BILINGUAL DICTIONARIES
VISUAL DICTIONARIES
In these dictionaries, direct visual access makes it possible to look for words from things, without having to know the English or Spanish term beforehand.
Consult a variety of Spanish-English dictionaries and compare definitions, inclusions and exclusions. Simon and Schuster's is particularly inclusive of regionalisms that may not make it into the other ones, but is dated; Collins and the Oxford are more current and thus likelier to include new words from both languages.
View all Spanish-English dictionaries.
- Collins Spanish Dictionary (online)
Print edition: Ref. PC 4640 .C53 2003. Also a free online version.
- Random House Latin-American Dictionary: Spanish-English, English-Spanish (Ref. PC 4822 .G65 1997)
- The Oxford Spanish Dictionary: Spanish-English/English-Spanish (Ref. PC 4640 .O94 2001)
Also a free online Oxford dictionary
- Random House Spanish-English, English-Spanish dictionary (Ref. PC 4640 .R32 1999)
- Larousse Gran diccionario español-inglés = English-Spanish Dictionary (Ref. 4640 .G73 1993)
- Simon and Schuster's International dictionary: English/Spanish Spanish/English. 2nd ed. (Ref. PC 4640 .S5 1997)
VISUAL DICTIONARIES
In these dictionaries, direct visual access makes it possible to look for words from things, without having to know the English or Spanish term beforehand.
- Bilingual Visual Dictionary (Ref. PC 4640 .B55 2005)
- The Facts on File English/Spanish Visual Dictionary (Ref. PC 4625 .C65 1992)
- Macmillan Visual Dictionary (Ref. PC 4629 .M36 1997)
Consult a variety of Spanish-English dictionaries and compare definitions, inclusions and exclusions. Simon and Schuster's is particularly inclusive of regionalisms that may not make it into the other ones, but is dated; Collins and the Oxford are more current and thus likelier to include new words from both languages.
View all Spanish-English dictionaries.
Diccionario de la lengua española. Real Academia Española
Older edition available in print (Ref. PC 4625 .A3 1984)
The single most authoritative dictionary of the Spanish language. Emphasis primarily on Castilian, or the Spanish of Spain although it has diversified in recent years. Apps available for iPhone and Android phones.
Diccionario panhispánico de dudas. Real Academia Española
Older edition available in print (Ref. PC 4460 .D5155 2005)
Deals with problems -- common confusions, sources of error, and complexities of the language.
Diccionario del uso del español. Moliner, María (Ref. PC 4625 .M6 1998)
Describes proper usage for included terms in Castilian. For the English speaker, good for understanding nuances of usage beyond what is typically found in other dictionaries.
Diccionario de americanismos. Asociación de Academias de la Lengua Española (2010)
Spanish words from the Americas, from the US to Chile.
Diccionario breve de mexicanismos
Hosted by the Academia Mexicana de la Lengua
Diccionario de mejicanismos (Ref. PC 4832 .S3 1974)
An older dictionary, includes words arising from or given distinctive expression in Mexican Spanish.
Vox diccionario de uso del español de América y España (Ref. PC 4625 .V69 2004)
A dictionary compiled to reflect contemporary Spanish in both Iberian and American sources. Definitions are identified by region or country.
Los que dicen ¡ay bendito! : dichos, modismos y expresiones del habla coloquial puertorriquena (PC 4854 .P8 N87 2001)
Diccionario ideológico de la lengua española: desde la idea a la palabra; desde la palabra a la idea (Ref. PC 4625 .C3 1959)
Includes a thematically organized section which groups words together in conceptual families, like a thesaurus.
Jergas de Habla Hispana (Ref. PC 4971 .F57 2006)
Also available online.
Guide to current slang or argot in Spanish worldwide.
Diccionario de coloquialismos y terminos dialectales del espanol (Ref. PC 4971 .F58 2011)
Older edition available in print (Ref. PC 4625 .A3 1984)
The single most authoritative dictionary of the Spanish language. Emphasis primarily on Castilian, or the Spanish of Spain although it has diversified in recent years. Apps available for iPhone and Android phones.
Diccionario panhispánico de dudas. Real Academia Española
Older edition available in print (Ref. PC 4460 .D5155 2005)
Deals with problems -- common confusions, sources of error, and complexities of the language.
Diccionario del uso
Describes proper usage for included terms in Castilian. For the English speaker, good for understanding nuances of usage beyond what is typically found in other dictionaries.
Diccionario de americanismos. Asociación de Academias de la Lengua Española (2010)
Spanish words from the Americas, from the US to Chile.
Diccionario breve de mexicanismos
Hosted by the Academia Mexicana de la Lengua
Diccionario de mejicanismos (Ref. PC 4832 .S3 1974)
An older dictionary, includes words arising from or given distinctive expression in Mexican Spanish.
Vox diccionario de uso del español de América y España (Ref. PC 4625 .V69 2004)
A dictionary compiled to reflect contemporary Spanish in both Iberian and American sources. Definitions are identified by region or country.
Los que dicen ¡ay bendito! : dichos, modismos y expresiones del habla coloquial puertorriquena (PC 4854 .P8 N87 2001)
Diccionario ideológico de la lengua española: desde la idea a la palabra; desde la palabra a la idea (Ref. PC 4625 .C3 1959)
Includes a thematically organized section which groups words together in conceptual families, like a thesaurus.
