OUR@Oakland is OU's institutional repository, which is maintained by the University Libraries.
It increases visibility of authors' works and maximizes research impact by organizing, preserving, and providing online open access to the intellectual, scholarly, and creative work produced by the Oakland University Community.
Julia Rodriguez
Associate Professor / Health Sciences & Scholarly Communications Librarian
juliar@oakland.edu
Schedule a research consultation (Fall & Winter only) - Currently all consultaions are conducted via GoogleMeet.
If none of the time slots work for you or if there are none available, email me directly and suggest a date & time and I will do my best to accommodate you.
Any OU faculty, graduate students, departments, staff members or centers associated with the OU may publish content in OUR@Oakland.
The material types that can be deposited in OUR@Oakland include, but are not limited to:
The material types that can be deposited in OUR@Oakland include, but are not limited to:
- Published articles and pre-prints
- Working papers and technical reports
- Manuscripts
- Digital art
- Dissertations and theses
- Conference papers
- Journals published by OU campus
- Organizational annual reports and newsletters
- Data sets
- Audio and visual materials
There are terms that are specific to OUR@Oakland:
- Community: A community in OUR@Oakland refers to any Oakland University department, academic unit or group under which unique collections are organized.
- Collection: A collection in OUR@Oakland refers to a group of items related to a specific community.
The system can accept almost any file. However, file formats that are either open source, or well known and described have better chances for long term preservation. Some examples include...
Textual Formats:
Textual Formats:
- Acrobat PDF/A
- Comma-Separated Values
- Open Office Formats
- Plain Text (US-ASCII, UTF-8)
- Text, XML
- Acrobat PDF
- Rich Text HTML
- Microsoft Word
- Microsoft Excel
- Microsoft PowerPoint
- TIFF
- JPEG2000
- JPEG
- PNG
- SVG
- GIF
- AIFF
- WAVE
- FLAC
- AAC
- MEPG3 / 4 audio
- RAM
- Windows Media Audio
To submit research into an OUR@Oakland collection, contact the OUR@Oakland administrator by emailing OUR@oakland.edu. The OUR@Oakland Team will help you determine what articles on your CV can be submited for open access self archiving.
**For a published article please check SHERPA/RoMEO database for publisher posting permissions, or the publisher's website.**
If you are ready to deposit into an established collection and understand the copyright restrictions related to your publication, or your article was pulished as an open access item, follow these steps
(View PDF with images of steps):
**For a published article please check SHERPA/RoMEO database for publisher posting permissions, or the publisher's website.**
If you are ready to deposit into an established collection and understand the copyright restrictions related to your publication, or your article was pulished as an open access item, follow these steps
(View PDF with images of steps):
- Step 1: Choose OUR@OAKLAND from Quick Links on library homepage.
- Step 2: Log-in to system using OU Net-ID username and password.
- Step 3: Start a new submission.
- Step 4: Select collection to which you want to add your submission.
- Step 5: Review the item submission question regarding title and previous publication.
- Step 6: Enter all relevant item information.
- Step 7: An abstract is required.
- Step 8: Note any embargo required by publisher/journal before the item is made publically viewable.
- Step 9: Add as many keywords as needed to help facilitate discovery. A good rule of thumb is five. Click the ADD button for each additional word.
- Step 10: Choose a file to upload. Check list for accepted files.
- Step 11: Review Submission details, make any necessary changes.
- Step 12: Read the Distribution License - this is NOT a transfer of copyright.
- Step 13: Accept the Distribution License.
- Step 14: Submission is complete. All submission are reviewed before is it publically accessible.