OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Search by title, author...

LIBRARY GUIDE TO SOC 207 - Human Sexuality

Finding Popular Magazine Articles
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Readers' Guide Full Text Mega - Provides full-text access to Time, Newsweek and other popular magazines.

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff OmniFile Full Text, Select - Contains both popular and scholarly articles.

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Thanks to Mel Academic OneFile - Contains articles from scholarly journals and popular magazines.

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff LexisNexis Academic Universe - A good source for newspaper articles.
Finding Scholarly Articles
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff PsycINFO
Need articles in psychology or counseling? Use PsycINFO! It's a great resource and is published by the American Psychological Association. How to export to RefWorks

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Sociological Abstracts
This database abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Coverage: 1960 to present. How to export to RefWorks
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Social Sciences Full Text
Includes full-text articles from over 300 journals, covering concepts, theories and methods from both applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences: 1983 - present. How to export to RefWorks
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Social Sciences Citation Index
Use this for sociology, anthroplogy,political science and economics. Provides citation tracking of  articles. Coverage: 1980 - present. How to export to RefWorks
You can also try browsing or searching these specific journals:
Journal of Sex Research
Journal of Social and Personal Relationships
Personal Relationships
Archives of Sexual Behavior
Journal of Marriage and Family

To verify whether a journal is peer-reviewed (or refereed), consult Ulrich's Periodicals Directory . You can also try looking at the journal website for more information. Not all articles published in scholarly journals are empirical studies; you may want to review the characteristics of an empirical study before you conduct your research.
Citation Searching

To locate and retrieve articles or books that are cited in a bibliography or Works Cited page, use the Library Catalog to determine if Kresge Library owns the item. For example, to find the following article...

Cavaiola, Alan A. (1999). Suicidal behavior in chemically dependent adolescents. Adolescence 34(136): 735-744.

...conduct a Journal Title search in the Library Catalog [using the title of the journal - Adolescence - NOT the title of the article]. The results of this search indicate that Kresge Library owns this journal in print and online.

Find Books

Library Catalog
Use the catalog to find books, videos, recordings, and goverment documents we have at the library.

MelCat
A statewide catalog of many of Michigan's libraries. It allows you to request books at another library be sent to Kresge Library for you.

Library Contact
Picture: Shawn Lombardo

Shawn Lombardo
Associate Professor
lombardo@oakland.edu
248.370.2493

OFFICE HOURS Wed. 2-3pm | Thur. 2:30-3:30 pm | or by appointment
Reference Sources
Encyclopedia of Sex and Gender: Men and Women in the World's Cultures

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences
Scholarly, 2nd ed.

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology
Comparable to the print version of the Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology.

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Credo Reference
Provides online access to encyclopedias, almanacs, and other reference tools.
Ask A Librarian - Chat

Interlibrary Loan

Interlibrary Loan
You may request materials we don't have and we'll borrow them from another library for you.

Writing Help

Writing Resources for Students
Find in-depth information about the mechanics of writing, MLA/APA citations, avoiding plagiarism, and more.

Writing Center
The consultants can help you with every stage of the writing process.


Edit

OU Libraries | 100 Library Drive, Rochester, Michigan 48309-4479 | (248) 370-2471
Accessibility | Sitemap | Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster


Hours | Location

OU Libraries on Facebook OU Libraries on Twitter OU Libraries on Instagram OU Libraries News