OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Search by title, author...

LIBRARY GUIDE TO NRS 8211 - Advanced Nursing Theory

Getting Started

Library OneSearch
Library OneSearch is a good starting point for your research. It contains books, ebooks, academic journals, etc...

It offers a more general search than the article databases recommended below and is ideal for exploring assignment topics and getting background information from books and ebooks.
 

Library Contact
Picture: Mariela Hristova

Mariela Hristova
Associate Professor, Nursing Librarian
hristova@oakland.edu
248.370.2464

Research consultation appointments are virtual in Google Meet.

Recommended Library Databases
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff CINAHL Complete
The Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature (CINAHL) is a full-text database for nursing and allied health journals from 1937 to present. Includes access to scholarly journal articles, dissertations, magazines, pamphlets, evidence-based care sheets, books, and research instruments. How to Export to RefWorks / CINAHL tutorials

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Medline via Web of Science
MEDLINE is the premier database of the U.S. National Library of Medicine. It contains over 20 million records of journal articles in the life sciences, with particular emphasis on biomedicine. Coverage: 1950-present. How to export to RefWorks

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Web of Science
Web of Science provides access to Science Citation Index (SCI), Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI) and Arts and Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI). These indexes contain references that have been cited in other articles. You can use these citations to perform cited reference searches (locate articles that cite an earlier publication). How to export to RefWorks

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff PsycINFO
Need articles in psychology or counseling? Use PsycINFO! It's a great resource and is published by the American Psychological Association. How to export to RefWorks

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Thanks to Mel Alt-Health Watch
Complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness are included here. Many articles are available full-text. Thanks to MeL. How to export Alt-Health Watch to RefWorks

For a complete list of databases, please visit Databases > Nursing.
Steps in Reviewing the Literature
  • Problem formulation - which topic or field is being examined and what are the component issues?
  • Literature search - finding materials relevant to the subject explored
  • Data evaluation - determining which literature makes a significant contribution to the understanding of the topic
  • Analysis and interpretations - discussing the findings and conclusions of pertinent literature

Free downloadable textbook - Literature Reviews for Education and Nursing Graduate Students

 
Assessing the Quality of the Evidence
EBP Evidence Pyramid

EBM Pyramid and EBM Page Generator, copyright 2006 Trustees of Dartmouth College and Yale University.

Additional Tools and Help
RefWorks

Refworks

Refworks allows you to create a personal database of references and automatically generate formatted bibliographies for your projects.

APA 7th Edition

APA 7 style guide with examples
Detailed guide from OWL-Purdue

Sample APA paper
Shows formatting of headers, etc...

APA Manual 
Available for shared use only in Kresge Library
 
Writing Help

The Writing Center
They will assist you with every stage of the writing process. Consultations are in demand, so plan ahead when scheduling an appointment.

Writing Resources Online
Helpful presentations on how to write a literature review, prepare a poster, etc...

Technology Help

Technology Help Desk
Kresge Library houses a technology help desk, where tech mentors can assist you with using Word, Powerpoint, and other programs. They can also help you troubleshoot technology-related challenges.


Edit

OU Libraries | 100 Library Drive, Rochester, Michigan 48309-4479 | (248) 370-2471
Accessibility | Sitemap | Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster


Hours | Location

OU Libraries on Facebook OU Libraries on Twitter OU Libraries on Instagram OU Libraries News