OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Search by title, author...

LIBRARY GUIDE TO PH 5750/4750- Global Health and Social Issues

Find Books and Articles
START by exploring Library OneSearch (includes books, ebooks, academic journals, newspapers)

*Try search terms like "economic empowerment" AND Africa - use  Tweak Your Results on left to narrow by source type - choose " Limit to articles from scholarly publications, including peer-review"

Search for articles, books, and more...
Databases with global health literature

FREE PUBLIC DATABASES:
  • Global Index Medicus - Provides worldwide access to biomedical and public health literature produced by and within low-middle income countries. 
  • Global Development Commons - open access digital platform to crowdsource evidence and innovations to support the child-focused Sustainable Development Goals.
  • HRH Global Resource Center - Global library of human resources for health (HRH) resources focused on developing countries.
Finding data & statistics

1.  Global Health data sites (include data, statistics, reports, visualizations):
Library Contact
Picture: Julia Rodriguez

Julia Rodriguez
Associate Professor / Health Sciences & Scholarly Communications Librarian
juliar@oakland.edu

Schedule a research consultation (Fall & Winter only) - Currently all consultaions are conducted via GoogleMeet. 

If none of the time slots work for you or if there are none available, email me directly and suggest a date & time and I will do my best to accommodate you.

Global Statistics sources
  • Global Health Estimates - WHO -mortality and loss of health due to diseases and injuries
  • Multiple Indicator Cluster Survey (MICS) - UNICEF monitoring the situation of children and women through its international household survey initiative.
  • SDG Tracker -  presents data across all available indicators from the Our World in Data database, using official statistics from the UN.
COUNTRY PROFILES
The following websites feature information, facts, and statistics on health, economy, education, language, mortality, immigration, environment, and much more on hundreds of global nations!
What is a Literature Review?
A literature review is defined as:

"A literature review is an objective, thorough summary and critical analysis of the relevant available research and non-research literature on the topic being studied (Hart, 1998). (https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/18399395)

A literature review provides an overview of what's been written about a specific topic. There are many different types of literature reviews. They vary in terms of comprehensiveness, types of study included, and purpose.

The purpose: "primary purpose is to provide the reader with a comprehensive background for understanding current knowledge and highlighting the significance of new research. It can inspire research ideas by identifying gaps or inconsistencies in a body of knowledge, thus helping the researcher to determine or define research questions or hypotheses." (https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/18399395)
Tools
 Documenting your searches: Evaluting and Synthesizing Your Sources:
  • DOWNLOAD Synthesizing Multiple Sources Guide (IUPUI Writing Center)
  • Use this Excel template to help you evaluate your sources, create article summaries for an annotated bibliography, and a synthesis matrix for your lit review outline. (Johns Hopkins University) 
Citation Tools
RefWorks is available through the Library subcriptions. You create a personal database of references, generate a bibliography from your list of references & automatically format in any common citation style.Refworks tutorials

Citation Style Guides:

Edit

OU Libraries | 100 Library Drive, Rochester, Michigan 48309-4479 | (248) 370-2471
Accessibility | Sitemap | Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster


Hours | Location

OU Libraries on Facebook OU Libraries on Twitter OU Libraries on Instagram OU Libraries News