OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Search by title, author...

LIBRARY GUIDE TO Reading and Language Arts

Handbook of Reading Research
Access the online version of this classic series: The Handbook of Reading Research
Find Articles
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff ERIC
This is the BEST PLACE to look when finding articles about education! ERIC contains over 1,100,000 items from 1966 through the present. How to export to RefWorks

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff PsycINFO
Need articles in psychology or counseling? Use PsycINFO! It's a great resource and is published by the American Psychological Association. How to export to RefWorks

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff PsycARTICLES
Here you'll find full-text articles from many journals published by the American Psychological Association,  the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe & Huber. PsycARTICLES is a subset of PsycINFO, so if you need more information, go to PsycINFO. How to export to RefWorks

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Thanks to Mel Academic OneFile
A huge and highly heterogeneous multidisciplinary mix of scholarly, journalistic, practitioner and popular sources, with much direct full-text included. Use the tabs to identify scholarly, newspaper or other sources as necessary. Thanks to MeL / How to export to RefWorks Coverage: 1980-present
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff JSTOR
Full text of core scholarly journals from their beginning to approximately one year ago. Disciplines include botany, business, ecology, general science, humanities, mathematics, social sciences, and statistics. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines. Especially good for historic or classic articles in most fields. Coverage: 1665 to present. How to export to RefWorks

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Web of Science
Web of Science provides access to Science Citation Index (SCI), Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI) and Arts and Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI). These indexes contain references that have been cited in other articles. You can use these citations to perform cited reference searches (locate articles that cite an earlier publication). How to export to RefWorks

Find Books

Library Catalog
Use the catalog to find books, videos, recordings, and goverment documents we have at the library.

MelCat
A statewide catalog of many of Michigan's libraries. It allows you to request books at another library be sent to Kresge Library for you.

Online Reference Sources

International Handbook of Giftedness and Talent (2000)
Invaluable research tool to academics, researchers and students interested in the field of giftedness and talent.

Handbook of Research on Teaching the English Language Arts (2011), 3rd edition.
Sponsored by the International Reading Association and the National Council of Teachers of English. Includes bibliographical references and indexes.

Library OneSearch
Find articles, books, etc...


Library Contact
Picture: Amanda Nichols Hess

Amanda Nichols Hess
Assistant Professor
nichols@oakland.edu
248.370.2487

Office Hours: Wednesdays 2-4p | Thursdays 10a-12p
Drop by or schedule an appointment here!
Research Assistance

Ask a Librarian
Ask a research question by phone, chat, email, or in person at the research help desk.

Research Consultation
Sign up online for an individual session with a librarian to get help with your research.

Writing Help
OWL Guide to Using APA Format (Purdue U.)
APA Style Guide (from the APA)
Writing Resources for Students
Ulrich's Periodical Directory - Is this journal peer-reviewed? Ulrich's can help! 
The Writing Center at Oakland University

Where do I find an article?

To locate articles that are cited in a bibliography or reference list, use the Library Catalog to determine if Kresge Library owns the item. For example, to find the following article...

Cavaiola, Alan A. (1999). Suicidal behavior in chemically dependent adolescents. Adolescence 34(136): 735-744.

...conduct a Journal Title search in the Library Catalog using the title of the journal - Adolescence. The results of this search indicate that Kresge Library owns this journal in print and online.

 

RefWorks

Refworks allows you to create a personal database of references and automatically generate formatted bibliographies for your projects.


Edit

OU Libraries | 100 Library Drive, Rochester, Michigan 48309-4479 | (248) 370-2471
Accessibility | Sitemap | Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster


Hours | Location

OU Libraries on Facebook OU Libraries on Twitter OU Libraries on Instagram OU Libraries News