OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Search by title, author...

LIBRARY GUIDE TO WHP 340 - Contemporary Issues in Personal Health

Searching
*Research and read lots of information to develop your understanding of the topic.

>Start by searching Library OneSearch tool and narrow down by format type, ie: either newspaper, scholarly etc.

USE SUGGESTED DATABASES from OneSearch or BROWSE SUBJECT LIST of DATABASES.

Possible choices:
  • CINAHL Plus with Full-Text -comprehensive and highly-authoritative database for research in nursing and health sciences
  • Health Reference Center Academic - provides access to the full text of nursing and allied health journals, includes multimedia
  • PubMed - The National Library of Medicine's free interface for MEDLINE the premier database for biomedical journal citations
  • PsycINFO - literature in psychology and related disciplines such as psychiatry, education, business, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, law, linguistics, and social work.
  • New York Times - search via InfoTrac database
  • New York Times website (*allows public access from home to back issues)
Relevent Ebook collections:
Diet & Clinical Nutrition
Communicable Diseases
Mental Illness Prevention
*See entire Health ebook list


Health News Websites
Kaiser Health News (KHN) is a nonprofit news organization committed to in-depth coverage of health care policy and politics.

NLM & NIH - Medline Plus News - Health news from HealthDay and Reuters Health Information, plus recent press announcements from major medical organizations.

Public Health Newswire published by APHA American Public Health Association

Government health sites news & data
Government sites
NYT- Personal Health article feed

Loading ...

Writing Help

The Writing Center at Oakland University will assist developing their ideas into polished final products. The Center's services are in high demand so be sure to plan ahead when scheduling an appointment.

Library Contact
Picture: Julia Rodriguez

Julia Rodriguez
Associate Professor / Nursing, Health Sciences & Scholarly Communications Librarian
juliar@oakland.edu

Schedule a research consultation (Fall & Winter only)
 
Evaluating Resources
Six Things to Consider about any information source.....

1. Authority - Who is the author/developer? What are her/his qualifications? What are the affiliations, if any?
2. Currency -
Is the material current, updated regularly?
3. Coverage -
Is the information complete? Are there sources given for additional information?
4. Accuracy -
How do you know the information contained is correct? Are the facts cited, can they be checked?
5. Objectivity/Bias -
Is the information presented objectively? What bias might the authors/creators have?
6. Appropriateness -
Is this a good source for academic / scholarly level research?

Additional information: Evaluating Health Websites tutorial

Citation Tools
Kresge Library subcriptions include free access for the OU community to RefWorks. This online personal database of references helps you generate a bibliography from your list of references automatically formatted in any common citation style.

Citation Style Guides:

Edit

OU Libraries | 100 Library Drive, Rochester, Michigan 48309-4479 | (248) 370-2471
Accessibility | Sitemap | Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster


Hours | Location

OU Libraries on Facebook OU Libraries on Twitter OU Libraries on Instagram OU Libraries News