OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Search by title, author...

LIBRARY GUIDE TO NRS 8712 - Translating Research for EBP

Search Strategy - PICO Example
Recommended Library Databases
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Cochrane Library
This is a collection of databases that contain evidence for healthcare decision-making. Includes systematic review abstracts, technology assessments, economic evaluations and individual clinical trials. How to export to Refworks.

Unrestricted Resource PubMed (MEDLINE)
The National Library of Medicine's free interface for MEDLINE, the premier database for biomedical journal citations. PubMed dates back to 1946 and includes more than 32 million citations in medicine, nursing, allied health, and dentistry. PubMed also includes citations from PubMed Central and the NCBI Bookshelf.

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff CINAHL Complete
The Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature (CINAHL) is a full-text database for nursing and allied health journals from 1937 to present. Includes access to scholarly journal articles, dissertations, magazines, pamphlets, evidence-based care sheets, books, and research instruments. How to Export to RefWorks

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff EMBase
Comprehensive coverage of the preclinical, medical and pharmacological sciences. Strong in the European literature, EMBase includes 2,000 not currently covered by Medline.

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff PsycINFO
Need articles in psychology or counseling? Use PsycINFO! It's a great resource and is published by the American Psychological Association. How to export to RefWorks
Sources of Clinical Practice Guidelines
You can limit your search results in library databases just to practice guidelines as a type of publication. Databases that allow you to do this include: Additonally, remember that clinical practice guidelines are often created by government agencies or health-care organizations and visiting the websites of organizations relevant to your topic can help you find guidelines. Be sure to carefully assess them to verify if their recommendations are based on valid and systematic review of the evidence.
 
Library Contact
Picture: Mariela Hristova

Mariela Hristova
Associate Professor, Nursing Librarian
hristova@oakland.edu
248.370.2464

Available for research consultations by appointment. Consultations are virtual in Google Meet.

Schedule an Appointment

APA 7th Edition
APA 7 style and grammar guidelines
Summary of the official guidelines

Sample APA papers and templates
Shows detailed formatting with comments

APA Manual 
Available for shared use only in Kresge Library
 
RefWorks

Refworks

Refworks allows you to create a personal database of references and automatically generate formatted bibliographies for your projects.

Writing Help

The Writing Center at Oakland University will assist students in developing their ideas into polished final products. The Center's services are in high demand so be sure to plan ahead when scheduling an appointment. The Writing Center can be found on the main floor of Kresge Library. 


Edit

OU Libraries | 100 Library Drive, Rochester, Michigan 48309-4479 | (248) 370-2471
Accessibility | Sitemap | Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster


Hours | Location

OU Libraries on Facebook OU Libraries on Twitter OU Libraries on Instagram OU Libraries News