>Start by searching Library OneSearch tool found on the top of all library wepages.
Example: "health promotion" AND worksite
Narrow down by format type, ie: either newspaper, scholarly etc.
USE SUGGESTED DATABASES from OneSearch or BROWSE SUBJECT LIST of DATABASES.
Business Source Elite Broad scope - includes academic journals, trade publications, magazines, books, market research reports.
CINAHL Complete -comprehensive and highly-authoritative database for research in nursing and health sciences
Medline via Web of Science - The National Library of Medicine's free interface for MEDLINE the premier database for biomedical journal citations
- full-text articles from over 300 journals, covering concepts, theories and methods from both applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences.
Web of Science - access to multiple databases that reference cross-disciplinary research, which allows for in-depth exploration of specialized sub-fields within an academic or scientific discipline.
- Center for Disease Control and Prevention - Workplace Wellness Programs
- Center for Disease Control and Prevention - National Center for Health Statistics
- HealthData.gov -a federal government website managed by the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services
- USA.gov - Guide to Community Health Prevention Services
- Medline Plus - Health Topics website - produced by the National Library of Medicine and the National Institutes of Health
Associate Professor / Health Sciences & Scholarly Communications Librarian
If none of the time slots work for you or if there are none available, email me directly and suggest a date & time and I will do my best to accommodate you.
Six Things to Consider about any information source.....
1. Authority - Who is the author/developer? What are her/his qualifications? What are the affiliations, if any?
2. Currency - Is the material current, updated regularly?
3. Coverage - Is the information complete? Are there sources given for additional information?
4. Accuracy - How do you know the information contained is correct? Are the facts cited, can they be checked?
5. Objectivity/Bias - Is the information presented objectively? What bias might the authors/creators have?6. Appropriateness - Is this a good source for academic / scholarly level research?
- Problem formulation - which topic or field is being examined and what are the component issues?
- Literature search - finding materials relevant to the subject explored
- Data evaluation - determining which literature makes a significant contribution to the understanding of the topic
- Analysis and interpretations - discussing the findings and conclusions of pertinent literature
- Provenance -- what are the author's credentials? Are the author's arguments supported by evidence [e.g. primary historical material, case studies, narratives, statistics, recent scientific findings]?
- Methodology -- were the techniques used to identify, gather, and analyze the data appropriate to addressing the research problem? Was the sample size appropriate? Were the results effectively interpreted and reported?
- Objectivity -- is the author's perspective even-handed or prejudicial? Is contrary data considered or is certain pertinent information ignored to prove the author's point?
- Persuasiveness -- which of the author's theses are most convincing or least convincing?
- Value -- are the author's arguments and conclusions convincing? Does the work ultimately contribute in any significant way to an understanding of the subject?
Analyzing Sources & Literature Review tutorials:
Evaluating literature chart (blank Windows doc)
Essential Elements of a Literature Review guide (UC Santa Cuz)
Conducting Literature Reviews - detailed guide (USC)
Critically Analyzing Information Sources (Cornell Libraries)
Citation Style Guides:
- APA Formating and Style Guide with examples (by Owl at Purdue)
- Sample APA paper
- APA style tutorial
- APA template (OU Writing Center)
- Create an APA citation with CINAHL - video tutorial