Below are resources for finding basic information on a particular country. The reports will explain the political, economic, social, technological, legal, and/or environmental climate for a particular country.
MarketLine
Includes company and industry reports, country profiles, as well as market data and country statistics.
Gale Virtual Reference Collection
Includes Contemporary Black Biography, The Gale Encyclopedia of Alternative Medicine (2009), American Women Writers, and many more titles! Access ended 9/30/2018. Kiss, Bow, Shake Hands - A reference book for doing business in 60 different countries.
World Factbook - Published by the CIA, this is a go-to resource for basic country information.
Country Fact Sheets - Reports from the State Department that focus on US relations with each country
Also, country reports can be found in Global Market Information Database (GMID) under the analysis section.
Global Market Information Database
International socioconomic data, including industry statistics, consumer behavior statistics, and country information.
Here is a short video tutorial on finding country reports in GMID.
MarketLine Includes company and industry reports, country profiles, as well as market data and country statistics.
Gale Virtual Reference Collection
Includes Contemporary Black Biography, The Gale Encyclopedia of Alternative Medicine (2009), American Women Writers, and many more titles! Access ended 9/30/2018. Kiss, Bow, Shake Hands - A reference book for doing business in 60 different countries.
World Factbook - Published by the CIA, this is a go-to resource for basic country information.
Country Fact Sheets - Reports from the State Department that focus on US relations with each country
Also, country reports can be found in Global Market Information Database (GMID) under the analysis section.
Global Market Information Database International socioconomic data, including industry statistics, consumer behavior statistics, and country information.
Here is a short video tutorial on finding country reports in GMID.
Here are resources that list or summarize employment law for select countries.
International Comparative Legal Guides (ICLG) - Enter the name of your country in the "Type a Jurisdiction" box then look for the "Employment and Labour Law" section in the results.
Doing Business - A resource from the World Bank. It has a legal section that includes Labor Law. Be careful, many of the laws are in the native language of the country. A trip to Google Translate may be warranted.
International Comparative Legal Guides (ICLG) - Enter the name of your country in the "Type a Jurisdiction" box then look for the "Employment and Labour Law" section in the results.
Doing Business - A resource from the World Bank. It has a legal section that includes Labor Law. Be careful, many of the laws are in the native language of the country. A trip to Google Translate may be warranted.
These resources are good for finding statistics (demographics, lifestyle, income, etc) on other countries and regions.
Global Market Information Database
International socioconomic data, including industry statistics, consumer behavior statistics, and country information.
UNData - a database of statistics produced by the UN. Search by topic or browse by country.
World Bank Data - Mostly contains economic data but does have some demographic information.
Global Market Information Database International socioconomic data, including industry statistics, consumer behavior statistics, and country information.
UNData - a database of statistics produced by the UN. Search by topic or browse by country.
World Bank Data - Mostly contains economic data but does have some demographic information.
Shawn McCann
Assistant Professor
mccann@oakland.edu
248.370.2456
Available: Virtually by Appointment
Book appointment
Refworks allows you to create a personal database of references and automatically generate formatted bibliographies for your projects.
Writing Resources for Students
Find in-depth information about the mechanics of writing, MLA/APA citations, avoiding plagiarism, and more.
Writing Center
The consultants can help you with every stage of the writing process.