- Centers for Disease Control - Data and Statistics
- National Institute of Justice
- National Center for Education Statistics
- Data Center - KIDS Count
Need articles in psychology or counseling? Use PsycINFO! It's a great resource and is published by the American Psychological Association. How to export to RefWorks
Social Work Abstracts
Indexes more than 450 social work and human services journals. Coverage: 1965 to present. How to export to RefWorks
This database abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Coverage: 1960 to present. How to export to RefWorks.
Social Sciences Full Text
Includes full-text articles from over 300 journals, covering concepts, theories and methods from both applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences: 1983 - present. How to export to RefWorks
Social Services Abstracts
Indexes scholarly articles published since 1960; some are full text. How to export to RefWorks
Also consider: Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text , Sociology: SAGE FullText , or JSTOR if you get stuck
Over 400 overview articles, on key topics ranging from international issues to ethical standards.
Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology
Comparable to the print version of the Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology.
Encyclopedia of Crime and Punishment
Includes coverage of crimes and related behaviors, law and justice, policing, forensics, corrections, victimology, punishment, sociocultural context and popular culture, international crime and punishment, research methods and information, organizations and institutions, and special populations.
Encyclopedia of Gender and Society
Provide users with a “gender lens” on society by focusing on significant gender scholarship within commonly recognized areas of social research. Accordingly, the material in this encyclopedia focuses on basic aspects of social life from the most individual (self and identity) to the most global (transnational economics and politics).
Encyclopedia of Race, Ethnicity and Society
Almost 600 entries on issues related to race and ethnicity around the world.
Encyclopedia of Social Problems
More than 600 entries covering such topics as aging, crime, education, family, gender, sexual orientation, health, urbanization, race and ethnicity, social movements and substance abuse.
To locate and retrieve articles or books that are cited in a bibliography or Works Cited page, use Library OneSearch or the Library Catalog to determine if Kresge Library has access to the item. For example, to find the article
Cavaiola, Alan A. (1999). Suicidal behavior in chemically dependent adolescents. Adolescence 34(136): 735-744.
The most direct ways to search are by:
Social Sciences & Outreach Librarian
Refworks allows you to create a personal database of references and automatically generate formatted bibliographies for your projects.