OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Search by title, author...

LIBRARY GUIDE TO SOC 3905/AN 3900 - The Oral History of Pontiac

Finding Scholarly Articles
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Sociological Abstracts
This database abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Coverage: 1960 to present. How to export to RefWorks
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff JSTOR
Full text of core scholarly journals from their beginning to approximately one year ago. Disciplines include botany, business, ecology, general science, humanities, mathematics, social sciences, and statistics. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines. Especially good for historic or classic articles in most fields. Coverage: 1665 to present. How to export to RefWorks
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Sociology: SAGE FullText
Full text for scholarly articles published since 1960. How to export to RefWorks
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Project MUSE
Project Muse provides full-text access to the content from over 400 scholarly journals in the humanities and the social sciences. How to export to RefWorks
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Google Scholar
You can check the availability of article full text if you use our link to Google Scholar, which will ask you to log in with your OU NetID. How to export to RefWorks  

To verify whether a journal is peer-reviewed (or refereed), consult Ulrich's Periodicals Directory .
 
Online Reference Materials
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Encyclopedia of Race, Ethnicity and Society
Almost 600 entries on issues related to race and ethnicity around the world.

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Encyclopedia of Social Problems
More than 600 entries covering such topics as aging, crime, education, family, gender, sexual orientation, health, urbanization, race and ethnicity, social movements and substance abuse.
Writing Help

Writing Resources for Students
Find in-depth information about the mechanics of writing, MLA/APA citations, avoiding plagiarism, and more.

Writing Center
The consultants can help you with every stage of the writing process.

RefWorks

Refworks

Refworks allows you to create a personal database of references and automatically generate formatted bibliographies for your projects.

Library Contact
Picture: Anne Zacharias

Anne Zacharias
Social Sciences & Outreach Librarian
switzer2@oakland.edu
248.370.2475

Find Books

Library OneSearch
Use the catalog to find books, videos, recordings, and goverment documents we have at the library.

MelCat
A statewide catalog of many of Michigan's libraries. It allows you to request books at another library be sent to Kresge Library for you.

Interlibrary Loan

Interlibrary Loan
You may request materials we don't have and we'll borrow them from another library for you.

Info. on Pontiac
Unrestricted Resource American FactFinder
Census information; info. on people, housing, and businesses/industries

Michigan, 2000. Summary social, economic, and housing characteristics
(in print in Room 154 - C 3.223/23:2000 PHC-2-24/ or online, part 1 and 2)

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Statistical Abstract of the United States (Proquest)
Uses Census info to create comprehensive summaries (tables) of statistics on the social, political and economic conditions in the United States.

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Detroit Free Press 1923-1999
 Historical coverage of the Detroit Free Press.

The Oakland Press - Newspaper [1835-2007] You must request access to Special Collections and Archives using this form: Schedule a visit 

Chronicling America - Historic American Newspapers to 1963

Detroit Public Library's Digital Collections - Historical photographs of Pontiac.

Internet Archive - a non-profit digital library offering free universal access to books, government documents, archived web pages, pamphlets, etc.

 
Pontiac History Books
Polk's Pontiac City Directory (1927-1930, 1945-1946,1948,1950,1952-1953)
OU Archives and Special Collections, F 574 .P55 P6
Names and contact information for individuals and businesses in Pontiac; some city information

N. Kilmer, Pontiac Township, 1827-1983: The End of an Era (1983)
OU Archives and Special Collections, and
F 572 .P6 R3 (KL 3rd floor)

 S. Woods, Pontiac: The Making of a U.S. Automobile Capital, 1818-1950 (1991)
OU Archives and Special Collections, and
F 574 .P6 W6 1992 (KL 3rd floor)

A. Russell, Blacks in Pontiac (1977)
 F 574 .P55 R8 1977 (KL 3rd floor)
Short biographies of prominent African American residents of Pontiac in the mid-1970s with photographs

Edit

OU Libraries | 100 Library Drive, Rochester, Michigan 48309-4479 | (248) 370-2471
Accessibility | Sitemap | Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster


Hours | Location

OU Libraries on Facebook OU Libraries on Twitter OU Libraries on Instagram OU Libraries News