LIBRARY GUIDE TO Physics

Web of Science

Web of Science contains publications related to the arts and humanities, social sciences, and sciences. It’s an excellent database for comprehensive and interdisciplinary searches.

• Publication types: journal articles, books/book chapters, reviews, conference proceedings, abstracts, data papers, editorials, news articles
• Contains over 66 million items
• Coverage years = 1900 to present

PubMed (MEDLINE)

PubMed is a free online interface provided by the National Library of Medicine to search MEDLINE, which focuses on biomedical literature.

• Publication types:  journal articles, books/book chapters, reviews, conference proceedings, abstracts, datasets, editorials, news articles
• Contains over 28 million items
• Coverage years = 1946 to present

It’s free to search so you can use it after leaving OU but you may not be able to access the full text of the items you find in PubMed.

Engineering Village - Compendex

Compendex is a comprehensive database of scientific and technical engineering research, covering all engineering disciplines. It includes millions of citations and abstracts from thousands of engineering journals and conference proceedings

• Publication types: journal articles, books/book chapters, reviews, patents, conference proceedings/papers, trade publications, editorials, technical reports, dissertations
• Contains over 20 million items
• Coverage years = 1884 to present

IOPScience Extra

This resource allows access to 75 Institute of Physics (IOP) journals. Backfiles to Volume 1 of most journals of the Institute of Physics, along with citations to dissertations in physics and news briefs from Physics World.

• Publication types:  journal articles, books/book chapters, reviews, conference proceedings/papers, technical reports
• Contains over 800,000 items
• Coverage years = 1874 to present

Scitation
Provided by the American Insitute of Physics, Scitation is "a leading online publishing platform for science and technology content." Content includes hundreds of journals, thousands of conference proceedings, as well as ebooks, standards, patents, databases, and magazines
Scopus
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed research literature with more than 20,500 titles from more than 5,000 international publishers. Scopus offers researchers a quick, easy and comprehensive resource to support their research needs in the scientific, technical, medical and social sciences fields and arts and humanities. It also contains tools that track, analyze and visualize scholarly work.

arXiv (pronounced ‘archive’) is an open access database of research articles (both pre-prints and published articles). Disciplines covered include physics, mathematics, computer science, nonlinear sciences, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, electrical engineering and systems science, and economics. arXiv is maintained and operated by the Cornell University Library. After registering, researchers can submit their own pre-prints or published articles.

McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology
Provides understandable and authoritative information on numerous topics in the various fields of science and technology. Features entries written by international leaders in science and technology.

Penguin Dictionary of Physics
Provides clear and concise definitions for every area of physics--from optics and acoustics to mechanics and electronics, via quantum theory and relativity.

50 Physics Ideas You Really Need To Know
In 50 Physics Ideas You Really Need to Know Joanne Baker will uncover the physics all around us, from basic concepts like gravity, light and energy through to the complexities of quantum theory, chaos and dark energy.

Request that books be pulled for pickup - shipping and contactless pick-up available
Request PDF copies of print articles and book chapters
Electronic course reserves, available for some classes
Virtual research help

• American Institute of Physics
• American Physical Society
• American Association of Physicists in Medicine
• American Association of Physics Teachers
• Institute of Physics

Refworks allows you to create a personal database of references and automatically generate formatted bibliographies for your projects.

Interlibrary Loan
You may request materials we don't have and we'll borrow them from another library for you.

The New York Times Science Section - leading US newspaper
BBC News Science Section - UK news source
EurekAlert! - created by the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS)
Nature News - science news articles from Nature Publishing Group
New Scientist - UK science & technology magazine
Smithsonian magazine Science Section - publication by the Smithsonian Institute in Washington D.C.
National Public Radio Science Section