OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Search by title, author...

LIBRARY GUIDE TO SOC 202 - Introduction to Methods of Social Research

Find Articles
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Google Scholar
You can check the availability of article full text if you use our link to Google Scholar, which will ask you to log in with your OU NetID. How to export to RefWorks

See our guide to adding OU Libraries resources to Google Scholar
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Sociological Abstracts
This database abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Coverage: 1960 to present. How to export to RefWorks

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text
This database provides full-text access to international research related to the essential areas related to criminal justice and criminology. Coverage: 1910 - present.

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Social Work Abstracts
Indexes more than 450 social work and human services journals. Coverage: 1965 to present. How to export to RefWorks

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff GenderWatch
Database of unique and diverse publications that focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas - including health and wellness. With its archival material, dating back to 1970 in some cases, GenderWatch is a repository of important historical perspectives on the evolution of the women's movement, men's studies, the transgendered community and the changes in gender roles over the years.

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff JSTOR
Full text of core scholarly journals from their beginning to approximately one year ago. Disciplines include botany, business, ecology, general science, humanities, mathematics, social sciences, and statistics. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines. Especially good for historic or classic articles in most fields. Coverage: 1665 to present. How to export to RefWorks
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Ulrich's Periodicals Directory
Is this journal peer-reviewed or refereed? Ulrich's will tell you!
Criminal Justice Statistics
Key Statistics from the U.S. Bureau of Justice Statistics - including: Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics, U.S. Department of Justice - including:
  • Criminal Justice characteristics
  • Public Opinion
  • Statistics on crimes and victims
  • Statistics on arrests and seizures
  • Courts, prosecution, sentencing
  • Parole, jails, prisons, death penalty
Find Books

Library Catalog
Use the catalog to find books, videos, recordings, and goverment documents we have at the library.

MelCat
A statewide catalog of many of Michigan's libraries. It allows you to request books at another library be sent to Kresge Library for you.

Online Reference Materials
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology
Comparable to the print version of the Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology.

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Encyclopedia of Social Problems
More than 600 entries covering such topics as aging, crime, education, family, gender, sexual orientation, health, urbanization, race and ethnicity, social movements and substance abuse.

Writing Help

Writing Resources for Students
Find in-depth information about the mechanics of writing, MLA/APA citations, avoiding plagiarism, and more.

Writing Center
The consultants can help you with every stage of the writing process.

Library Contact
Picture: Anne Switzer

Anne Switzer
Social Sciences & Outreach Librarian
switzer2@oakland.edu
248.370.2475


Research Assistance

Ask a Librarian
Ask a research question by phone, chat, email, or in person at the research help desk.

Research Consultation
Sign up online for an individual session with a librarian to get help with your research.

Evaluating Information
Use these six factors to evaluate your search results:
  1. Authority
  2. Currency
  3. Relevancy
  4. Accuracy
  5. Objectivity/Bias
  6. Appropriateness

Can I find this article?

Let's say you find information about this article in a bibliography. Does the library have access to this article?

Ramos, P., Brooks, F., Garcia-Moya, I, Rivera, F. (2013). Eating habits and physical activity in dieter and non-dieter youth: a gender analysis of English and Spanish adolescents. Social Science Journal, 50(4), 575-582.

The most direct ways to search are by:

  1. Article Title in Library OneSearch. Type the article title and embed within quotation marks:  "Eating habits and physical activity in dieter ".
  2. Journal Title in the Library Catalog.  Use the title of the journal - Social Science Journal - to find out if the library subscribes in print or online.
The results indicate that we have the article online but not in print.
RefWorks

Refworks allows you to create a personal database of references and automatically generate formatted bibliographies for your projects.

Interlibrary Loan

Interlibrary Loan
You may request materials we don't have and we'll borrow them from another library for you.

Find Articles
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text
This database provides full-text access to international research related to the essential areas related to criminal justice and criminology. Coverage: 1910 - present.
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff PsycINFO
Need articles in psychology or counseling? Use PsycINFO! It's a great resource and is published by the American Psychological Association. How to export to RefWorks
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Sociological Abstracts
This database abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Coverage: 1960 to present. How to export to RefWorks
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff JSTOR
Full text of core scholarly journals from their beginning to approximately one year ago. Disciplines include botany, business, ecology, general science, humanities, mathematics, social sciences, and statistics. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines. Especially good for historic or classic articles in most fields. Coverage: 1665 to present. How to export to RefWorks
Unrestricted Resource National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS)
Contains abstracts of more than 210,000 criminal justice, juvenile justice, and substance abuse resources housed in the NCJRS Library collection.
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Ulrich's Periodicals Directory
Is this journal peer-reviewed or refereed? Ulrich's will tell you!
How do I find this article?
Let's say you discover this article listed below. Does the library have access to this article?  
  • Kramer, J. H. (2009). Mandatory sentencing guidelines: The framing of justice. Criminology & Public Policy, 8(2), 313-321.
Search for the title of the article, "Mandatory sentencing guidelines the framing of justice" in Library OneSearch. Then click Full Text Online to view the article. Then, scroll down to Continue reading full article, and click that link.
CJ statistics
Key Statistics from the U.S. Bureau of Justice Statistics - including: Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics, U.S. Department of Justice - including:
  • Criminal Justice characteristics
  • Public Opinion
  • Statistics on crimes and victims
  • Statistics on arrests and seizures
  • Courts, prosecution, sentencing
  • Parole, jails, prisons, death penalty
Online Reference Material

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology
Comparable to the print version of the Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology.
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Encyclopedia of Crime and Punishment
Includes coverage of crimes and related behaviors, law and justice, policing, forensics, corrections, victimology, punishment, sociocultural context and popular culture, international crime and punishment, research methods and information, organizations and institutions, and special populations.
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Encyclopedia of Social Problems
More than 600 entries covering such topics as aging, crime, education, family, gender, sexual orientation, health, urbanization, race and ethnicity, social movements and substance abuse.
Writing Help

Writing Resources for Students
Find in-depth information about the mechanics of writing, MLA/APA citations, avoiding plagiarism, and more.

Writing Center
The consultants can help you with every stage of the writing process.

Library Contact
Picture: Kristine Condic

Kristine Condic
Professor
salomon@oakland.edu
248.370.2469

Office: 236 Kresge Library
Office hours: Tuesdays 3-5pm. Drop by or schedule an appointment here.
Research Assistance

Ask a Librarian
Ask a research question by phone, chat, email, or in person at the research help desk.

Research Consultation
Sign up online for an individual session with a librarian to get help with your research.

Find Books

Library Catalog
Use the catalog to find books, videos, recordings, and goverment documents we have at the library.

MelCat
A statewide catalog of many of Michigan's libraries. It allows you to request books at another library be sent to Kresge Library for you.

RefWorks

Refworks allows you to create a personal database of references and automatically generate formatted bibliographies for your projects.

Interlibrary Loan

Interlibrary Loan
You may request materials we don't have and we'll borrow them from another library for you.

Evaluating Information
 Use these six factors to evaluate your search results:
  • Authority
  • Currency
  • Relevancy
  • Accuracy
  • Objectivity/Bias
  • Appropriateness

Edit

OU Libraries | 100 Library Drive, Rochester, Michigan 48309-4479 | (248) 370-2471
Accessibility | Sitemap | Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster


Hours | Location

OU Libraries on Facebook OU Libraries on Twitter OU Libraries on Instagram OU Libraries News