OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Search by title, author...

LIBRARY GUIDE TO PR 3510 - External Public Relations

Business trends and case studies
 Unrestricted Resource PubMed (MEDLINE)
The National Library of Medicine's free interface for MEDLINE, the premier database for biomedical journal citations. PubMed dates back to 1946 and includes more than 32 million citations in medicine, nursing, allied health, and dentistry. PubMed also includes citations from PubMed Central and the NCBI Bookshelf. Moving PubMed items to RefWorks pdf  Searching PubMed tips pdf
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff PsycINFO
Need articles in psychology or counseling? Use PsycINFO! It's a great resource and is published by the American Psychological Association. How to export to RefWorks
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Communication & Mass Media Complete
This resource "offers cover-to-cover (“core”) indexing and abstracts for more than 550 journals, and selected (“priority”) coverage of nearly 200 more, for a combined coverage of 737 titles. Furthermore, this database includes full text for over 440 journals."
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff ProQuest One Business
Provides access to articles in scholarly, peer-reviewed business journals, trade journals and business news publications. Includes the full-text of the Wall Street Journal, the Financial Times and the Economist.  Old name: ABI/Inform.
 
Does the Library have the article I need?
Use Library OneSearch to see if we have access to a journal article. For example, if you needed the following article, you could search Library OneSearch by entering in a portion of the article title: "Promoting Mental Health Help-Seeking Behavior"
  • Pace, K., Silk, K., Nazione, S., Fournier, L., & Collins-Eaglin, J. (2018). Promoting Mental Health Help-Seeking Behavior Among First-Year College Students. Health Communication, 33(2), 102–110. https://doi.org/10.1080/10410236.2016.1250065
 We do have the article online so you'll be able to see the full-text in PDF format.
 If we don't have your article electronically or in-print, you can order the article through InterLibrary Loan using ILLiad. It's a free service, and you may get the article within 24-48 hours.
Find Consumer Data
DemographicsNow
Includes demographics and business data; allows you to put together custom reports. Easy way to find Consumer Ecpenditure data. Also includes some Simmons National Consumer Study reports. Videos to assist you in finding useful informaiton in DemographicsNow

Explore U.S. Census Data
Offers access to demographic, housing, and economic data.

Consumer Expenditure Survey
Average annual expenditures by consumer characteristics (age, income, ethnicity, etc

Oakland University - Office of Institutional Research and Assessment
Start here if your audience is the OU community.
Industry Research
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff IBISWorld
Detailed market research and analysis on over 700 U.S. industries as well as Global Industry Reports, China Industry Reports and Business Environment Reports.
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Mergent Intellect
Provides access to private and public U.S and international business data, industry news, facts and figures, executive contact information and more.
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Global Market Information Database
International socioconomic data, including industry statistics, consumer behavior statistics, and country information. 
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Factiva To find industry data, look at the top black bar, click Companies/Markets, then select Industry.
 
Finding Company Information
Reports & SWOT Analyses
Company reports usually contain a business description, a history of the companies, as well as some discussion of company financials. Our key databases for company reports are:
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff MarketLine
Includes company and industry reports, country profiles, as well as market data and country statistics.
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Mergent Intellect
Provides access to private and public U.S and international business data, industry news, facts and figures, executive contact information and more.
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Mergent Online
Financial data on US and international publicly traded firms; includes annual reports, SEC filings, news, and other information. Limited to 7 users at a time. Log off after using!
EDGAR - find public company information from the SEC
Yahoo Finance - Business and financial information from Yahoo
Google Finance - Gateway to business and financial information on Google

Latest Developments 
You can learn a lot about a company by reading current newspaper and business articles about it.Trade publications may be very useful in finding current trends on your products.Use the databases listed above under the heading Business Trends & Case Studies. Also look at the company's website.
Library Contact
Picture: Kristine Condic

Kristine Condic
Professor
salomon@oakland.edu
248.370.2469

Office: 236 Kresge Library
Contact me at: salomon@oakland.edu

 
RefWorks

Refworks

Refworks allows you to create a personal database of references and automatically generate formatted bibliographies for your projects.

Ask A Librarian
FAQs - Frequently Asked Questions Find answers to frequent questions. Make suggestions for new FAQs, too!

Chat with a librarian: 24/7

Research Consultation - make an appointment for an individual session with a librarian for research assistance.

Email - send your question via email to ref@oakland.edu

Phone - 248.370.4426
Public Relations Journals
Writing Help

Writing Resources for Students
Find in-depth information about the mechanics of writing, MLA/APA citations, avoiding plagiarism, and more.

Writing Center
The consultants can help you with every stage of the writing process.


Edit

OU Libraries | 100 Library Drive, Rochester, Michigan 48309-4479 | (248) 370-2471
Accessibility | Sitemap | Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster


Hours | Location

OU Libraries on Facebook OU Libraries on Twitter OU Libraries on Instagram OU Libraries News