OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Ask a Librarian

Ask a Librarian - by email Ask a Librarian - by phone Ask a Librarian - in person

LIBRARY GUIDE TO Team-Based Learning

About
The resources on this web page is created to assist medical students with their team-based learning activities in the preclinical courses. The list is not exhaustive but representative of online resources licensed by the OUWB Medical Library and those free on the Internet. If there are any other resources you would like to see listed on the page, please contact Misa Mi. Thank you.
Search for Background Information
Health Information Resources from Medical Library (Online textbooks)

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff AccessMedicine
This is a collection of 60 full-text medical and basic sciences books from McGraw-Hill, including Harrison's Textbook of Medicine. AccessMedicine also includes images, videos, diagnostic tools, patient education handouts, and drug information.
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff ClinicalKey
Medical and surgical content from Elsevier, including more than 900 books, 500 journals, thousands of videos and millions of images. To access the PDF, please log in or register for a free account with your institutional subscription.
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff AccessMedicine - Case Files
McGraw Hill's best-selling book series in online interactive format. This comprehensive case collection helps students learn and apply basic science and clinical medicine concepts in the context of realistic patient cases.
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff DynaMed Plus
Evidence-based clinical reference tool written by physicians who synthesize the evidence and provide objective analysis to help health care providers in their daily practice. Designed to provide quick answers to clinical questions. DynaMed Plus is a major upgrade to the DynaMed system and includes an improved search interface, thousands of graphics and images, specialty content, mobile access, and enhanced drug information.
Evidence-based clinical reference tool presented as summaries of the best evidence to support clinical decision making
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff UpToDate
A large, evidence-based online resource covering thousands of internal medicine, pediatric, and OB/GYN topics. Designed to answer point-of-care clinical questions. Remote access limited to enrolled students and OU-based faculty.
Reviews on various medical topics, drug information, calculators, patient education
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Micromedex
Micromedex is a collection of databases containing full-text information on drugs, toxicology, and diseases. The drug information is detailed, referenced, and includes drug comparisons and identification, thereapuetic class searching, and dosing. Micromedex also includes an extensive patient education component.
Detailed drug information, drug interaction, drug comparison, toxicology, calculators
Free Resources from NLM
  • Genetics Home Reference -- Genetic disorders and related genes and chromosomes
  • Genetic Testing Registry -- A searchable database of 53697 tests, 10871, 16236 genes, and 503 labs
  • GeneReviews -- A point-of-care resource providing clinically relevant and medically actionable information for inherited conditions in a standardized journal-style format, covering diagnosis, management, and genetic couseling for patinets and their families.
  • Household Products Database -- Health and safety information on household products. FAQHelp
  • Bookshelf -- Free access to full-text books and documents in life science and healthcareQuick Start GuideTutorials
  • MedGen -- A portal to information on medical genetics 
  • MedlinePlus -- Web site for patients and their families and friends, offering reliable and up-to-date health information 
  • Toxnet -- Databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health, and toxic releases. FAQHelp
Library OneSearch
Find articles, books, etc...


What Is LibraryOneSearch?
Library OneSearch uses one search box to search across many of the library's resources, including everything from the library catalog and licensed databases to free resources on the Internet (e.g., PubMed). Your list of results will have materials ranked by relevance regardless of  format. Check out the list of key databases included and read information on full content availability. 
Not every database that the OU libraries subscribe to will be included in Library OneSearch. If you are doing in-depth research in your discipline or cited reference searching, please use specialty databases to access native search interfaces and to conduct focused searches. Visit the list of databases by subject.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar Article Search
 
Find Full Text Journal Articles
Library Contact
Misa Mi, PhD, MLIS, Associate Professor and Medical Librarian
Office Hours: 9:00AM -5:00PM
E-mail: mi@oakland.edu
Phone: (248) 370-3774
Location: Room #130, Kresge Library

Dictionaries
Anatomical Resources
Search for Journal Articles

Edit

OUWB Medical Library | 100 Library Drive, Rochester, Michigan 48309-4479 | (248) 370-3772
Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster