OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Search by title, author...

LIBRARY GUIDE TO RDG 3132: Literature for Children

Library Contact
Picture: Amanda Nichols Hess

Amanda Nichols Hess
Associate Professor
nichols@oakland.edu
248.370.2487

Office Hours: 248 Kresge Library
Tuesdays, 2-4pm
Wednesdays, 3-5pm
Feel free to stop by or contact me for an appointment
Research Assistance

Ask a Librarian
Ask a research question by phone, chat, email, or in person at the research help desk.

Research Consultation
Sign up online for an individual session with a librarian to get help with your research.

Find Information
Online Reference Materials
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Cambridge Encyclopedia of Child Development
This is an is an authoritative, accessible and up-to-date account of all aspects of child development. Written by an international team of experts, it adopts an interdisciplinary approach and covers everything from prenatal development to education, pediatrics, neuroscience, theories and research methods to physical development, social development, cognitive development, psychopathology and parenting (2005).

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Encyclopedia of Cross-Cultural School Psychology
"Five foundational topics provide an overall grounding for the more than 400 entries that follow. The content of these five chapters includes an overview of the history of cross-cultural school psychology in the United States, a review of cross-cultural competencies, discussion about disparities in school services, consideration of multicultural assessment tools, and future directions in the field of school psychology." (Preface)

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Handbook of Research on the Education of Young Children
This is an essential reference on research in early childhood education not only in the United States but throughout the world. It provides a comprehensive overview of important contemporary issues and the information necessary to make judgments about these issues (2006).
Find Books

Library Catalog
Use the catalog to find books, videos, recordings, and goverment documents we have at the library.

MelCat
A statewide catalog of many of Michigan's libraries. It allows you to request books at another library be sent to Kresge Library for you.

Resources for Children's Literature
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Children's Literature Comprehensive database
Full-text of book reviews for children's books from 1993 to the present.

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Horn Book Guide Online

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Thanks to Mel NoveList K8 Plus
Find just the right book by subject, age, awards won, Lexile Reading levels, Common Core standards; even books made into movies, and much more. Read reviews and learn about the author.

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Something About the Author
This title "spotlights more than 12,000 individuals in entries that typically cover personal life, career, writings, adaptations, and additional sources."

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Teaching Books
Teaching Books.net includes thousands of resources about fiction and nonfiction books used in the K–12 environment. It is designed to be used by teachers, librarians, faculty, staff, students, and families.
 

For additional resources, you may want to visit OU's Educational Resources Laboratory, located in Pawley Hall.

Handbook of Reading Research
Access the online version of this classic series: The Handbook of Reading Research
Tools & Services
Interlibrary Loan

Interlibrary Loan
You may request materials we don't have and we'll borrow them from another library for you.

RefWorks

Refworks allows you to create a personal database of references and automatically generate formatted bibliographies for your projects.

Writing Help

Writing Resources for Students
Find in-depth information about the mechanics of writing, MLA/APA citations, avoiding plagiarism, and more.

Writing Center
The consultants can help you with every stage of the writing process.


Edit

OU Libraries | 100 Library Drive, Rochester, Michigan 48309-4479 | (248) 370-2471
Accessibility | Sitemap | Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster


Hours | Location

OU Libraries on Facebook OU Libraries on Twitter OU Libraries on Instagram OU Libraries News