OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Search by title, author...

LIBRARY GUIDE TO PT 597 - Critical Inquiry I

Topic or Subject searching
Use CINAHL headings Tool to search the database for all items on a specific topic or to determine proper search terms.

Example: breast cancer > Use: Breast Neoplasms (MM "Breast Neoplasms") View Using CINAHL headings tutorial.

SportsDiscus has the Thesaurus tool.   DE "BREAST -- Cancer"
Searching for Literature
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff CINAHL Plus with Full-Text is a comprehensive and highly-authoritative database for research in nursing and health sciences.  Coverage: 1981-present How to Export to Refworks

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff SPORTDiscus Topics include physical fitness, exercise, sports medicine, kinesiology, biomechanics, movement science, physical therapy, rehabilitation, nutrition, exercise physiology, sport psychology. How to export to RefWorks

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Medline via Web of Science
Unrestricted Resource PubMed (MEDLINE) The National Library of Medicine's free interface for MEDLINE, the premier database for biomedical journal citations. How to export to RefWorks

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Cochrane Library  A collection of databases that contain evidence for healthcare decision-making. Includes systematic review abstracts, technology assessments, economic evaluations and individual clinical trials.   How to export to Refworks.

Unrestricted Resource PEDro
The Physiotherapy Evidence Database provides information on "randomised controlled trials, systematic reviews and evidence-based clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy."
EBP Quality of Evidence Chart

Subject map
Library Contact
Picture: Julia Rodriguez

Julia Rodriguez
Associate Professor / Nursing, Health Sciences & Scholarly Communications Librarian
juliar@oakland.edu

Schedule a research consultation (Fall & Winter only)
 
Topics and Search strategies
Question: What are the effects of therapeutic ultrasound in relieving pain for patients with chronic low back pain?

Key concepts from a topic =  “lower back pain” AND ultrasound AND therapy

CINAHL headings: "lower back pain" USE= "low back pain"  ultrasound Use: Ultrasonography

IN CLASS ACTIVITY POST 
Other Online Resources
APTA site The website for the American Physical Therapy Association which provides members online access to it's journal and news magazines.


Citation Tools
Kresge Library subscriptions include free access for the OU community to RefWorks which allows you to create a personal list of references and to format your bibliography in any citation style.

Citation Style Guides:
Tutorials

Edit

OU Libraries | 100 Library Drive, Rochester, Michigan 48309-4479 | (248) 370-2471
Accessibility | Sitemap | Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster


Hours | Location

OU Libraries on Facebook OU Libraries on Twitter OU Libraries on Instagram OU Libraries News