill, including Harrison's Textbook of Medicine. AccessMedicine also includes images, videos, diagnostic tools, patient education handouts, and drug information.
     
  • Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Micromedex A collection of databases containing full-text information on drugs, toxicology, and diseases includes drug comparisons, identification, thereapuetic class searching, dosing and extensive patient education.
     
  • Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff UpToDate Drug interaction, includes Lexi-Comp's Comprehensive Drug-to-Drug, Drug-to-Herb and Herb-to-Herb Interaction Analysis Program.
Mobile resources
 There are moblie apps for the iphone and ipad. Review the reference chart to find the app you need. 

https://medlib.oakland.edu/mobile/ios.php
REFERENCE AND STUDY GUIDES
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff AccessMedicine 60 full-text medical and basic sciences books, including Harrison's Textbook of Medicine. Also includes images, videos, diagnostic tools, patient education handouts, drug information, quick reference.

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Bates' Visual Guide
Streaming videos that accompany the textbook, Bates' Guide to Physical Examination and History Taking.
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Thanks to Mel Nursing Resource Center Disease and drug overviews, care plans, animated anatomy and physiology diagrams and core encyclopedia texts.
 
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff STAT!Ref Large collection of reference books including Stedman's Medical Dictionary, Diagnosis and Procedure codes and coversion tools, Lippincott Manual of Nursing Practice, Diagnosis Refernce Manual etc. 
 

Edit

OU Libraries | 100 Library Drive, Rochester, Michigan 48309-4479 | (248) 370-2471
Accessibility | Sitemap | Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster


Hours | Location

OU Libraries on Facebook OU Libraries on Twitter OU Libraries on Instagram OU Libraries News