>Start by searching Library OneSearch tool and narrow down by format type, ie: either newspaper, scholarly etc.
USE SUGGESTED DATABASES from OneSearch or BROWSE SUBJECT LIST of DATABASES.
- PubMed - The National Library of Medicine's free interface for MEDLINE the premier database for biomedical journal citations
- CINAHL Plus with Full-Text -comprehensive and highly-authoritative database for research in nursing and health sciences
- Health Reference Center Academic - provides access to the full text of nursing and allied health journals, includes multimedia
- Social Sciences Full Text - full-text articles from over 300 journals, covering concepts, theories and methods from both applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences.
- New York Times - search via InfoTrac database
- New York Times website (*allows public access from home to back issues)
Ethnic Minorities & Public Health
Gender Specific Public Health
*See entire Health ebook list
1. Achieving Cultural Competency: A Case-Based Approach to Training Health Professionals. 2009. Wiley-Blackwell (ebook)
2. Encyclopedia of Public Health. 2008:185. Springer Reference. -- Cultural competence. (ebook)
3. Encyclopedia of Race, Ethnicity, and Society. 2008. SAGE Publications, Inc. --Health disparities
4. Essentials of health, culture, and diversity: Understanding people, reducing disparities. 2013. Edberg MC. Jones & Bartlett Learning.
3rd Floor (Circulating) Call Number: RA 418 .E327 2013
5. Culture and mental health : sociocultural influences, theory, and practice. 2009. Wiley-Blackwell. Book - 3rd Floor (Circulating).
Call Number:RC 455.4 .E8 C785 200
6.Cultural competence: a lifelong journey to cultural proficiency. 2010. SLACK Inc. Book - 3rd Floor (Circulating). Call Number: RA 418.5 .T73 C845 2010
7.Countries and their Cultures. (2001) Gale Virtual Reference Library (ebook) or 2nd Floor South Reference (Non-Circulating).
Call No. GN 307 .C68 2001.
Associate Professor / Health Sciences & Scholarly Communications Librarian
If none of the time slots work for you or if there are none available, email me directly and suggest a date & time and I will do my best to accommodate you.
1. Authority - Who is the author/developer? What are her/his qualifications? What are the affiliations, if any?
2. Currency - Is the material current, updated regularly?
3. Coverage - Is the information complete? Are there sources given for additional information?
4. Accuracy - How do you know the information contained is correct? Are the facts cited, can they be checked?
5. Objectivity/Bias - Is the information presented objectively? What bias might the authors/creators have?
6. Appropriateness - Is this a good source for academic / scholarly level research?
Additional information: Evaluating Health Websites tutorial
- Center for Disease Control and Prevention - National Center for Health Statistics
- HealthData.gov -a federal government website managed by the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services
- World Health Organization (WHO) - news and data on global health
- Medline Plus - Health Topics website - produced by the National Library of Medicine and the National Institutes of Health
Citation Style Guides: