OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Search by title, author...

LIBRARY GUIDE TO THA 1001 - Foundations of Theatre

Finding Books
Search the Library Catalog for known titles (i.e., Annie Get Your Gun) or authors (i.e., Berlin, Irving). You can then limit the results to scores, sound recordings, video recordings (both physical and online!), or books.

When you search by Subject, you will often see a display of subheadings or related terms. Here are some common theatre-related subject terms:
  • Drama
  • American Drama
  • One-act plays
  • Monologues
  • Acting
  • Auditions
  • Playwrighting
  • Musicals
Notable Call Number Ranges
Musical Theatre ML 102

Musical Scores
M 1507 - M 1508 (some in M 1503)

Theater Education
PN 2075 and PN 3171

Monologues & Audition Pieces
PN 2080

Sets & Scenery PN 2091

Costume Design PN 2067 and TT 507

Playwrighting PN 1661 / Screenwriting PN 1996


Complete listing of Theatre-related call number ranges in the PNs: LOC classification PN.pdf pdf
Videos and more from the library
Theatre in Video - Contains more than 250 definitive performances of the world's leading plays, together with more than 100 film documentaries, online in streaming video - more than 500 hours in all, representing hundreds of leading playwrights, actors and directors.

Kresge Library E-books on Drama

Theatre Arts Databases at Kresge Library
 
Library Contact
Picture: Katie Greer

Katie Greer
Associate Professor
greer@oakland.edu
248.370.2480

Subject-specific resources
The subject/topic guides from the library will direct you to resources which are appropriate to your topic, including video and sound recordings. 

A search in Library OneSearch (search bar at top of page) is a good place to start, as is a search in the  Kresge Library Catalog  for books on your topic.

For scholarly and professional articles,  International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance  is your best bet. 

Specific resources for this project are listed on the right.
Detroit Riots--general resources
Detroit '67 -- Resources from the Detroit Free Press
Virtual Motor City -- Wayne State University image collection
Uprising of 1967 -- Detroit Historical Society
Report of the National Advisory Commission on Civil Disorders

 
Motown Resources
Oxford Music Online
A peerless compendium of information about music and musicians of all periods and places. Limit 4 users. Please logout when done.
NAXOS Music Library
A collection of classical music available online. It includes the complete Naxos and Marco Polo catalogues of over 262,000 tracks, including Classical music, Jazz, World, Folk and Chinese music. While listening, you can read notes on the works being played as well as biographical information on composers or artists in Naxos's extensive database.8 concurrent users at one time. If the limit has been reached, you may see a login screen. This indicates that you should try again later.
NAXOS Video Library
An extensive streaming video library of classical music performances, opera, ballet, live concerts and documentaries.8 concurrent users at one time. If the limit has been reached, you may see a login screen. This indicates that you should try again later.
Art and Fashion Resources
ARTstor
ARTstor is a nonprofit digital library of more than one million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences with a suite of software tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes.
Digital Dress, from WSU
Berg Fashion Library
The Berg Fashion Library includes the Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion, eBooks, reference works, images, and more.
Art Full-Text
Provides access to a wide range of bibliographies, notices of competitions and awards, reports of conferences, exhibition listings, review articles, interviews, and film reviews.

Edit

OU Libraries | 100 Library Drive, Rochester, Michigan 48309-4479 | (248) 370-2471
Accessibility | Sitemap | Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster


Hours | Location

OU Libraries on Facebook OU Libraries on Twitter OU Libraries on Instagram OU Libraries News