OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Search by title, author...

LIBRARY GUIDE TO Philosophy

Find Books and Articles
Library OneSearch - Use the catalog to find books, journal articles, videos, recordings, and databases that are available from the library. 

MeLCat - A statewide catalog of many of Michigan's libraries. It allows you to request books at another library be sent to Kresge Library for you.
Find Articles
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Arts and Humanities Citation Index
Provides indexing coverage of the journal literature in the arts and humanities, including literature, music and film studies. Provides information on who has cited a researcher's work. Coverage: 1975 - present. How to export to RefWorks

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Cambridge Companions
Offers introductions to major writers, artists, philosophers, topics and periods.

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Cambridge Histories Online
More than 260 volumes from the esteemed Cambridge Histories series covering 14 subject areas including general and regional history, literary studies, philosophy and religious studies.

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Google Scholar
You can check the availability of article full text if you use our link to Google Scholar, which will ask you to log in with your OU NetID. How to export to RefWorks  

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Thanks to Mel Humanities Source
Includes articles, book reviews, and interviews dealing with literature, movies, journalism, dance, and communication from 1984 to the present.  Thanks to MeL.

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff JSTOR
Full text of core scholarly journals from their beginning to approximately one year ago. Disciplines include botany, business, ecology, general science, humanities, mathematics, social sciences, and statistics. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines. Especially good for historic or classic articles in most fields. Coverage: 1665 to present. How to export to RefWorks

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Philosopher's Index
A comprehensive database covering research in all areas of philosophy. Includes citations to journal articles, books, and book reviews in philosophy from 1940 to present. How to export to RefWorks

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Philosophy of Education
The encyclopedia (1996) is designed to show the diversity of topics that contribute to the study of the philosophy of education. The core of the encyclopedia is its coverage of philosophical points of view that have had the greatest influence on educational thinking, from ancient Greece to the present.

Unrestricted Resource PhilPapers
PhilPapers is a comprehensive index and bibliography of philosophy maintained by the philosopher community. It includes citations to journal articles, books, open access archives and more. 

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Project MUSE
Project Muse provides full-text access to the content from over 400 scholarly journals in the humanities and the social sciences. How to export to RefWorks
Library Contact
Picture: Helen Levenson

Helen Levenson
Assistant Professor
hlevenson@oakland.edu
248.370.2497

Office: 243 Kresge Library
Office hours:Virtual research consultations are available at days and times that best suit you. Contact me by email to schedule.
 
Research Assistance
Ask A Librarian
Ask a research question by phone, chat, email, or by virtual meetings.
Interlibrary Loan

Interlibrary Loan
You may request materials we don't have and we'll borrow them from another library for you.

RefWorks

Refworks

Refworks allows you to create a personal database of references and automatically generate formatted bibliographies for your projects.

Encyclopedia
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
The Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy organizes scholars from around the world in philosophy and related disciplines to create and maintain this up-to-date reference work.    

Edit

OU Libraries | 100 Library Drive, Rochester, Michigan 48309-4479 | (248) 370-2471
Accessibility | Sitemap | Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster


Hours | Location

OU Libraries on Facebook OU Libraries on Twitter OU Libraries on Instagram OU Libraries News