Academic Search Complete
Multi-disciplinary full-text database, which includes peer-reviewed full text for STEM research, as well as for the social sciences and humanities. Thanks to MeL.
Legal Source
Authoritative database for current issues, studies, thoughts and trends of the legal world. Thanks to MeL.
Political Science Complete
Includes both a national and international perspective of political science topics, drawing from scholarly, professional and peer-reviewed sources, and offering considerable full-text content. Thanks to MeL.
Political Science: SAGE journals
Full text of peer reviewed journal articles in political science, politics, public administration, and international relations journals. How to export to RefWorks
JSTOR Full text of core scholarly journals from their beginning to approximately one year ago. Disciplines include botany, business, ecology, general science, humanities, mathematics, social sciences, and statistics. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines. Especially good for historic or classic articles in most fields. Coverage: 1665 to present. How to export to RefWorks
Project MUSE
Project Muse provides full-text access to the content from over 400 scholarly journals in the humanities and the social sciences. How to export to RefWorks
Science Direct Full-text journals published by Elsevier; coverage is generally from 1995-present. How to export to RefWorks
Web of Science/Science Citation Index Web of Science provides access to Science Citation Index (SCI), Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI) and Arts and Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI). These indexes contain references that have been cited in other articles. You can use these citations to perform cited reference searches (locate articles that cite an earlier publication). How to export to RefWorks
Multi-disciplinary full-text database, which includes peer-reviewed full text for STEM research, as well as for the social sciences and humanities. Thanks to MeL.
Legal Source
Authoritative database for current issues, studies, thoughts and trends of the legal world. Thanks to MeL.
Political Science Complete
Includes both a national and international perspective of political science topics, drawing from scholarly, professional and peer-reviewed sources, and offering considerable full-text content. Thanks to MeL.
Political Science: SAGE journals
Full text of peer reviewed journal articles in political science, politics, public administration, and international relations journals. How to export to RefWorks
JSTOR Full text of core scholarly journals from their beginning to approximately one year ago. Disciplines include botany, business, ecology, general science, humanities, mathematics, social sciences, and statistics. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines. Especially good for historic or classic articles in most fields. Coverage: 1665 to present. How to export to RefWorks
Project MUSE
Project Muse provides full-text access to the content from over 400 scholarly journals in the humanities and the social sciences. How to export to RefWorks
Science Direct Full-text journals published by Elsevier; coverage is generally from 1995-present. How to export to RefWorks
Web of Science/Science Citation Index Web of Science provides access to Science Citation Index (SCI), Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI) and Arts and Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI). These indexes contain references that have been cited in other articles. You can use these citations to perform cited reference searches (locate articles that cite an earlier publication). How to export to RefWorks
ACLS Humanities eBook Collection
An online collection of almost 2,800 titles in art, history, literary criticism, philosophy, political science, area studies and more.
Credo Reference
Contains more than 500 full-text reference titles (encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, etc.) covering most subject areas.
Ebsco eBooks Collection
Major eBook platform that provides access to multidisciplinary topics from numerous publishers.
An online collection of almost 2,800 titles in art, history, literary criticism, philosophy, political science, area studies and more.
Credo Reference
Contains more than 500 full-text reference titles (encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, etc.) covering most subject areas.
Ebsco eBooks Collection
Major eBook platform that provides access to multidisciplinary topics from numerous publishers.
Sage Knowledge
Collection of encyclopedias, handbooks, dictionaries, and more, covering topics in the social sciences.
Springer eBook Collection
Multidisciplinary collection of eBooks published by Springer-Verlag since 2005. Especially strong coverage of the physical and biological sciences, computer science, engineering and technology.
ProQuest One Business Provides access to articles in scholarly, peer-reviewed business journals, trade journals and business news publications. Includes the full-text of the Wall Street Journal, the Financial Times and the Economist.
New York Times Historical Offers full-text, full-image articles of The New York Times, going back to 1851. The database can be used to search national and international news, editorials, obituaries, birth and marriage announcements, plus historical photos and advertisements. The documents are downloadable in PDF format. How to export to RefWorks
Audiovisual Library of International Law The Audiovisual Library is a unique, multimedia resource providing high quality international law information and research materials.
The Living Room Candidate Contains more than 300 commercials, from every presidential election since 1952,
The Living Room Candidate Contains more than 300 commercials, from every presidential election since 1952,
Helen Levenson
Assistant Professor
hlevenson@oakland.edu
248.370.2497
Office: 243 Kresge Library
Office hours:Virtual research consultations are available at days and times that best suit you. Contact me by email to schedule.
Office hours:Virtual research consultations are available at days and times that best suit you. Contact me by email to schedule.
Census: Federal
- U.S. Census Bureau data Central, comprehensive site to locate economic, population, industry, and geographic data from the U.S. Census. Includes maps and data visualizations.
- U.S. Census Bureau home page
Other Statistical Data Sources
- Bureau of Justice Statistics Includes crime statistics.
- Faststats from the National Center for Health Statistics
- National Center for Educational Statistics
- Statistical Abstract of the United States (Proquest)
The Statistical Abstract of the United States Online is the standard summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States – including vital and health statistics. It is also designed to serve as a guide to other statistical publications and sources, both in print and on the Web.
ICPSR Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) is the world's largest collection of digital social science data. These data can be used for secondary research, instructional activities, and to write articles, papers or theses.
Ask a Librarian
Ask a research question by phone, chat, email, or in person at the research help desk.
Research Consultation
Sign up online for an individual session with a librarian to
get help with your research.
Writing Resources for Students
Find in-depth information about the mechanics of writing, MLA/APA citations, avoiding plagiarism, and more.
Writing Center
The consultants can help you with every stage of the writing process.