OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Search by title, author...

LIBRARY GUIDE TO NRS 8671 - Advanced Research Methods

Searching for Literature
Primary nursing databases for searching evidence-based literature:

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff CINAHL Plus with Full-Text is a comprehensive and highly-authoritative database for research in nursing and health sciences. How to Export to Refworks

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Cochrane Library A collection of databases that contain evidence for healthcare decision-making. Includes systematic review abstracts, technology assessments, economic evaluations and individual clinical trials.   How to export to Refworks.

Unrestricted Resource PubMed Health   Simultaneously runs two searches in PubMed- first for systematic reviews, using the Clinical Queries filter, displayed under the “Systematic Reviews in PubMed” heading, The second uses a systematic review methods filter to find methods guidance and studies. Those results are displayed in the “Systematic Review Methods in PubMed” heading.

Unrestricted Resource PubMed (MEDLINE) The National Library of Medicine's free interface for MEDLINE, the premier database for biomedical journal citations. How to export to RefWorks

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Medline via Web of Science
You can also MEDLINE using the Web of Science database which some people find easier. 

Broader databases for searching evidence-based literature:
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Scopus
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed research literature with more than 20,500 titles from more than 5,000 international publishers. Scopus offers researchers a quick, easy and comprehensive resource to support their research needs in the scientific, technical, medical and social sciences fields and arts and humanities. It also contains tools that track, analyze and visualize scholarly work.

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff EMBase
Comprehensive coverage of the preclinical, medical and pharmacological sciences. Strong in the European literature, EMBase includes 2,000 not currently covered by Medline.

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Micromedex
Micromedex is a collection of databases containing full-text information on drugs, toxicology, and diseases. The drug information is detailed, referenced, and includes drug comparisons and identification, thereapuetic class searching, and dosing. Micromedex also includes an extensive patient education component.

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff DynaMed Plus
Evidence-based clinical reference tool written by physicians who synthesize the evidence and provide objective analysis to help health care providers in their daily practice. Designed to provide quick answers to clinical questions. DynaMed Plus is a major upgrade to the DynaMed system and includes an improved search interface, thousands of graphics and images, specialty content, mobile access, and enhanced drug information.

View entire list of Nursing related databases

View Database characteristics chart 
Citation Linkers

To get the full-text of an article you found on the web or elsewhere paste the citation information into Google Scholar and follow the Get-it buttons.


Google Scholar Article Search
 

Or use the library's citation linker tool.

If we don't have your article electronically or in print try borrowing through InterLibrary Loan.

Books & ebooks
Examples of nursing titles in library:

Evidence-based nursing : the research-practice connection / Sarah Jo Brown.Jones & Bartlett Learning, c2012.

Nursing research : reading, using, and creating evidence / Janet Houser. Jones & Bartlett Learning, c2012.

Reading research : a user-friendly guide for nurses and other health professionals / Barbara Davies, Jo Logan.
Mosby Elsevier, c2008.

Citation Tools
RefWorks is available through the Library subcriptions. You create a personal database of references, generate a bibliography from your list of references & automatically format in any common citation style.Refworks tutorials

Citation Style Guides:

Library Contact
Picture: Julia Rodriguez

Julia Rodriguez
Associate Professor / Nursing, Health Sciences & Scholarly Communications Librarian
juliar@oakland.edu

Schedule a research consultation (Fall & Winter only)
 
Tutorials

Database tutorials
CINAHL
PUBMED

EBP tutorials:
Evidence-Based Practice Quick Reference Guide (Alaska Medical Library)
Evidence-Based Practice in the Health Sciences: EBP Nursing Tutorial (UIC

Analyzing Sources & Literature Review tutorials:
Essential Elements of a Literature Review guide (UC Santa Cuz)
Conducting Literature Reviews - detailed guide (USC)
Critically Analyzing Information Sources (Cornell Libraries)


EBP Quality of Evidence Chart

Writing Help

The Writing Center at Oakland University will assist developing their ideas into polished final products. The Center's services are in high demand so be sure to plan ahead when scheduling an appointment.

Online EPB resources
National Guideline Clearinghouse is a public resource for evidence-based clinical practice guidelines.

Unrestricted Resource Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE)  is produced by the NIHR Centre for Reviews and Dissemination (CRD) at the University of York, UK and evaluates systematic reviews in the field of healthcare and medicine. A summary of the review and critical commentary are written by experts in the topic area and in systematic reviews as a research method. 

Unrestricted Resource TRIP  is a clinical search tool designed to allow health professionals to rapidly identify the highest quality clinical evidence for clinical practice.

The National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE) provides national guidance and advice to improve health and social care. (UK based)

Edit

OU Libraries | 100 Library Drive, Rochester, Michigan 48309-4479 | (248) 370-2471
Accessibility | Sitemap | Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster


Hours | Location

OU Libraries on Facebook OU Libraries on Twitter OU Libraries on Instagram OU Libraries News