[From Lese Fandel of SPARC]: The 2021 OA Week theme intentionally aligns with the recently released UNESCO Recommendation on Open Science, of which Open Access is a crucial component. Circulated in draft form following discussion by representatives of UNESCO’s 193 member countries, the Recommendation powerfully articulates and centers the importance of equity in pursuing a future for scholarship that is open by default:
Open Science should embrace a diversity of knowledge, practices, workflows, languages, research outputs and research topics that support the needs and epistemic pluralism of the scientific community as a whole, diverse research communities and scholars, as well as the wider public and knowledge holders beyond the traditional scientific community, including Indigenous Peoples and local communities, and social actors from different countries and regions, as appropriate. (UNESCO Recommendation on Open Science, Page 7)
Read ENTIRE blog post
Note: all times listed are Eastern Daylight Time (EDT)
Open access week keynote: Opening science
Illinois State University
Monday October 25, 2021 | 1:00 pm - 2:00 pm EDT
Event information Join the event
Finding a home for your manuscript Part 1: Open access and tools for finding journals
University of Minnesota OA Workshop
Monday October 25, 2021 | 2:00 pm - 3:00 pm EDT
Event information and registration
Can I share that? Copyright and Creative Commons licenses
Temple University
Tuesday October 26, 2021 | 12:00 - 12:30 pm EDT
Event information and registration
Breaking down paywalls and building up equity: Open access, open science, and connections to inclusive knowledge
University of Maryland
Tuesday October 26, 2021 | 12:00 pm - 1:00 pm EDT
Event information Register for event
Finding a home for your manuscript Part 2: Impact factor and other metrics
University of Minnesota OA Workshop
Tuesday October 26, 2021 | 2:00 pm - 3:00 pm EDT
Event information and registration
Keynote: Decentering whiteness in academic knowledge production
University of Colorado Boulder
Tuesday, October 26, 2021 | 3:00 pm - 4:00 pm EDT
Event information and registration
Acknowledging everyone’s labor in science: The heliocentric model of open science
University of Colorado Boulder
Wednesday, October 27, 2021 | 12:00 pm - 1:00 pm EDT
Event information and registration
Open textbooks in higher education
University of Kentucky
Wednesday October 27, 2021 | 2:30 pm - 3:30 pm EDT
Event information and registration
The fault in our publication agreements: Avoiding thesis/dissertation copyright tragedies
University of Minnesota OA Workshop
Wednesday October 27, 2021 | 5:00 pm - 6:00 pm EDT
Event information and registration
The global view: A look at open access efforts around the world
University of Southern Mississippi
Thursday October 28, 2021 | 10:00 am EDT
Event information Register for event
In the library with the lead pipe: Evolving a practice of publishing equity
University of Colorado Boulder
Thursday, October 28, 2021 | 3:00 pm - 4:00 pm EDT
Event information and registration
Open access week keynote: Opening science
Illinois State University
Monday October 25, 2021 | 1:00 pm - 2:00 pm EDT
Event information Join the event
Finding a home for your manuscript Part 1: Open access and tools for finding journals
University of Minnesota OA Workshop
Monday October 25, 2021 | 2:00 pm - 3:00 pm EDT
Event information and registration
Can I share that? Copyright and Creative Commons licenses
Temple University
Tuesday October 26, 2021 | 12:00 - 12:30 pm EDT
Event information and registration
Breaking down paywalls and building up equity: Open access, open science, and connections to inclusive knowledge
University of Maryland
Tuesday October 26, 2021 | 12:00 pm - 1:00 pm EDT
Event information Register for event
Finding a home for your manuscript Part 2: Impact factor and other metrics
University of Minnesota OA Workshop
Tuesday October 26, 2021 | 2:00 pm - 3:00 pm EDT
Event information and registration
Keynote: Decentering whiteness in academic knowledge production
University of Colorado Boulder
Tuesday, October 26, 2021 | 3:00 pm - 4:00 pm EDT
Event information and registration
Acknowledging everyone’s labor in science: The heliocentric model of open science
University of Colorado Boulder
Wednesday, October 27, 2021 | 12:00 pm - 1:00 pm EDT
Event information and registration
Open textbooks in higher education
University of Kentucky
Wednesday October 27, 2021 | 2:30 pm - 3:30 pm EDT
Event information and registration
The fault in our publication agreements: Avoiding thesis/dissertation copyright tragedies
University of Minnesota OA Workshop
Wednesday October 27, 2021 | 5:00 pm - 6:00 pm EDT
Event information and registration
The global view: A look at open access efforts around the world
University of Southern Mississippi
Thursday October 28, 2021 | 10:00 am EDT
Event information Register for event
In the library with the lead pipe: Evolving a practice of publishing equity
University of Colorado Boulder
Thursday, October 28, 2021 | 3:00 pm - 4:00 pm EDT
Event information and registration
OU Libraries Research Data Support guide covers open data topics including:
- Finding and reusing existing data
- Sharing your research data through OUR@Oakland or another open repository
Join us in celebrating Open Access Week!
