>Start by searching Library OneSearch tool and narrow down by format type, ie: either newspaper, scholarly etc.
USE SUGGESTED DATABASES from OneSearch or BROWSE SUBJECT LIST of DATABASES.
- CINAHL Plus with Full-Text -comprehensive and highly-authoritative database for research in nursing and health sciences
- Health Reference Center Academic - provides access to the full text of nursing and allied health journals, includes multimedia
- PubMed - The National Library of Medicine's free interface for MEDLINE the premier database for biomedical journal citations
- PsycINFO - literature in psychology and related disciplines such as psychiatry, education, business, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, law, linguistics, and social work.
- New York Times - search via InfoTrac database
- New York Times website (*allows public access from home to back issues)
Diet & Clinical Nutrition
Mental Illness Prevention
*See entire Health ebook list
Public Health Newswire published by APHA American Public Health Association
- Center for Disease Control and Prevention - National Center for Health Statistics
- HealthData.gov -a federal government website managed by the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services
- Medline Plus - Personal Health Topics website - produced by the National Library of Medicine and the National Institutes of Health
Associate Professor / Nursing, Health Sciences & Scholarly Communications Librarian
If none of the time slots work for you or if there are none available, email me directly and suggest a date & time and I will do my best to accommodate you.
1. Authority - Who is the author/developer? What are her/his qualifications? What are the affiliations, if any?
2. Currency - Is the material current, updated regularly?
3. Coverage - Is the information complete? Are there sources given for additional information?
4. Accuracy - How do you know the information contained is correct? Are the facts cited, can they be checked?
5. Objectivity/Bias - Is the information presented objectively? What bias might the authors/creators have?
6. Appropriateness - Is this a good source for academic / scholarly level research?
Additional information: Evaluating Health Websites tutorial