OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Search by title, author...

LIBRARY GUIDE TO SOC 399 - Internship Course

Find Articles
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Sociological Abstracts
This database abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Coverage: 1960 to present. How to export to RefWorks
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff JSTOR
Full text of core scholarly journals from their beginning to approximately one year ago. Disciplines include botany, business, ecology, general science, humanities, mathematics, social sciences, and statistics. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines. Especially good for historic or classic articles in most fields. Coverage: 1665 to present. How to export to RefWorks
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Sociology: SAGE FullText
Full text for scholarly articles published since 1960. How to export to RefWorks

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Project MUSE
Project Muse provides full-text access to the content from over 400 scholarly journals in the humanities and the social sciences. How to export to RefWorks

Google Scholar
 
Media Sources

New York Times - Current - Full-text from 1995 to the present date. How to export to RefWorks
Readers' Guide Full Text Mega Need articles from popular magazines? This is where you want to be! How to export to RefWorks
Infotrac Newsstand - Full-text coverage of numerous newspapers. How to export to RefWorks
LexisNexis Academic Universe - full text access to newspapers, magazines, trade journals, newsletters, news wires, and transcripts. News sources are never scholarly, but they can give you up-to-date information on current events. How to export to RefWorks
 
Find Data
Demographics NOW - Access a demographic report on any geography – or compare multiple geographies - for information including income, housing, race, age, education, retail spending, consumer expenditures, businesses and more

Data.gov - Here you will find data, tools, and resources to conduct research, develop web and mobile applications, design data visualizations, and more. 

Census.gov - The Census Bureau's mission is to serve as the leading source of quality data about the nation's people and economy -- they collect new data every ten years.m

American FactFinder - American FactFinder provides access to data about the United States, Puerto Rico and the Island Areas. The data in American FactFinder come from several censuses and surveys.

Pew Research Center - Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. It conducts public opinion polling, demographic research, media content analysis and other empirical social science research.

iPoll - The iPOLL Databank is the most comprehensive, up-to-date resource for US public opinion poll data (from the Roper Center Public Opinion Archives).

ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the US - The ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States.

Gender Data Portal - Free and open access to global development data

The General Social Survey - has provided a clear and unbiased perspective on what Americans think and feel about such issues as national spendi?ng priorities, crime and punishment, intergroup relations, and confidence in institutions.

Unesco Institute for Statistics - Access to create,
manipulate, and download data on education, communication, and literacy.
Online Reference Materials

To verify whether a journal is peer-reviewed (or refereed), consult Ulrich's Periodicals Directory . You can also try looking at the journal website for more information.

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology
Comparable to the print version of the Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology.
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Encyclopedia of Gender and Society
Provide users with a “gender lens” on society by focusing on significant gender scholarship within commonly recognized areas of social research. Accordingly, the material in this encyclopedia focuses on basic aspects of social life from the most individual (self and identity) to the most global (transnational economics and politics).
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Encyclopedia of Race, Ethnicity and Society
Almost 600 entries on issues related to race and ethnicity around the world.

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Encyclopedia of Social Problems
More than 600 entries covering such topics as aging, crime, education, family, gender, sexual orientation, health, urbanization, race and ethnicity, social movements and substance abuse.
Library Contact
Picture: Anne Switzer

Anne Switzer
Social Sciences & Outreach Librarian
switzer2@oakland.edu
248.370.2475


RefWorks

Refworks allows you to create a personal database of references and automatically generate formatted bibliographies for your projects.

Writing Help

Writing Resources for Students
Find in-depth information about the mechanics of writing, MLA/APA citations, avoiding plagiarism, and more.

Writing Center
The consultants can help you with every stage of the writing process.

Citation Searching

To locate and retrieve articles or books that are cited in a bibliography or Works Cited page, use Library OneSearch or the Library Catalog to determine if Kresge Library has access to the item. For example, to find the article

Cavaiola, Alan A. (1999). Suicidal behavior in chemically dependent adolescents. Adolescence 34(136): 735-744.

The most direct ways to search are by:

  1. Title in Library OneSearch. Use the article title - Suicidal behavior in chemically dependent adolescents - not the title of the journal (Adolescence).
  2. Journal Title in the Library Catalog.  Use the title of the journal - Adolescence - NOT the title of the article.
The results of both searches indicate that the University Library has access to this article, both in print and online.

Edit

OU Libraries | 100 Library Drive, Rochester, Michigan 48309-4479 | (248) 370-2471
Accessibility | Sitemap | Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster


Hours | Location

OU Libraries on Facebook OU Libraries on Twitter OU Libraries on Instagram OU Libraries News