Explore the resources we have pulled together on this guide - take advantage of webinars offered at institutions around the country, check-out recent articles on the topic, and be sure to listen to the asynchronous presentation by our own Julia Rodriguez, Associate Professor and Scholary Communications Librarian!
Follow us on Twitter @OULibraries, on Facebook @Kresge Library / Oakland University and Instagram ou_libraries
Explore the resources we have pulled together on this guide - take advantage of webinars offered at institutions around the country, check-out recent articles on the topic, and be sure to listen to the asynchronous presentation by our own Julia Rodriguez, Associate Professor and Scholary Communications Librarian!
Follow us on Twitter @OULibraries, on Facebook @Kresge Library / Oakland University and Instagram ou_libraries
OA Week 2021 presentation:
Open Educational Resources, Equity and Student Success - this presentation recorded by Associate Professor and Scholarly Communications Librarian Julia Rodriguez covers the latest research and initiatives on open educational resources:
Open Educational Resources, Equity and Student Success - this presentation recorded by Associate Professor and Scholarly Communications Librarian Julia Rodriguez covers the latest research and initiatives on open educational resources:
- the impact of textbook prices on student success
- how textbook access and content impact equity
- national, state and OU textbook affordability initiatives
- Presentation: The Open Access Imperative - Julia Rodriguez, Assoc. Prof. Kresge Library
- Presentation: Using Institutional Repositories to Increase Your Impact - Stephanie Swanberg, Assoc. Prof. OUWB Medical Library
- Slides: I Didn’t Know That Was Open!
- Slides: Avoiding Unethical Publishers and Determining Journal Quality
- Slides: Increase Your Research Visibility
Institutional repositories (IRs) collect, store, and make freely and publicly available the research and knowledge of its institutional community!
IRs have been shown to:
Before depositing copies of your published articles, please verify the open access policies and copyright guidelines of the journal or publisher with with you have published using Sherpa/Romeo.
The tool allows you to search the journal/publisher name and provides a clear bottomline for what you can deposit into the IR. Some publishers only allow pre-prints, submitted article versions, edited versions, or published versions to be openly shared after an embargo period.
For more information about depositing your scholarship in OUR@Oakland, view this helpful presentation: Using Institutional Repositories to Increase Your Impact. In it Stephanie Swanberg walks you through the actual steps of making a deposit.
IRs have been shown to:
- increase the visibility of your work
- raise your citations and impact on the field
- promote the findability of your research and supplemental materials like datasets, survey instruments, conference presentations, and more!
Before depositing copies of your published articles, please verify the open access policies and copyright guidelines of the journal or publisher with with you have published using Sherpa/Romeo.
The tool allows you to search the journal/publisher name and provides a clear bottomline for what you can deposit into the IR. Some publishers only allow pre-prints, submitted article versions, edited versions, or published versions to be openly shared after an embargo period.
For more information about depositing your scholarship in OUR@Oakland, view this helpful presentation: Using Institutional Repositories to Increase Your Impact. In it Stephanie Swanberg walks you through the actual steps of making a deposit.
In this choose-your-own-adventure game created by UCLA Libraries, you play as a scholar navigating the research and scholarly publishing landscape.