Jergas de Habla Hispana (Ref. PC 4971 .F57 2006)
Also available online.
Guide to current slang or argot in Spanish worldwide.
Diccionario de coloquialismos y terminos dialectales del espanol (Ref. PC 4971 .F58 2011)
Wordreference.com
An English/Spanish dictionary including definitions from the Collins dictionary, synonyms, and much more. Apps for iPhone and Android available.
SpanishDict
English/Spanish dictionary and other language tools.
Diccionarios.com (Vox)
General and specialized dictionaries and other language tools
Nuevo tesoro lexicográfico de la lengua española
Search all past editions of the Diccionario from 1726-1992. The results are given in full-image scanned directly from the pages of the dictionaries.
Linguee
Editorial dictionary and search engine with which you can search hundreds of millions of bilingual texts for words and expressions.
Spanish-English dictionary (University of Granada)
Other free Spanish language resources
An English/Spanish dictionary including definitions from the Collins dictionary, synonyms, and much more. Apps for iPhone and Android available.
SpanishDict
English/Spanish dictionary and other language tools.
Diccionarios.com (Vox)
General and specialized dictionaries and other language tools
Nuevo tesoro lexicográfico de la lengua española
Search all past editions of the Diccionario from 1726-1992. The results are given in full-image scanned directly from the pages of the dictionaries.
Linguee
Editorial dictionary and search engine with which you can search hundreds of millions of bilingual texts for words and expressions.
Spanish-English dictionary (University of Granada)
Other free Spanish language resources
English
Spanish
- Batchelor, R. E. Using Spanish synonyms (Ref. PC 4591 .B38 1994)
- Sainz de Robles, Federico Carlos. Ensayo de un diccionario español de sinónimos y antónimos (Ref. PC4591 .S25 1967)
A Spanish-language thesaurus not unlike Roget's in English. - Vox. Diccionario de sinónimos (Ref. PC 4591 .V6 1977)
Corominas, J. Diccionario crítico etimológico de la lengua castellana. [1954] (Ref. PC 4580 .C6)
The standard work on the etymology, or derivation and historical development of words in the Spanish language. Emphasis primarily upon Castilian although some words of American origin are included.
Elsevier's concise Spanish etymological dictionary (Ref. PC4580 .G65 1985)
More current but not as comprehensive.
The standard work on the etymology, or derivation and historical development of words in the Spanish language. Emphasis primarily upon Castilian although some words of American origin are included.
Elsevier's concise Spanish etymological dictionary (Ref. PC4580 .G65 1985)
More current but not as comprehensive.
Dictionary of Spanish Law (online)
Business Spanish Dictionary (online)
Webster's new world English-Spanish/Spanish-English business dictionary (Ref. HF 1002 .K375 2006)
Vocabulario vaquero = cowboy talk : a dictionary of Spanish terms from the American west (Ref. PE 3727 .C6 S64 2004)
Accounting dictionary. English-Spanish, Spanish-English, Spanish-Spanish = Diccionario de contabilidad. Inglés-Español, Español-Inglés, Español-Español (Ref. HF 5621 .S26 2003)
McGraw-Hill's Complete Medical Spanish: Practical Spanish for Quick & Confident Communication (PC 4120.M3 R56 2010)
Lessons for beginner, intermediate, and advanced audiences on the body, physical examination, interviewing, and treating Spanish-speaking patients.
Spanish for Health Care Professionals (PC 4120.M3 H37 2008)
Reviews common clinical terminology and expressions in Spanish, including the body, physical examination, emergency situations, and speaking with pediatric or geriatric patients.
Yourdictionary.com
Large number of specialized dictionaries (scroll down to bottom)
Business Spanish Dictionary (online)
Webster's new world English-Spanish/Spanish-English business dictionary (Ref. HF 1002 .K375 2006)
Vocabulario vaquero = cowboy talk : a dictionary of Spanish terms from the American west (Ref. PE 3727 .C6 S64 2004)
Accounting dictionary. English-Spanish, Spanish-English, Spanish-Spanish = Diccionario de contabilidad. Inglés-Español, Español-Inglés, Español-Español (Ref. HF 5621 .S26 2003)
McGraw-Hill's Complete Medical Spanish: Practical Spanish for Quick & Confident Communication (PC 4120.M3 R56 2010)
Lessons for beginner, intermediate, and advanced audiences on the body, physical examination, interviewing, and treating Spanish-speaking patients.
Spanish for Health Care Professionals (PC 4120.M3 H37 2008)
Reviews common clinical terminology and expressions in Spanish, including the body, physical examination, emergency situations, and speaking with pediatric or geriatric patients.
Yourdictionary.com
Large number of specialized dictionaries (scroll down to bottom)
Dominique Daniel
Humanities Librarian for History and Modern Languages
daniel@oakland.edu
248.370.2478
Ask a Librarian
Ask a research question by phone, chat, email, or in person at the research help desk.
Research Consultation
Sign up online for an individual session with a librarian to
get help with your research.
Originally curated by Frank Lepkowski
1955 - 2014