OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Search by title, author...

LIBRARY GUIDE TO WHP 310 - Injury Prevention Control & Safety Promotion

Searching for Literature
Research and read lots of information to develop your understanding of the topic.

START by exploring Library OneSearch (includes books, ebooks, academic journals, newspapers)

Search for articles, books, and more...

To search subject specific literature use suggested databases from OneSearch

Possible database choices:

  • CINAHL Plus with Full-Text - Nursing and Health sciences
  • Criminology: SAGE Full Text - Criminal Justice, Juvenile Delinquency, Juvenile Justice, Corrections, Penology, Policing, Forensic Psychology, and Family and Domestic Violence.
  • Health Reference Center Academic - Nursing and Allied Health Journals, includes multimedia
  • JSTOR - Law, Health Policy, Social Science journals
  • PsycINFO - Psychology, Psychiatry, Education, Business, Medicine, Nursing, Pharmacology, Law, Linguistics, and Social Work.
     
Citation Linkers

To get the full-text of an article you found on the web or elsewhere paste the citation information into
Google Scholar and follow the Get-it buttons.


Google Scholar Article Search
 

Or use the library's citation linker tool.

Evaluating Resources
Six Things to Consider about any information source.....

1. Authority - Who is the author/developer? What are her/his qualifications? What are the affiliations, if any?
2. Currency -
Is the material current, updated regularly?
3. Relevancy -
How relevant is the information to your topic?
4. Accuracy -
How do you know the information contained is correct? Are the facts cited, can they be checked?
5. Objectivity/Bias -
Is the information presented objectively? What bias might the authors/creators have?
6. Appropriateness -
Is this a good source for academic / scholarly level research?
Excellent reference sources
Encyclopedia of Crime and Punishment -covers concepts and theories, correction law, crimes, methods and statistics, national surveys, police science, and cultural context.
Encyclopedia of Gender and Society - focuses on significant gender scholarship within commonly recognized areas of social research
Encyclopedia of Race, Ethnicity and Society -Almost 600 entries on issues related to race and ethnicity around the world.
Encyclopedia of Social Problems -More than 600 entries covering such topics as aging, crime, education, family, gender, sexual orientation, health, urbanization, race and ethnicity, social movements and substance abuse.
Relevent titles in library holdings
Bever, David L. (1995): Safety: A Personal Focus. Fourth Edition. McGraw-Hill. Location: 3rd Floor ·Call Number: HV 675 .B48 1996  Check availability.

Evans, L. (2004). Traffic safety. Science serving society, Bloomfield Hills, Michigan. Location: 3rd Floor · Call Number: HE 5614.2 .E958 2004 Check availability.

McClure, R, Stevenson, M, and McEvoy, S. (2004). The scientific basis of injury prevention and control. IP Communications, Australia. Location: 3rd Floor · Call Number:  HV 675 .S35 2004  Check availability.

Miller, Dean F. (1995): Safety: Principles and Issues. McGraw-Hill. Location:3rd Floor · Call Number: HV 675 .M49 1995  Check availability.

Mohan, D and Tiwari, G (2000). Injury prevention and control. Taylor and Francis. Location: 3rd Floor · Call Number: HV 675 .I54 2000  Check availability.
Library Contact
Picture: Julia Rodriguez

Julia Rodriguez
Associate Professor / Nursing, Health Sciences & Scholarly Communications Librarian
juliar@oakland.edu

Schedule a research consultation (Fall & Winter only)
 
Welcome video
Unable to display content. Adobe Flash is required.
Legal documents
  • LegalTrac - major law reviews, legal newspapers, bar association journals and international legal journals
  • LexisNexis Academic Universe - LEGAL - court decisions, legal codes, legal news, and law journals, both at the state level and federal level.
  • Google Scholar - Legal documents limit
SafetyLit Research Literature feed

Loading ...


Edit

OU Libraries | 100 Library Drive, Rochester, Michigan 48309-4479 | (248) 370-2471
Accessibility | Sitemap | Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster


Hours | Location

OU Libraries on Facebook OU Libraries on Twitter OU Libraries on Instagram OU Libraries News