Click here to play.
Note: for access to all features, the game should be played on a computer.
Davies, T., Walker, S., Rubinstein, M., & Perini, F. (Eds.). (2019). The State of Open Data: Histories and Horizons. African Minds and International Development Research Centre.
Link to OU catalog record.
Gray, J., & Eve, M. P. (Eds.). (2020). Reassembling scholarly communications : histories, infrastructures, and global politics of open access. The MIT Press.
Link to OU catalog record.
Jhangiani, R., & Biswas-Diener, R. (Eds.). (2017). Open : the philosophy and practices that are revolutionizing education and science. Ubiquity Press.
Link to OU catalog record.
D’Ignazio, Catherine, and Lauren F Klein. Data Feminism. Cambridge: MIT Press, 2020.
Link to OU catalog record.
Brabeck, M. M. (2021). Open Science and Feminist Ethics: Promises and Challenges of Open Access [Article]. Psychology of Women Quarterly. DOI: 10.1177/03616843211030926.
Link to full-text via OU subscription.
Demetres, M. R., Delgado, D., & Wright, D. N. (2020). The impact of institutional repositories: a systematic review. Journal of the Medical Library Association, 108(2), 177–184. https://doi.org/10.5195/jmla.2020.856
Link to full-text
Fleming, J. I., Wilson, S. E., Hart, S. A., Therrien, W. J., & Cook, B. G. (2021). Open accessibility in education research: Enhancing the credibility, equity, impact, and efficiency of research [Article]. Educational Psychologist, 56(2), 110-121. DOI: 10.1080/00461520.2021.1897593.
Link to preprint via EdArxiv.
Grahe, J. E., Cuccolo, K., Leighton, D. C., & Cramblet Alvarez, L. D. (2020). Open Science Promotes Diverse, Just, and Sustainable Research and Educational Outcomes [Review]. Psychology Learning and Teaching, 19(1), 5-20. DOI: 10.1177/1475725719869164.
Link to full-text via OU subscription.
Munro, K. (2019). Renewing the system: Thinking broadly about equity, diversity, and inclusion in scholarly communication [Article]. College & Research Libraries News, 80(7), 374-377. DOI:10.5860/crln.80.7.374.
Link to full-text.
Sichani, A.-M., Baker, J., Afanador-Llach, M. J., & Walsh, B. (2019). Diversity and inclusion in digital scholarship and pedagogy: the case of The Programming Historian [Article]. Insights: the UKSG journal, 32(16), 1-6. DOI: 10.1629/uksg.465.
Link to full-text.
Link to full-text via OU subscription.
Demetres, M. R., Delgado, D., & Wright, D. N. (2020). The impact of institutional repositories: a systematic review. Journal of the Medical Library Association, 108(2), 177–184. https://doi.org/10.5195/jmla.2020.856
Link to full-text
Fleming, J. I., Wilson, S. E., Hart, S. A., Therrien, W. J., & Cook, B. G. (2021). Open accessibility in education research: Enhancing the credibility, equity, impact, and efficiency of research [Article]. Educational Psychologist, 56(2), 110-121. DOI: 10.1080/00461520.2021.1897593.
Link to preprint via EdArxiv.
Grahe, J. E., Cuccolo, K., Leighton, D. C., & Cramblet Alvarez, L. D. (2020). Open Science Promotes Diverse, Just, and Sustainable Research and Educational Outcomes [Review]. Psychology Learning and Teaching, 19(1), 5-20. DOI: 10.1177/1475725719869164.
Link to full-text via OU subscription.
Munro, K. (2019). Renewing the system: Thinking broadly about equity, diversity, and inclusion in scholarly communication [Article]. College & Research Libraries News, 80(7), 374-377. DOI:10.5860/crln.80.7.374.
Link to full-text.
Sichani, A.-M., Baker, J., Afanador-Llach, M. J., & Walsh, B. (2019). Diversity and inclusion in digital scholarship and pedagogy: the case of The Programming Historian [Article]. Insights: the UKSG journal, 32(16), 1-6. DOI: 10.1629/uksg.465.
Link to full-text.
