CINAHL Complete The Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature (CINAHL) is a full-text database for nursing and allied health journals from 1937 to present. Includes access to scholarly journal articles, dissertations, magazines, pamphlets, evidence-based care sheets, books, and research instruments. How to Export to RefWorks
JSTOR Full text of core scholarly journals from their beginning to approximately one year ago. Disciplines include botany, business, ecology, general science, humanities, mathematics, social sciences, and statistics. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines. Especially good for historic or classic articles in most fields. Coverage: 1665 to present. How to export to RefWorks
Social Work Abstracts Indexes more than 450 social work and human services journals. Coverage: 1965 to present. How to export to RefWorks
Sociological Abstracts This database abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Coverage: 1960 to present. How to export to RefWorks
Sociology: SAGE FullText Full text for scholarly articles published since 1960. How to export to RefWorks
PsycINFO Need articles in psychology or counseling? Use PsycINFO! It's a great resource and is published by the American Psychological Association. How to export to RefWorks
Library OneSearch
Use the catalog to find books, videos, recordings, and goverment documents we have at the library.
MelCat
A statewide catalog of many of Michigan's libraries. It allows you to request books at another library be sent to Kresge Library for you.
Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology Comparable to the print version of the Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology.
Encyclopedia of American Studies This source brings together a wide range of disciplines related to the history and cultures of the United States, from pre-colonial days to the present. It features broad, synthetic articles covering areas such as history, literature, art, photography, film, architecture, urban studies, ethnicity, race, gender, economics, politics, wars, consumer culture, and global America.
Handbook of Aging and the Social Sciences Provides a comprehensive summary and evaluation of recent research on the social aspects of aging.
Learning in Adulthood: A Comprehensive Guide This work considers who the adult learner is, how the social context shapes the learning that adults are engaged in, why adults are involved in learning activities, how adults learn, and how aging affects learning ability.
The Cambridge Handbook of Age and Ageing A guide to the current body of knowledge, theory, policy and practice relevant to age researchers and gerontologists around the world.
Anne Zacharias
Social Sciences & Outreach Librarian
switzer2@oakland.edu
248.370.2475
Ask a Librarian
Ask a research question by phone, chat, email, or in person at the research help desk.
Research Consultation
Sign up online for an individual session with a librarian to
get help with your research.
Writing Resources for Students
Find in-depth information about the mechanics of writing, MLA/APA citations, avoiding plagiarism, and more.
Writing Center
The consultants can help you with every stage of the writing process.
Refworks allows you to create a personal database of references and automatically generate formatted bibliographies for your projects.
Interlibrary Loan
You may request materials we don't have and we'll borrow them from another library for you.