OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Search by title, author...

LIBRARY GUIDE TO SW 315 - Social Welfare Policies

Statistical and Data Resources
Population information: Health-Related Statistics: Justice-Related Statistics (courts, crimes, arrests, etc.): Labor-Related Statistics (jobs, unemployment, etc.): Education-related statistics:
Policy Organizations *
Annie E. Casey Foundation
The primary mission of the Foundation is to foster public policies, human-service reforms, and community supports that more effectively meet the needs of today’s vulnerable children and families.
 
Center for the Study of Social Policy
Pew Research Center
Find Articles
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Sociological Abstracts
This database abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Coverage: 1960 to present. How to export to RefWorks
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Sociology: SAGE FullText
Full text for scholarly articles published since 1960. How to export to RefWorks
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Social Sciences Full Text
Includes full-text articles from over 300 journals, covering concepts, theories and methods from both applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences: 1983 - present. How to export to RefWorks
JSTOR
Full text of core scholarly journals from their beginning to approximately one year ago.Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines.
Project MUSE
Project Muse provides full-text access to the content from over 400 scholarly journals in the humanities and the social sciences.

Google Scholar

Verify an article comes from a scholarly or academic resource by checking Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Ulrich's Periodicals Directory
 
Legal Resources
Unrestricted Resource Legal Information Institute
Access to US laws and court decisions including all US Supreme Court opinions since 1992, over 600 historic Court decisions, other state and federal court decisions, the US Code, congressional bills, topical libraries, directories, and other public legal information.

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Thanks to Mel LegalTrac
Provides indexing for approximately 875 titles including major law reviews, legal newspapers, bar association journals and international legal journals; also contains law-related articles from over 1,000 additional business and general interest titles. How to export to RefWorks
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff LexisNexis Academic Universe
You can search for legal information such as court decisions, legal codes, legal news, and law journals. The coverage includes information both at the state level and at the federal level. How to export to RefWorks
Library Contact
Picture: Anne Switzer

Anne Switzer
Social Sciences & Outreach Librarian
switzer2@oakland.edu
248.370.2475


RefWorks

Refworks allows you to create a personal database of references and automatically generate formatted bibliographies for your projects.

Writing Help

Writing Resources for Students
Find in-depth information about the mechanics of writing, MLA/APA citations, avoiding plagiarism, and more.

Writing Center
The consultants can help you with every stage of the writing process.

Laws/Policies - Federal
Supreme Court:
Laws and Regulations:
  • Regulations.gov Site that allows users to both view and comment upon any federal regulation.

Edit

OU Libraries | 100 Library Drive, Rochester, Michigan 48309-4479 | (248) 370-2471
Accessibility | Sitemap | Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster


Hours | Location

OU Libraries on Facebook OU Libraries on Twitter OU Libraries on Instagram OU Libraries News