OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Search by title, author...

LIBRARY GUIDE TO WHP 350 Health Program Implementation

Getting started
*Research and read lots of information to develop your understanding of the topic

>Start by searching Library OneSearch tool found on the top of all library wepages.  
Example: "health promotion" AND worksite
Narrow down by format type, ie: either newspaper, scholarly etc.

USE SUGGESTED DATABASES from OneSearch or BROWSE SUBJECT LIST of DATABASES.
Database
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff ABI/Inform Complete Articles from the business press, trade publications, academic journals, and newspapers related to business management, hospital administration. 
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Business Source Elite   Broad scope - includes academic journals, trade publications, magazines, books, market research reports.
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff CINAHL Plus with Full-Text -comprehensive and highly-authoritative database for research in nursing and health sciences
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Medline via Web of Science - The National Library of Medicine's free interface for MEDLINE the premier database for biomedical journal citations
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Social Sciences Full Text  - full-text articles from over 300 journals, covering concepts, theories and methods from both applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences.
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Web of Science  - access to multiple databases that reference cross-disciplinary research, which allows for in-depth exploration of specialized sub-fields within an academic or scientific discipline.
Database tutorials
Database tutorials:
CINAHL tutorials 
PUBMED tutorials
Library Contact
Picture: Julia Rodriguez

Julia Rodriguez
Associate Professor / Nursing, Health Sciences & Scholarly Communications Librarian
juliar@oakland.edu

Schedule a research consultation (Fall & Winter only)
 
In class activities
Use this link to access Google doc for inclass activities. 
If you need...source chart
Evaluating Resources

Six Things to Consider about any information source.....

 

1. Authority - Who is the author/developer? What are her/his qualifications? What are the affiliations, if any?

2. Currency - Is the material current, updated regularly?

3. Coverage - Is the information complete? Are there sources given for additional information?

4. Accuracy - How do you know the information contained is correct? Are the facts cited, can they be checked?

5. Objectivity/Bias - Is the information presented objectively? What bias might the authors/creators have?

6. Appropriateness - Is this a good source for academic / scholarly level research?
Steps of a Literature Review
  • Problem formulation - which topic or field is being examined and what are the component issues?
  • Literature search - finding materials relevant to the subject explored
  • Data evaluation - determining which literature makes a significant contribution to the understanding of the topic
  • Analysis and interpretations - discussing the findings and conclusions of pertinent literature
How to analyze literature for a review
  • Provenance -- what are the author's credentials? Are the author's arguments supported by evidence [e.g. primary historical material, case studies, narratives, statistics, recent scientific findings]?
  • Methodology -- were the techniques used to identify, gather, and analyze the data appropriate to addressing the research problem? Was the sample size appropriate? Were the results effectively interpreted and reported?
  • Objectivity -- is the author's perspective even-handed or prejudicial? Is contrary data considered or is certain pertinent information ignored to prove the author's point?
  • Persuasiveness -- which of the author's theses are most convincing or least convincing?
  • Value -- are the author's arguments and conclusions convincing? Does the work ultimately contribute in any significant way to an understanding of the subject?

Analyzing Sources & Literature Review tutoria

Analyzing Sources & Literature Review tutorials:
Evaluating literature chart (blank Windows doc)

Essential Elements of a Literature Review guide (UC Santa Cuz)
Conducting Literature Reviews - detailed guide (USC)
Critically Analyzing Information Sources (Cornell Libraries)

Citation Tools
Kresge Library subcriptions include free access for the OU community to RefWorks a web-based citation managment system.
 

Citation Style Guides:


Edit

OU Libraries | 100 Library Drive, Rochester, Michigan 48309-4479 | (248) 370-2471
Accessibility | Sitemap | Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster


Hours | Location

OU Libraries on Facebook OU Libraries on Twitter OU Libraries on Instagram OU Libraries News