OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Search by title, author...

LIBRARY GUIDE TO PHL 321 - Political Philosophy

Finding Books
Using the Library Catalog, you can conduct a subject search for a philosopher's name (Last name, First name) to find books written about that person. For example, searching for Rawls, John in the catalog will bring up a listing of subheadings that relate to specific areas of his life and work. (To find books written by a specific philosopher, you would perform an author search for the individual.)

Philosophy & Religion eBooks at OU

Cambridge Companions to Philosophy, Religion and Culture

The Cambridge Companions series offers specially-commissioned collections of essays which are intended to serve as reference works for an inter-disciplinary audience of students and non-specialists.

Cambridge Histories Online
Includes more than 260 volumes from the esteemed Cambridge Histories and covers 14 subject areas.
Credo Reference
Provides online access to encyclopedias, almanacs, and other reference tools.
Finding Scholarly Articles
Philosopher's Index
A comprehensive database covering research in all areas of philosophy. Includes citations to journal articles, books, and book reviews in philosophy from 1940 to present. How to export to RefWorks
Project MUSE
Project Muse provides full-text access to the content from over 400 scholarly journals in the humanities and the social sciences. How to export to RefWorks
JSTOR
Full text of core scholarly journals from their beginning to approximately one year ago. Disciplines include botany, business, ecology, general science, humanities, mathematics, social sciences, and statistics. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines. Especially good for historic or classic articles in most fields. Coverage: 1665 to present. How to export to RefWorks
Humanities Full Text
Includes a wide range of key academic journals in the humanities, with indexing back to 1984.

Google Scholar
You can check the availability of article full text if you use our link to Google Scholar, which will ask you to log in with your OU NetID. How to export to RefWorks See our guide to adding OU Libraries resources to Google Scholar

Known Item Searching
If you are searching for a specific book, book chapter, or article, the fastest way to find out if we own it is to do an advanced search in Library OneSearch.
Interlibrary Loan

Interlibrary Loan
You may request materials we don't have and we'll borrow them from another library for you.

Library Contact
Picture: Beth Wallis

Beth Wallis
Associate Professor
wallis@oakland.edu
248.370.4879

Office: 237 Kresge Library
Office Hours: By appointment
Ask A Librarian - Chat

RefWorks

Refworks allows you to create a personal database of references and automatically generate formatted bibliographies for your projects.

Writing Help

Writing Resources for Students
Find in-depth information about the mechanics of writing, MLA/APA citations, avoiding plagiarism, and more.

Writing Center
The consultants can help you with every stage of the writing process.


Edit

OU Libraries | 100 Library Drive, Rochester, Michigan 48309-4479 | (248) 370-2471
Accessibility | Sitemap | Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster


Hours | Location

OU Libraries on Facebook OU Libraries on Twitter OU Libraries on Instagram OU Libraries News