OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Search by title, author...

LIBRARY GUIDE TO OSH 500 - Introduction to OSH Research

Searching for Literature
Research and read lots of information to develop your understanding of the topic.

START by exploring Library OneSearch (includes books, ebooks, academic journals, newspapers)

Search for articles, books, and more...

To search subject specific literature try suggested databases from OneSearch, possible choices:

Business literature

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff ABI/Inform Complete - Articles in all business areas including occupational health, safety management, and related areas. How to Export to Refworks.

  • Occupational Health & Safety
  • Occupational Hazards
  • AIHA Journal - American Industrial Hygiene Association Journal (1993-2003)
  • Professional Safety
  • The Safety & Health Practitioner

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Business Source Elite
Broad scope - includes academic journals, trade publications, magazines, books, market research reports, and product reviews. How to export to RefWorks
Health sciences & Medical

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff CINAHL Plus with Full-Text   Largest Nursing and Allied Health Literature database. How to Export to Refworks guide,  Researching with CINAHL tutorial.

Unrestricted Resource PubMed (MEDLINE) The National Library of Medicine's free interface for MEDLINE, the premier database for biomedical journal citations. How to export to RefWorks

Multidisciplinary

Web of Science Authoritative, multidisciplinary content covers over 12,000 of the highest impact journals worldwide.
 
**To find more choices, review the library entire list of database by subject.


****Having trouble accessing the full-text of articles? View the
Retrieving Articles Using the Get-It link tutorial.

 
Citation Linkers

To get the full-text of an article you found on the web or elsewhere paste the citation information into Google Scholar and follow the Get-it buttons.


Google Scholar Article Search
 

Or use the library's citation linker tool.

If we don't have your article electronically or in print try borrowing through InterLibrary Loan.

Accessing Government Data
Library Contact
Picture: Julia Rodriguez

Julia Rodriguez
Associate Professor / Nursing, Health Sciences & Scholarly Communications Librarian
juliar@oakland.edu

Schedule a research consultation (Fall & Winter only)
 
Evaluating Resources
Six Things to Consider about any information source.....

1. Authority - Who is the author/developer? What are her/his qualifications? What are the affiliations, if any?
2. Currency - Is the material current, updated regularly?
3. Relevancy - How relevant is the information to your topic?
4. Accuracy - How do you know the information contained is correct? Are the facts cited, can they be checked?
5. Objectivity/Bias - Is the information presented objectively? What bias might the authors/creators have?
6. Appropriateness - Is this a good source for academic / scholarly level research?
Interlibrary Loan

Interlibrary Loan
You may request materials we don't have and we'll borrow them from another library for you.

RefWorks

Refworks allows you to create a personal database of references and automatically generate formatted bibliographies for your projects.

Writing Help

Writing Resources for Students
Find in-depth information about the mechanics of writing, MLA/APA citations, avoiding plagiarism, and more.

Writing Center
The consultants can help you with every stage of the writing process.


Edit

OU Libraries | 100 Library Drive, Rochester, Michigan 48309-4479 | (248) 370-2471
Accessibility | Sitemap | Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster


Hours | Location

OU Libraries on Facebook OU Libraries on Twitter OU Libraries on Instagram OU Libraries News