OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Search by title, author...

LIBRARY GUIDE TO PT 3020 - Physical Therapy as Profession

Find Books and Articles
START by exploring Library OneSearch (includes books, ebooks, academic journals, newspapers)

*Try search terms like hand AND "physical therapy" and use the "Tweak Your Results" options on left to narrow your retrieval. Consider "Availability - Peer-reviewed Journals."

View list of Physical Therapy journals available through the OU Libraries

View collection of ebooks related to Physical Therapy in the AccessPhysiotherapy database
Quick Reference Tools
Find general background on diseases and conditions, definitions, etiology, care plans, patient education:

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff AccessMedicine
This is a collection of 60 full-text medical and basic sciences books from McGraw-Hill, including Harrison's Textbook of Medicine. AccessMedicine also includes images, videos, diagnostic tools, patient education handouts, and drug information.
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff AccessPhysiotherapy
Collection of full-text books, multi-media and study aids from McGraw-Hill for physical therapists and other health care providers. Includes "Anatomy and Physiology Revealed."
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff DynaMed Plus
Evidence-based clinical reference tool written by physicians who synthesize the evidence and provide objective analysis to help health care providers in their daily practice. Designed to provide quick answers to clinical questions. Includes thousands of graphics and images, specialty content, mobile access, and enhanced drug information.
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff ClinicalKey
Medical and surgical content from Elsevier, including more than 900 books, 500 journals, thousands of videos and millions of images. To download book chapter PDFs, please log in or register for a free account. NOTE: Vendor recommends updating to most recent version of browser.
Unrestricted Resource MedlinePlus
MedlinePlus is produced by the National Library of Medicine and the National Institutes of Health. It offers reliable, up-to-date health information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in plain language. An excellent source for patient information.
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff UpToDate
A large, evidence-based online resource covering thousands of internal medicine, pediatric, OB/GYN, and surgical topics. Designed to answer point-of-care clinical questions. Includes an excellent selection of patient information handouts.
Relevant Physical Therapy Databases
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff CINAHL Complete
The Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature (CINAHL) is a full-text database for nursing and allied health journals from 1937 to present. Includes access to scholarly journal articles, dissertations, magazines, pamphlets, evidence-based care sheets, books, and research instruments. How to Export to RefWorks
Unrestricted Resource PEDro
The Physiotherapy Evidence Database provides information on "randomised controlled trials, systematic reviews and evidence-based clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy."
Unrestricted Resource PubMed (MEDLINE)
The National Library of Medicine's free interface for MEDLINE, the premier database for biomedical journal citations. PubMed dates back to 1946 and includes more than 32 million citations in medicine, nursing, allied health, and dentistry. PubMed also includes citations from PubMed Central and the NCBI Bookshelf.
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff SPORTDiscus
Topics include physical fitness, exercise, sports medicine, physical education, kinesiology, health education, biomechanics, movement science, injury prevention, physical therapy, rehabilitation, nutrition, exercise physiology, sport psychology, occupational health & therapy, and public health. Includes international references from journal and magazine articles, books, book chapters, conference proceedings, 1800 to the present. How to export to RefWorks
Unrestricted Resource TRIP
A free clinical search tool designed to allow health professionals to rapidly identify the highest quality clinical evidence for clinical practice. Simultaneously searches several evidence-based sources of systematic reviews, practice guidelines, and critically-appraised topics and articles. Also searches MEDLINE's Clinical Queries, medical image databases, e-textbooks, and patient information leaflets.
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Web of Science
Web of Science provides access to Science Citation Index (SCI), Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI) and Arts and Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI). These indexes contain references that have been cited in other articles. You can use these citations to perform cited reference searches (locate articles that cite an earlier publication). How to export to RefWorks

View the complete list of Physical Therapy related databases available through the OU Libraries
Library Contact
Picture: Nancy Bulgarelli

Nancy Bulgarelli
Associate Professor
bulgarel@oakland.edu
248.370.2481

Schedule a Research Consultation - I am happy to meet remotely or in person. If none of the time slots work for you, email me directly, and we will work out a time that works for both of us.
 
Library Session Follow-up Survey
In effort to always improve my teaching sessions please complete the quick short survey.  Answers to the survey are anonymous. I know everyone is really busy so thank you for this is extra effort.

CLICK FOR LIBRARY SESSION SURVEY
If you need...source chart
How to know if it's peer-reviewed
Additional PT Resources
APTA Website - The website for the American Physical Therapy Association which provides members online access to its journal and news magazines.
 
Citation Tools
Kresge Library subcriptions include free access for the OU community to RefWorks. This online citation management tool helps you generate a bibliography from your list of references automatically formatted in the common citation styles.

Citation Style Guides:
  • Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff AMA Manual of Style Online
    AMA Manual of Style is a dynamic online resource and the unsurpassed authority on medical and scientific writing and editing.  This online version offers the full text of the 11th edition with extensive search and browse options, policy updates made in real time, an SI conversion calculator, learning and training resources, monthly commentary, and much more! It also provide clear examples on how to formate citations.
  • Kresge Library's AMA style guide
  • Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL) - AMA Style
Writing Help

The Writing Center at Oakland University will assist developing their ideas into polished final products. The Center's services are in high demand so be sure to plan ahead when scheduling an appointment.


Edit

OU Libraries | 100 Library Drive, Rochester, Michigan 48309-4479 | (248) 370-2471
Accessibility | Sitemap | Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster


Hours | Location

OU Libraries on Facebook OU Libraries on Twitter OU Libraries on Instagram OU Libraries News