OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Search by title, author...

LIBRARY GUIDE TO Wellness, Health Promotion, Injury Prevention

Article Databases
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Alt-Health Watch
Complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness are included here. Many articles are available full-text. How to export to RefWorks
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff CINAHL Plus with Full-Text
The Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature (CINAHL) is a comprehensive and highly-authoritative database for research in nursing and health sciences.  Coverage: 1981-present How to Export to Refworks
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff ERIC
The standard database for resources in education including journal articles from research/scholarly and practitioner literature from 1966 through the present, with online direct full-text for ERIC documents from 1992-present. How to export to RefWorks

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Thanks to Mel Health Reference Center Academic
Multi-source database provides access to the full text of nursing and allied health journals, plus the wide variety of personal health information. How to export to RefWorks

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff HealthScience: Sage Full-text
HealthScience: Sage Full-text includes the full text of 26 journals published by SAGE and participating societies, encompassing over 46,000 articles and up to 129 years of backfiles.

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Medline via Web of Science
MEDLINE is the premier database of the U.S. National Library of Medicine. It contains over 20 million records of journal articles in the life sciences, with particular emphasis on biomedicine. Coverage: 1950-present. How to export to RefWorks
MedlinePlus
MedlinePlus is produced by the National Library of Medicine and the National Institutes of Health. It offers reliable, up-to-date health information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in plain language. An excellent source for patient information.

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff PsycINFO
PsycINFO provides access to international literature in psychology and related disciplines such as psychiatry, education, business, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, law, linguistics, and social work. How to export to RefWorks

Unrestricted Resource PubMed (MEDLINE)
The National Library of Medicine's free interface for MEDLINE, the premier database for biomedical journal citations. MEDLINE dates back to 1946 and includes more than 20 million citations in medicine, nursing, allied health and dentistry. How to export to RefWorks
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Web of Science Web of Science provides access to Science Citation Index (SCI) and is one of the best resources to perform cited reference searches (locate articles that cite an earlier publication). How to export to RefWorks


Tutorials
Visit the library's tutorials page to locate quick guides and video tutorials to assist you with your research.

Essential Elements of a Literaure Review
(UC Santa Cuz)

Scholarly Journals vs. Popular Magazines
Take this quickie tutorial if you need a reminder on identifying scholarly or popular periodicals.

Researching with CINAHL


Registering with ILLiad, the Interlibrary Loan system

Library Contact
Picture: Julia Rodriguez

Julia Rodriguez
Associate Professor / Nursing, Health Sciences & Scholarly Communications Librarian
juliar@oakland.edu

Schedule a research consultation (Fall & Winter only)
 
Research Assistance

Ask a Librarian
Ask a research question by phone, chat, email, or in person at the research help desk.

Research Consultation
Sign up online for an individual session with a librarian to get help with your research.

Additional Online Resources
Environmental Health and Medicine Education - environmental health and medicine education products for health professionals, community members, and interested members of the public.

MedEdPortal is a free peer-reviewed publication service and repository for medical and oral health teaching materials, assessment tools, and faculty development resources.
Citation Help
Kresge Library subcriptions include free access for the OU community to both RefWorks and EndNote Web. Also available is the free Firefox extension Zotero, which lives in your brower and  functions much like itunes. View Citation Tools webpage.

Citation Style Guides:

Writing Help

Writing Resources for Students
Find in-depth information about the mechanics of writing, MLA/APA citations, avoiding plagiarism, and more.

Writing Center
The consultants can help you with every stage of the writing process.


Edit

OU Libraries | 100 Library Drive, Rochester, Michigan 48309-4479 | (248) 370-2471
Accessibility | Sitemap | Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster


Hours | Location

OU Libraries on Facebook OU Libraries on Twitter OU Libraries on Instagram OU Libraries News