OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Search by title, author...

LIBRARY GUIDE TO PS 3340/LBS5904 - Public Policy & Health Care

Article Databases - Health
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff CINAHL Plus with Full-Text
The Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature (CINAHL) is a comprehensive and highly-authoritative database for research in nursing and health sciences.  Coverage: 1981-present How to Export to Refworks
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff HealthScience: Sage Full-text
HealthScience: Sage Full-text includes the full text of 26 journals published by SAGE and participating societies, encompassing over 46,000 articles and up to 129 years of backfiles.

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff PsycINFO
PsycINFO provides access to international literature in psychology and related disciplines such as psychiatry, education, business, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, law, linguistics, and social work.

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Web of Science Web of Science provides access to Science Citation Index (SCI) and is one of the best resources to perform cited reference searches (locate articles that cite an earlier publication).
Acticle Databses - Public Policy

ABI/Inform is one of the premier databases for the literature of business, management and related fields--including careers and human resources. Publications include scholarly business journals as well as trade and practitioner journals, with over 80% full text content.

Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff JSTOR
Full text of core scholarly journals from their beginning to approximately one year ago. Disciplines include botany, business, ecology, general science, humanities, mathematics, social sciences, and statistics. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines. Especially good for historic or classic articles in most fields. Coverage: 1665 to present.

Lexis Nexis Academic --newspapers, trade publications, business and legal sources. International in scope.

Academic OneFile ----general multidisciplinary index not limited to just business journals.

Reference & Statistics
Virtual Reference Collection -- This is a multi-disciplinary source of authoritative, reputable online reference materials, dictionaries, encyclopedias.  Very useful for double-checking information found on the internet.

ICPSR
Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) is the world's largest collection of digital social science data. These data can be used for secondary research, instructional activities, and to write articles, papers or theses.

Statistical Abstract of the United States. -- the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.

American Factfinder -- your source for population, housing, economic and geographical information.

Ipoll -- a database of public opinion data.

Encyclopedia of Public Health by William Kirch, 2008.
 
Health News Websites
Kaiser Health News (KHN) is a nonprofit news organization committed to in-depth coverage of health care policy and politics.

Topics on Public Policy and Health Care from Kaiser Health News

NLM & NIH - Medline Plus News - Health news from HealthDay and Reuters Health Information, plus recent press announcements from major medical organizations.

Public Health Newswire published by APHA American Public Health Association

Political Fact Checking Sites
FactCheck.org
A project of the Annenberg Public Policy Center of the University of Pennsylvania, the nonpartisan, nonprofit FactCheck.org monitors the factual accuracy of what is said by major U.S. political players in the form of TV ads, debates, speeches, interviews, and news releases.

PolitiFact.com
A project of the Tampa Bay Times and its partners that intends to "help you find the truth in politics." In 2009, PolitiFact won the Pulitzer Prize for national reporting.

The Fact Checker
A blog from the Washington Post, checks statements by politicians and political advocacy groups.

OpenSecrets.org
It's not exactly a fact-checking website, but this website from the Center for Responsive Politics does keep track of the money in politics. The site describes itself as "the nation's premier research group tracking money in U.S. politics and its effect on elections and public policy."

RefWorks

Refworks allows you to create a personal database of references and automatically generate formatted bibliographies for your projects.

Library Contact
Picture: Helen Levenson

Helen Levenson
Assistant Professor
hlevenson@oakland.edu
248.370.2497

Office hours: Thur, 2-4pm Book here
Interlibrary Loan

Interlibrary Loan
You may request materials we don't have and we'll borrow them from another library for you.

Writing Help

Writing Resources for Students
Find in-depth information about the mechanics of writing, MLA/APA citations, avoiding plagiarism, and more.

Writing Center
The consultants can help you with every stage of the writing process.


Edit

OU Libraries | 100 Library Drive, Rochester, Michigan 48309-4479 | (248) 370-2471
Accessibility | Sitemap | Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster


Hours | Location

OU Libraries on Facebook OU Libraries on Twitter OU Libraries on Instagram OU Libraries News