OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Search by title, author...

LIBRARY GUIDE TO PS 3305 - Public Administration

Databases

ABI/Inform Complete  is one of the premier databases for the literature of business, management and related fields, including career and human resources information. Publications include scholarly business journals as well as trade and practitioner journals, with over 80% full text content.

Academic Search Complete  Multi-disciplinary full-text database for social sciences, humanities, and science.

Business Source Elite  An excellent business database which in addition to periodical articles includes full-text company and industry information.

Business Abstracts with Full Text  Contains abstracts to articles in business and economics journals and magazines. Includes some full-text articles.

Factiva  Business and reference resource covering current events, communications and technology, politics, foreign policy, industry, company reports, and more. International in scope.

MarketLine  Includes company and industry reports, country profiles, as well as market data and country statistics.

Mergent Online  Financial data on domestic and international publicly traded companies, including annual reports, SEC filings, news, and other information. Limited to seven users at a time, therefore log off after using.

New York Times Historical  Full-text, full-image articles from The New York Times, going back to 1851 with regular content additions as the publisher allows.

Newspaper Source Plus  Provides full-text from a large collection of major news sources, including newspapers, magazines, newswires, and television and radio transcripts.

Opposing Viewpoints in Context  A wide range of resources, both scholarly and non-scholarly, on numerous social issues.

Print Sources

ENCYCLOPEDIAS and DIRECTORIES

International Encyclopedia of Public Policy and Administration. (Ref. H 97 .I574 1998)

Encyclopedia of Associations (Ref HS 17 .E53 )

Michigan State and Local Government on the Web

Directory of State Governments

Public Policy Issues and Groups
 

DICTIONARIES

Biographical Dictionary of Public Administration. (Ref. JA 61 .W54 2001)

Public Administration Dictionary. (Ref. JA 61 .F69 1995)

Public Administration Dictionary. (Ref. JA 61 .C47 1988)

The Dictionary of Public Policy and Administration. (Ref. H 97 .S483 2004) 

STATISTICS

Statistical Abstract of the United States. (also available at Ref. Desk HA 202 .S7)

Historical Statistics of the united States Colonial times to 1970 Online

Bureau of Labor Statistics

Data.gov - "The home of the U.S. government's open data."

U.S. Data & Statistic from USA.gov - Data and statistics about the United States

U.S. Agencies & Departments Index from USA.gov - Index of U.S. government agencies and departments

City and County Data Book 2007

State and Metropolitan Area Data Book 2010

State and Local Areas Census Information

Federal State and Local Governments From the Census Bureau this contains a wealth of data.

World Bank Public Sector Debt Statistics

ICPSR

"An international consortium of about 700 academic institutions and research organizations, ICPSR provides leadership and training in data access, curation, and methods of analysis for the social science research community.

ICPSR maintains a data archive of more than 500,000 files of research in the social sciences. It hosts 16 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields."

 

Library Contact
Picture: Helen Levenson

Helen Levenson
Assistant Professor
hlevenson@oakland.edu
248.370.2497

Office hours: Thur, 2-4pm Book here
Writing an annotated bibliography
Research Assistance

Ask a Librarian
Ask a research question by phone, chat, email, or in person at the research help desk.

Research Consultation
Sign up online for an individual session with a librarian to get help with your research.

Library OneSearch
Find articles, books, etc...

Search by title, author...

Google Scholar

Google Scholar
 
RefWorks

Refworks

Refworks allows you to create a personal database of references and automatically generate formatted bibliographies for your projects.

Find Books
Library OneSearch - Use the catalog to find books, journal articles, videos, recordings, and databases that are available from the library. 

MeLCat - A statewide catalog of many of Michigan's libraries. It allows you to request books at another library be sent to Kresge Library for you.

 
Interlibrary Loan

Interlibrary Loan
You may request materials we don't have and we'll borrow them from another library for you.

Writing Help

Writing Resources for Students
Find in-depth information about the mechanics of writing, MLA/APA citations, avoiding plagiarism, and more.

Writing Center
The consultants can help you with every stage of the writing process.


Edit

OU Libraries | 100 Library Drive, Rochester, Michigan 48309-4479 | (248) 370-2471
Accessibility | Sitemap | Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster


Hours | Location

OU Libraries on Facebook OU Libraries on Twitter OU Libraries on Instagram OU Libraries News