OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Search by title, author...

LIBRARY GUIDE TO RDG 503: Reading and Language Arts in Elementary/Middle School II

Find Books

Library Catalog
Use the catalog to find books, videos, recordings, and goverment documents we have at the library.

MelCat
A statewide catalog of many of Michigan's libraries. It allows you to request books at another library be sent to Kresge Library for you.

Find Articles
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Education Full Text
Find articles on all areas of education. ERIC is more complete. How to export to RefWorks
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff ERIC
This is the BEST PLACE to look when finding articles about education! ERIC contains over 1,100,000 items from 1966 through the present. How to export to RefWorks

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff JSTOR
Full text of core scholarly journals from their beginning to approximately one year ago. Disciplines include botany, business, ecology, general science, humanities, mathematics, social sciences, and statistics. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines. Especially good for historic or classic articles in most fields. Coverage: 1665 to present. How to export to RefWorks
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff PsycINFO
Need articles in psychology or counseling? Use PsycINFO! It's a great resource and is published by the American Psychological Association. How to export to RefWorks
Need to determine if an article comes from a scholarly publication? Ulrich's Periodicals Directory can help you find out!

Handbook of Reading Research
Access the online version of this classic series: The Handbook of Reading Research
These are also available in print: LB 1050 .H278, 3rd Floor, Kresge Library
Online Reference Materials
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Cambridge Encyclopedia of Child Development
This is an is an authoritative, accessible and up-to-date account of all aspects of child development. Written by an international team of experts, it adopts an interdisciplinary approach and covers everything from prenatal development to education, pediatrics, neuroscience, theories and research methods to physical development, social development, cognitive development, psychopathology and parenting (2005).

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Encyclopedia of Special Education
The third edition (2007) of the highly acclaimed Encyclopedia of Special Education offers a thoroughly revised, comprehensive A to Z compilation of authoritative information on the education of those with special needs.

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Handbook of Research on the Education of Young Children
This is an essential reference on research in early childhood education not only in the United States but throughout the world. It provides a comprehensive overview of important contemporary issues and the information necessary to make judgments about these issues (2006).

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Key Concepts in Early Childhood Education and Care

Cathy Nutbrown, a leading academic in early childhood education, identifies and explains key terms and practices central to the work and study of early childhood in this accessible reference text.


Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Philosophy of Education
The encyclopedia (1996) is designed to show the diversity of topics that contribute to the study of the philosophy of education. The core of the encyclopedia is its coverage of philosophical points of view that have had the greatest influence on educational thinking, from ancient Greece to the present.

Citation Searching

To locate and retrieve articles or books that are cited in a bibliography or Works Cited page, use Library OneSearch or the Library Catalog to determine if Kresge Library has access to the item. For example, to find the article

Cavaiola, Alan A. (1999). Suicidal behavior in chemically dependent adolescents. Adolescence 34(136): 735-744.

The most direct ways to search are by:

  1. Title in Library OneSearch. Use the article title - Suicidal behavior in chemically dependent adolescents - not the title of the journal (Adolescence).
  2. Journal Title in the Library Catalog.  Use the title of the journal - Adolescence - NOT the title of the article.
The results of both searches indicate that the University Library has access to this article, both in print and online.
Library Contact
Picture: Amanda Nichols Hess

Amanda Nichols Hess
Assistant Professor
nichols@oakland.edu
248.370.2487

Office Hours: Wednesdays 2-4p | Thursdays 10a-12p
Drop by or schedule an appointment here!
e-Resources on Reading
Here are links to the library's e-journals that may be relevant to research on reading (number of journal titles listed in parentheses):
Also, here are links to the library's e-book collections that may be relevant to research on reading (number of individual titles listed in parentheses):


Research Assistance

Ask a Librarian
Ask a research question by phone, chat, email, or in person at the research help desk.

Research Consultation
Sign up online for an individual session with a librarian to get help with your research.

Ask A Librarian - Chat

RefWorks

Refworks allows you to create a personal database of references and automatically generate formatted bibliographies for your projects.

Interlibrary Loan

Interlibrary Loan
You may request materials we don't have and we'll borrow them from another library for you.


Edit

OU Libraries | 100 Library Drive, Rochester, Michigan 48309-4479 | (248) 370-2471
Accessibility | Sitemap | Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster


Hours | Location

OU Libraries on Facebook OU Libraries on Twitter OU Libraries on Instagram OU Libraries News