OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Search by title, author...

LIBRARY GUIDE TO PS 3550 - Politics of Development

Country Information

CIA World Factbook
Succinct and factual details about each country; country rankings.

Background Notes
Detailed histories,economic and political conditions, as well US relations with each country.

Europa World Year Book (print)
Authoritative and substantive country profiles.

Country Commercial Guides
Political and economic conditions and regulations that affect doing business there.

Country Studies - Library of Congress
Detailed profiles coevr history, economic conditions, social structure, etc.

OECD Country Information
Overviews and statistics on OECD member countries - about 30 countries included.

BBC News - Country Profiles
Overviews and BBC news by country.

Find Articles
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Expanded Academic ASAP
From arts and the humanities to social sciences, science and technology, this database meets research needs across all academic disciplines. Access scholarly journals, news magazines, and newspapers - many with full text and images. How to export to RefWorks

Unrestricted Resource ICPSR
Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) is the world's largest collection of digital social science data. These data can be used for secondary research, instructional activities, and to write articles, papers or theses.

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Google Scholar
You can check the availability of article full text if you use our link to Google Scholar, which will ask you to log in with your OU NetID. How to export to RefWorks See our guide to adding OU Libraries resources to Google Scholar 

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff JSTOR
Full text of core scholarly journals from their beginning to approximately one year ago. Disciplines include botany, business, ecology, general science, humanities, mathematics, social sciences, and statistics. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines. Especially good for historic or classic articles in most fields. Coverage: 1665 to present. How to export to RefWorks

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff LexisNexis Academic Universe
NEWS: full text access to newspapers, magazines, trade journals, newsletters, news wires, and transcripts. News sources are never scholarly, but they can give you up-to-date information on current events. BUSINESS: access to financial and business information for specific companies. It's most accurate when you limit your search by sources, such as Hoover's Company Reports, S&P Corporate Descriptions, American Marketplace, and Tax Analysts Publications. LEGAL: you can search for legal information such as court decisions, legal codes, legal news, and law journals. The coverage includes information both at the state level and at the federal level. How to export to RefWorks

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Political Science: SAGE Full Text
Full-text of 29 journals covering general political science topics, American government and politics, political sociology, comparative politics, policy studies, political communication, peace / conflict studies, presidential studies, political theory and philosophy, international relations, and area studies. How to export to RefWorks

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Project MUSE
Project Muse provides full-text access to the content from over 400 scholarly journals in the humanities and the social sciences. How to export to RefWorks

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Science Direct
Full-text journals published by Elsevier; coverage is generally from 1995-present. How to export to RefWorks

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Social Sciences Citation Index Expanded
Provides indexing coverage of the journal literature in the social sciences, including sociology, anthropology, political science and economics. Also an excellent tool to determine who has cited an article. Coverage: 1900 - present. How to export to RefWorks

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Social Sciences Full Text
Includes full-text articles from over 300 journals, covering concepts, theories and methods from both applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences: 1983 - present. How to export to RefWorks 
Library Contact
Picture: Helen Levenson

Helen Levenson
Assistant Professor
hlevenson@oakland.edu
248.370.2497

Office hours: Thur, 2-4pm Book here
Writing Help
Writing Center

Schedule an Appointment with the Writing Center

Writing a Literature Review - Linked from UNC - Chapel Hill

Writing a Literature Review - Linked from University of Wisconsin - Madison

Writing a Literature Review - Linked from Boston College Libraries  This is a multi-page tutorial.

Writing an Annotated Bibliography - Linked from OWL Purdue

Writing Resources for Students  Find in-depth information about the mechanics of writing, MLA/APA citations, avoiding plagiarism, and more.

 
Journals and Popular Periodicals
Know the title of the journal you want? Check the e-journal A-Z list

Policy Journals
Foreign Affairs
Foreign Policy
Current History
The Washington Quarterly

Popular Magazines
Newsweek
Time

Databases geared towards popular publications

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Readers' Guide Full Text Mega
Provides full-text access to Time, Newsweek and other popular magazines.

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff LexisNexis Academic Universe
A good source for newspaper articles.
 
RefWorks

Refworks allows you to create a personal database of references and automatically generate formatted bibliographies for your projects.

Find Books

Library Catalog
Use the catalog to find books, videos, recordings, and goverment documents we have at the library.

MelCat
A statewide catalog of many of Michigan's libraries. It allows you to request books at another library be sent to Kresge Library for you.


Edit

OU Libraries | 100 Library Drive, Rochester, Michigan 48309-4479 | (248) 370-2471
Accessibility | Sitemap | Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster


Hours | Location

OU Libraries on Facebook OU Libraries on Twitter OU Libraries on Instagram OU Libraries News