OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Search by title, author...

LIBRARY GUIDE TO Public Relations

Find articles
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Communication & Mass Media Complete
This resource "offers cover-to-cover (“core”) indexing and abstracts for more than 550 journals, and selected (“priority”) coverage of nearly 200 more, for a combined coverage of 737 titles. Furthermore, this database includes full text for over 440 journals."
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff PsycINFO
Need articles in psychology or counseling? Use PsycINFO! It's a great resource and is published by the American Psychological Association. How to export to RefWorks
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Sociological Abstracts
This database abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Coverage: 1960 to present. How to export to RefWorks
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff ABI/Inform Complete
This database includes about 80% full-text articles from the business press, trade publications, academic journals, and newspapers (including full text of the Wall Street Journal). It is a great starting point for articles on broad business topics. How to export to RefWorks
 
Finding Company Information
Company reports usually contain a business description, a history of the companies, as well as some discussion of company financials. Our key databases for company reports are:
  • Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff MarketLine
    Includes company and industry reports, country profiles, as well as market data and country statistics.
  • Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Factiva
    Factiva is a premier business and general reference resource with a broad collection of sources that reach across disciplines from business and current events to communications and technology, politics, foreign policy, and more. Factiva.com combines more than 28,000 sources to give users access to premium content from 159 countries in 22 languages.
  • Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Mergent Intellect
    Provides access to private and public U.S and international business data, industry news, facts and figures, executive contact information and more.
  • Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff IBISWorld
    Detailed market research and analysis on over 700 U.S. industries as well as Global Industry Reports, China Industry Reports and Business Environment Reports.
Company Information - latest developments
You can learn a lot about a company by reading current newspaper and business articles.Trade journals may be very useful in finding current trends on your products. Also look at the company's website and find the annual report and any fact sheets.
  • Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff ABI/Inform Complete
    This database includes about 80% full-text articles from the business press, trade publications, academic journals, and newspapers (including full text of the Wall Street Journal). It is a great starting point for articles on broad business topics. How to export to RefWorks
  • Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Business Source Elite
    Broad scope - includes academic journals, trade publications, magazines, books, market research reports, and product reviews. How to export to RefWorks
  • Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Factiva
    Factiva is a premier business and general reference resource with a broad collection of sources that reach across disciplines from business and current events to communications and technology, politics, foreign policy, and more. Factiva.com combines more than 28,000 sources to give users access to premium content from 159 countries in 22 languages.
Does the Library have the article I need?
Use Library OneSearch to see if we have access to a journal article. For example, if you needed the following article, you could search Library OneSearch by entering in a portion of the article title: "identifying the best practices of media"
  • Identifying the best practices of media catching: A national survey of media relations practitioners, Public Relations Review, December 2012, Volume 38, Issue 5, pages 926-931.
 We do have the article online so you'll be able to see the full-text in PDF format.
 If we don't have your article electronically or in-print, you can order the article through InterLibrary Loan using ILLiad. It's a free service but a few days for the article to be available.
Ask a Librarian
FAQs - Frequently Asked Questions Find answers to frequent questions. Make suggestions for new FAQs, too!

Chat with a librarian: M-T 9am-7pm; Fri 9am-5pm

In-Person Reference Assistance: Initiate a question at the reference kiosk, or go to the Service Desk and ask to speak with a librarian: M-T 9am-7pm; Fri 9am-5pm.

Research Consultation - make an appointment for an individual session with a librarian for research assistance.

Email - send your question via email to ref@oakland.edu

Phone - 248.370.4426
Interlibrary Loan

Interlibrary Loan
You may request materials we don't have and we'll borrow them from another library for you.

Writing Help

Writing Resources for Students
Find in-depth information about the mechanics of writing, MLA/APA citations, avoiding plagiarism, and more.

Writing Center
The consultants can help you with every stage of the writing process.

Library Contact
Picture: Kristine Condic

Kristine Condic
Professor
salomon@oakland.edu
248.370.2469

Office: 236 Kresge Library
Contact me at salomon@oakland.edu.
Public Relations Journals

Edit

OU Libraries | 100 Library Drive, Rochester, Michigan 48309-4479 | (248) 370-2471
Accessibility | Sitemap | Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster


Hours | Location

OU Libraries on Facebook OU Libraries on Twitter OU Libraries on Instagram OU Libraries News