OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Search by title, author...

LIBRARY GUIDE TO Public Health

Where to Search for Public Health Research
Unrestricted Resource PubMed (MEDLINE)
The National Library of Medicine's free interface for MEDLINE, the premier database for biomedical journal citations. MEDLINE dates back to 1946 and includes more than 27 million citations in medicine, nursing, allied health and dentistry. PubMed also includes citations from PubMed Central and the NCBI Bookshelf.

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff CINAHL Complete
The Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature (CINAHL) is a full-text database for nursing and allied health journals from 1937 to present. Includes access to scholarly journal articles, dissertations, magazines, pamphlets, evidence-based care sheets, books, and research instruments. How to Export to RefWorks

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff GenderWatch
Database of unique and diverse publications that focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas - including health and wellness. With its archival material, dating back to 1970 in some cases, GenderWatch is a repository of important historical perspectives on the evolution of the women's movement, men's studies, the transgendered community and the changes in gender roles over the years.
Public Health Statistics & Information
Library Subscribed Databases:
Unrestricted Resource ICPSR
Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) is the world's largest collection of digital social science data. These data can be used for secondary research, instructional activities, and to write articles, papers or theses.

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff PolicyMap
This resource is a U.S. national data and mapping tool and analytics platform with multidisciplinary applications for college students and faculty.  Users can leverage thousands of U.S. data indicators in PolicyMap to perform demographic and socioeconomic analysis, from a neighborhood census block group in many cases, up to a national level, as well as create custom regions, for their research and studies.

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Statistical Abstract of the United States (Proquest)
The Statistical Abstract of the United States Online is the standard summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States – including vital and health statistics. It is also designed to serve as a guide to other statistical publications and sources, both in print and on the Web. Visit the Statistical Abstract Guide for more information on using this resource.

Consumer Health Information:
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention-Data & Statistics - provides data and statistics by topic as well as links to major reporting systems and tools.

HealthMap: Global Disease Alerts monitors disease outrbreaks and real-time surveillance of emerging public health threats across the globe

Unrestricted Resource MedlinePlus
MedlinePlus is produced by the National Library of Medicine and the National Institutes of Health. It offers reliable, up-to-date health information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in plain language. An excellent source for patient information.
Books & eBooks in Global Health
Comparative Health Systems: Global Perspectives by James Johnson and Carleen Stroskopf, eds, 2010. Location: Kresge Library 3rd Floor RA 441.C663 2010 - 1 copy available for checkout

Encyclopedia of Immigrant Health by Sana Loue and Martha Sajatovic, 2012.

From Outrage to Courage: Women Taking Action for Health and Justice by Anne Firth Murray, 2008. Reviews the major issues in global women's health in the last thirty years including rights, poverty, violence, discrimination, and labor. Location: Kresge Library 3rd Floor HG 1240.5 D44 - 1 copy available for checkout 

Global Health 101, 4th Edition by Richard Skolni, 2020.

Health Systems in Low- and Middle-Income Countries: An Economic and Policy Perspective by Richard Smith and Kara Hanson, eds, 2011. Location: Kresge Library 3rd Floor RA 410.55.D44H45 2012 - 1 copy available for checkout

Understanding Global Health, 2nd edition by William H. Markle, Melanie A. Fisher, Raymond A. Smego Jr.
Books & eBooks in Health Policy & Law
Essentials of Health Policy and Law, 4th edition by Joel B Teitelbaum and Sara E. Wilensk, 2019.

Health Policymaking in the United States, 6th edition by Beaufort Longest, 2016

Understanding Health Policy: A Clinical Approach, 8th edition by Thomas Bodenheimer, Kevin Grumbach, 2020
 
Books & eBooks in Public Health
Clinical Epidemiology: The Essentials, 6th Edition by Grant S. Fletcher (2021)

Cultural Diversity in Health and Illness, 8th Edition by Rachel Spector, 2013. Location: Kresge Library 3rd Floor RA 418.5.T73 S64 2013 - 2 copies available for checkout

Encyclopedia of Public Health by William Kirch, 2008

Encyclopedia of Public Health: Principles, People and Programs edited by Sally Kuykendall, 2018

Essentials of Biostatistics in Public Health, 3rd edition by Lisa Sullivan, 2018

Essentials of Health, Culture, and Diversity: Understanding People, Reducing Disparities by Mark Edber, 2013. Location: Kresge Library 3rd Floor RA 418.E327 2013 - 2 copies available for checkout

Gordis Epidemiology, 6th edition, 2019

Introduction to Public Health, 6th edition by Mary-Jane Schneider, 2020

Public Health 101: Improving Community Health, 3rd edition by Richard Riegelman

Public Health Emergency Preparedness: A Practical Approach for the Real World by Mary Elise Papke, 2018

Public Health: What It Is and How It Works, 6th edition by Bernard J. Turnock, 2015

The Health of Sexual Minorities: Public Health Perspectives on Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender Populations by Ilan Meyer and Mary Northridge, 2007

Jekel's Epidemiology, Biostatistics, Preventive Medicine, and Public Health, 5th Edition by Joann G. Elmore, 2020
Library Contact
Picture: Julia Rodriguez

Julia Rodriguez
Associate Professor / Health Sciences & Scholarly Communications Librarian
juliar@oakland.edu

Schedule a research consultation (Fall & Winter only) - Currently all consultaions are conducted via GoogleMeet. 

If none of the time slots work for you or if there are none available, email me directly and suggest a date & time and I will do my best to accommodate you.

MULTIMEDIA
Population Health for Clinicans Podcast Series From the New Hampshire Medical Society, this series of podcasts introduces "the principles and practices of population health, and resources that can be used to improve the health of both individuals and communities." Currently eight, 15-minute episodes are available.
HealthyPeople2020
Government Agencies
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
The leading national public health institute of the United States; its main purpose is to protect public health and safety through the control and prevention of disease, injury, and disability in the US and internationally. It also conducts research, tracks key vital statistics, and provides consumer health education.
World Health Organization (WHO)
WHO's primary role is to direct international health within the United Nations' system and to lead partners in global health responses.
 

Edit

OU Libraries | 100 Library Drive, Rochester, Michigan 48309-4479 | (248) 370-2471
Accessibility | Sitemap | Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster


Hours | Location

OU Libraries on Facebook OU Libraries on Twitter OU Libraries on Instagram OU Libraries News