LIBRARY GUIDE TO SOC 2010 - Introduction to Methods of Social Research

For Sociology: Sociological Abstracts
This database abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Coverage: 1960 to present. How to export to RefWorks
For Criminal Justice: Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text
This database provides full-text access to international research related to the essential areas related to criminal justice and criminology. Coverage: 1910 - present.
For Social Work:  Social Work Abstracts
Indexes more than 450 social work and human services journals. Coverage: 1965 to present. How to export to RefWorks 


General resources:
JSTOR
Full text of core scholarly journals from their beginning to approximately one year ago. Disciplines include botany, business, ecology, general science, humanities, mathematics, social sciences, and statistics. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines. Especially good for historic or classic articles in most fields. Coverage: 1665 to present. How to export to RefWorks


Wondering if an article is peer-reviewed? Ulrich's Periodicals Directory will tell you!

Library OneSearch
Use the catalog to find books, videos, recordings, and goverment documents we have at the library.

MelCat
A statewide catalog of many of Michigan's libraries. It allows you to request books at another library be sent to Kresge Library for you.

Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology
Comparable to the print version of the Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology.
Encyclopedia of Social Problems
More than 600 entries covering such topics as aging, crime, education, family, gender, sexual orientation, health, urbanization, race and ethnicity, social movements and substance abuse.

Interlibrary Loan
You may request materials we don't have and we'll borrow them from another library for you.

How to Identify an Empirical Research Article - 
from CSU, Fullerton 

Writing Resources for Students
Find in-depth information about the mechanics of writing, MLA/APA citations, avoiding plagiarism, and more.

Writing Center
The consultants can help you with every stage of the writing process.

Refworks allows you to create a personal database of references and automatically generate formatted bibliographies for your projects.