LIBRARY GUIDE TO PSY 2000 - Success in the Psychology Major

Occupational Outlook Handbook - up-to-date information on preparation, work environment, and job outlook of psychologists.

Career Paths in Psychology: where your degree can take you
     book: 3rd floor of the library, BF 76 .C38 2017

Great Jobs for Psychology Majors
     book: 3rd floor of the library, BF 76.D44 2006

Own your Psychology Major: a guide to student success
      book: 3rd floor of the library, BF 131 .G374 2019
 

Graduate Study in Psychology, American Psychological Association, 2019 - The definitive guide to psychology graduate study.

Getting into Graduate School: a comprehensive guide for psychology and the behavioral sciences, ebook, 2015

Getting in: a step-by-step plan for gaining admission to graduate school in psychology, published by the American Psychological Association, print book.  3rd floor of the library, BF 80.7 .U6 G47 2007

Barron's GRE Psychology: Graduate Record Examination in Psychology, print book, 3rd floor of the library, BF 78 .P34 2015

Preparing for Graduate Study in Psychology:101 questions and answers, 3rd floor of the library, BF 80.7 .U6 B87 2007
 

Search Strategies: Keyword Searching Strategies  
Online tutorial: OU Libraries Research Unbound
Online tutorials on information evaluation

• Tutorial: Recognizing peer-reviewed articles

PsycINFO
Need articles in psychology or counseling? Use PsycINFO! It's a great resource and is published by the American Psychological Association. How to export to RefWorks
PsycARTICLES
Here you'll find full-text articles from many journals published by the American Psychological Association,  the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe & Huber. PsycARTICLES is a subset of PsycINFO, so if you need more information, go to PsycINFO. How to export to RefWorks

Does the library have the fulltext of this article?

• Johnstone, K. M., Ashbaugh, H., & Warfield, T. D. (2002). Effects of repeated practice and contextual-writing experiences on college students' writing skills. Journal of Educational Psychology 94(2): 305-315.

 To find full-text, use:

•  Library OneSearch. Enter a portion of the article title in quotes in Library OneSearch. "Effects of repeated practice and contextual-writing"       Click this link: Full Text Online to view the full-text.

If we don't have your article electronically or in-print, you can order the article through InterLibrary Loan using ILLiad. It's a free service but a few days for the article to be available.

What is a literature review? According to Mary George from Elements of Library Research (page 10), a literature review is "a paragraph, section, or entire chapter -- depending on the nature and length of the publication -- in which the author identifies and comments on previous attempts to answer the same, or related, research questions."

Organizing Your Social Sciences Research Paper: the literature review - from the University of Southern California Libraries

Anatomy of a Scholarly Article - from North Carolina State University libraries

• Literature Review - overview of related research

Anyone can make a webpage. Do you want to find out about the Pacific Northwest Tree Octopus? Just click here! But this website is a hoax! Someone developed this website to show you how easy it is to put anything on the web.

When you do a Google search, you're searching about 10% of the information that's available on the web. This iceberg image shows that more information is available in the deep web, but it's information that has been evaluated. Usually you need a password to access information in the deep web, and that's what happens when you use library databases. Your OU ID is your password, so you have access to quality information through the library's website!

Evaluate the information you find using this guide on How to Spot Fake News!

APA Research in Action - application of psychological research
APA Speaking of Psychology - podcasts of current psychological research
NPR Research News - advancements in science and psychology

Encyclopedias, dictionaries and handbooks

• Elsevier's Dictionary of Psychological Theories
• Concise Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology and Behavioral Science
• Cambridge Handbook of Psychology, Health and Medicine

• OWL - Online Writing Guide from Excelsior College - APA style
• APA Style blog - not the actual writing style manual but FAQs and hints
• APA Style - Publication Manual of the APA: the official guide to APA style, 7th edition, REF BF 76.7 .P83 2020

Writing Resources for Students
Find in-depth information about the mechanics of writing, MLA/APA citations, avoiding plagiarism, and more.

Writing Center
The consultants can help you with every stage of the writing process.

FAQs - Frequently Asked Questions Find answers to frequent questions. Make suggestions for new FAQs, too!

Chat with a librarian: 24/7

In-Person Reference Assistance: make an appointment for in-person assistance. 

Email - send your question via email to ref@oakland.edu

Phone - 248.370.4426