OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Search by title, author...

LIBRARY GUIDE TO WGS 1000 - Introduction to Women and Gender Studies

Find Research and Theoretical Articles

Below are some of the library's most important social science and general databases. For other relevant databases covering your topic, consult the Databases by Subject page.

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Project MUSE
Project Muse provides full-text access to the content from over 400 scholarly journals in the humanities and the social sciences. How to export to RefWorks
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Sociological Abstracts
This database abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Coverage: 1960 to present. How to export to RefWorks
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff PsycINFO
Need articles in psychology or counseling? Use PsycINFO! It's a great resource and is published by the American Psychological Association. How to export to RefWorks
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Communication & Mass Media Complete
This resource "offers cover-to-cover (“core”) indexing and abstracts for more than 550 journals, and selected (“priority”) coverage of nearly 200 more, for a combined coverage of 737 titles. Furthermore, this database includes full text for over 440 journals."
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Social Sciences Full Text
Includes full-text articles from over 300 journals, covering concepts, theories and methods from both applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences: 1983 - present. How to export to RefWorks
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Humanities Full Text
Here you'll find articles, book reviews, and interviews dealing with literature, movies, journalism, dance, and communication. 1984 to present. How to export to RefWorks.
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff JSTOR
Full text of core scholarly journals from their beginning to approximately one year ago. Disciplines include botany, business, ecology, general science, humanities, mathematics, social sciences, and statistics. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines. Especially good for historic or classic articles in most fields. Coverage: 1665 to present. How to export to RefWorks
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Web of Science
Web of Science provides access to Science Citation Index (SCI), Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI) and Arts and Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI). These indexes contain references that have been cited in other articles. You can use these citations to perform cited reference searches (locate articles that cite an earlier publication). How to export to RefWorks

Reference Resources
ONLINE Reference

Encyclopedia of Gender and Society

Encyclopedia of Women and Gender (or print: Ref. HQ 1115 .E43 2001)

Encyclopedia of Feminist Theories (or print: Ref. HQ1190.E63 2000)

Feminist Methods in Social Research  (online and print:  HQ 1180 .R448 1992 , 3d floor)

International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences (online and print: Ref. H 40 .A2 I5 2008)

Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology (or print: Ref. HM 425 .B53 2007)

Encyclopedia of Communication Theory (online only) Includes articles on "Feminist Communication Theories," "Feminist Standpoint Theory," etc.  

PRINT Reference--2nd floor South, Reference Collection

Women's Issues Ref. HQ1115.W6425 1997

The Women's Movement Today: An Encyclopedia of Third-Wave Feminism  Ref. HQ1115.W644 2006

Women's Studies Encyclopedia  Ref. 1115.W645 1999

Greenwood Encyclopedia of Women's Issues Worldwide (Asia:  Ref. HQ1726.G74 2003; Central & South America:  Ref. HQ1467.G74 2003; Europe:  Ref. HQ1588.G74 2003; North America & Caribbean:  Ref. HQ1400.G74 2003; Sub-Saharan Africa;  Ref. HQ1788.G74 2003; Middle East & North Africa:  Ref. HQ1726.5.G74 2003)



Library Contact
Picture: Anne Zacharias

Anne Zacharias
Social Sciences & Outreach Librarian
switzer2@oakland.edu
248.370.2475

RefWorks

Refworks allows you to create a personal database of references and automatically generate formatted bibliographies for your projects.

Citation Help
PowerPoint breaking down APA citations. --Gisele McDaniel, Tulsa Community College
Writing Help

Writing Resources for Students
Find in-depth information about the mechanics of writing, MLA/APA citations, avoiding plagiarism, and more.

Writing Center
The consultants can help you with every stage of the writing process.

Interlibrary Loan

Interlibrary Loan
You may request materials we don't have and we'll borrow them from another library for you.


Edit

OU Libraries | 100 Library Drive, Rochester, Michigan 48309-4479 | (248) 370-2471
Accessibility | Sitemap | Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster


Hours | Location

OU Libraries on Facebook OU Libraries on Twitter OU Libraries on Instagram OU Libraries News