LIBRARY GUIDE TO RDG 5202 - Reading and Language Arts in the Elementary and Middle School I

Please provide feedback on your instruction session here.

Access the RDG 5202 presentation here

When Dr. Hess is online, feel free to ask a question via chat.
 

You can search in these specific journals to find teacher-friendly articles about reading practices in the classroom:

• English Journal
• Reading Teacher
• Voices from the Middle
• Journal of Adolescent & Adult Literacy
• Language Arts

Or, you can search in these broader databases to find a wider range of articles on your topic:
ERIC
Includes education and related topics - journal articles, conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, books and monographs.  How to export to RefWorks

Education Source

Provides scholarly research and information for education students, professionals and policy makers. Covers all levels of education - from early childhood to higher education - and educational specialties such as multilingual education, health education and testing.

 Thanks to MeL. 

JSTOR
Full text of core scholarly journals from their beginning to approximately one year ago. Disciplines include botany, business, ecology, general science, humanities, mathematics, social sciences, and statistics. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines. Especially good for historic or classic articles in most fields. Coverage: 1665 to present. How to export to RefWorks

PsycINFO
Need articles in psychology or counseling? Use PsycINFO! It's a great resource and is published by the American Psychological Association. How to export to RefWorks

Need to determine if an article comes from a scholarly publication? Ulrich's Periodicals Directory can help you find out!

To locate and retrieve articles or books that are cited in a bibliography or Works Cited page, use Library OneSearch or the Library Catalog to determine if Kresge Library has access to the item. For example, to find the article:

Werfel, K. L. & Schuele, C. M. (2012). Segmentation and representation of consonant blends in kindergarten children's spellings. Language, Speech, and Hearing Services in Schools, 43(3), 292-307.

The most direct ways to search are by:

1. Title in Library OneSearch. Use the article title - Segmentation and representation of consonant blends in kindergarten children's spellings - not the title of the journal (Language, Speech, and Hearing Services in Schools).
2. Journal Title in the Library Catalog.  Use the title of the journal - Language, Speech, and Hearing Services in Schools - NOT the title of the article.

The results of both searches indicate that the University Library has access to this article online.

Access the online version of this classic series: The Handbook of Reading Research

• Volume one, 1984
• Volume two, 1991
• Volume three, 2000
• Volume four, 2011 

These are also available in print (call number: LB 1050 .H278) on the 3rd Floor of the Kresge Library

Web of Science
Web of Science provides access to Science Citation Index (SCI), Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI) and Arts and Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI). These indexes contain references that have been cited in other articles. You can use these citations to perform cited reference searches (locate articles that cite an earlier publication). How to export to RefWorks. 

Google Scholar
You can check the availability of article full text if you use our link to Google Scholar, which will ask you to log in with your OU NetID. How to export to RefWorks  

Library OneSearch
Use the catalog to find books, videos, recordings, and goverment documents we have at the library.

MelCat
A statewide catalog of many of Michigan's libraries. It allows you to request books at another library be sent to Kresge Library for you.

Cambridge Encyclopedia of Child Development
This is an is an authoritative, accessible and up-to-date account of all aspects of child development. Written by an international team of experts, it adopts an interdisciplinary approach and covers everything from prenatal development to education, pediatrics, neuroscience, theories and research methods to physical development, social development, cognitive development, psychopathology and parenting (2005).

Encyclopedia of Special Education
The third edition (2007) of the highly acclaimed Encyclopedia of Special Education offers a thoroughly revised, comprehensive A to Z compilation of authoritative information on the education of those with special needs.

Handbook of Research on the Education of Young Children
This is an essential reference on research in early childhood education not only in the United States but throughout the world. It provides a comprehensive overview of important contemporary issues and the information necessary to make judgments about these issues (2006).

Key Concepts in Early Childhood Education and Care

Cathy Nutbrown, a leading academic in early childhood education, identifies and explains key terms and practices central to the work and study of early childhood in this accessible reference text.

Philosophy of Education
The encyclopedia (1996) is designed to show the diversity of topics that contribute to the study of the philosophy of education. The core of the encyclopedia is its coverage of philosophical points of view that have had the greatest influence on educational thinking, from ancient Greece to the present.

• Michigan Online Resources for Educators
• Michigan Department of Education
  
• US Department of Education
• US Department of Health and Human Services
• Educator's Reference Desk

Data:

• Michigan School Data
• National Center for Education Statistics
• Statistical Abstract of the United States (Proquest)

Interlibrary Loan
You may request materials we don't have and we'll borrow them from another library for you.

Refworks allows you to create a personal database of references and automatically generate formatted bibliographies for your projects.

Writing Resources for Students
Find in-depth information about the mechanics of writing, MLA/APA citations, avoiding plagiarism, and more.

Writing Center
The consultants can help you with every stage of the writing process.