OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Search by title, author...

LIBRARY GUIDE TO PT 8800 - Evidence Based Clinical Practice

Topic or Subject searching
Use CINAHL headings Tool to search the database for all items on a specific topic or to determine proper search terms.

Example: breast cancer > Use: Breast Neoplasms (MM "Breast Neoplasms")
*View tutorial on using CINAHL headings

SportsDiscus has the Thesaurus tool.   DE "BREAST -- Cancer"

 
Searching for Literature
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff CINAHL Plus with Full-Text  is a comprehensive and highly-authoritative database for research in nursing and health sciences. 
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff EMBase
Comprehensive coverage of the preclinical, medical and pharmacological sciences. Strong in the European literature, EMBase includes 2,000 not currently covered by Medline.
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff SPORTDiscus  Topics include physical fitness, exercise, sports medicine, kinesiology, biomechanics, movement science, physical therapy, rehabilitation, nutrition, exercise physiology, sport psychology. 
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Scopus
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed research literature with more than 20,500 titles from more than 5,000 international publishers. Scopus offers researchers a quick, easy and comprehensive resource to support their research needs in the scientific, technical, medical and social sciences fields and arts and humanities. It also contains tools that track, analyze and visualize scholarly work.
Unrestricted Resource PEDro
The Physiotherapy Evidence Database provides information on "randomised controlled trials, systematic reviews and evidence-based clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy."
Unrestricted Resource PubMed (MEDLINE) The National Library of Medicine's free interface for MEDLINE, the premier database for biomedical journal citations. How to export to RefWorks
**View list of all Physical Therapy databases or database list by subject.
 
Additional online EBP & PT resources
  • APTA site The website for the American Physical Therapy Association which provides members online access to it's journal and news magazines.
  • Pubmed Health Reviews of clinical effectiveness research, with easy-to-read summaries for consumers as well as full technical reports.
  • TRIP Database is a clinical search tool designed to allow health professionals to rapidly identify the highest quality clinical evidence for clinical practice.
  • The National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE) UK based- provides national guidance and advice to improve health and social care.
Library Contact
Picture: Julia Rodriguez

Julia Rodriguez
Associate Professor / Nursing, Health Sciences & Scholarly Communications Librarian
juliar@oakland.edu

Schedule a research consultation (Fall & Winter only)
 
EBP Quality of Evidence Chart


Edit

OU Libraries | 100 Library Drive, Rochester, Michigan 48309-4479 | (248) 370-2471
Accessibility | Sitemap | Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster


Hours | Location

OU Libraries on Facebook OU Libraries on Twitter OU Libraries on Instagram OU Libraries News