OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Search by title, author...

LIBRARY GUIDE TO WRT 3082 - Business Writing

Career Exploration
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Thanks to Mel LearningExpress PrepSTEP provided by Michigan Electronic Library includes sections on career preparation, grad school admission preparation, and job & career acceleration.

Pay and Benefits data from the Burea of Labor Statistics.  Here you can find information on wages and benefits broken down by job and location.

Wage and Benefits data from the Department of Labor.  Similar to the data from Burea of Labor Statistics above.  Use this if you have trouble finding the information you need from the BLS.


*** The library also has many books related to various careers. Try searching for a your career in Library OneSearch, in the search box under the photo banner above, pairing your chosen job and the word "careers," e.g. nursing and careers. ***
Article Databases
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff ABI/Inform Complete
Provides access to articles in scholarly, peer-reviewed business journals, trade journals and business news publications. Includes the full-text of the Wall Street Journal, the Financial Times and the Economist.

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Business Source Elite
Broad scope - includes academic journals, trade publications, magazines, books, market research reports, and product reviews. How to export to RefWorks

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Thanks to Mel Regional Business News
Provides full-text coverage for regional business publications, including titles from Crain Communications.  Thanks to MeL.
Documentary Sources
Both subscription video databases below offer a lot of career exploration media. Try searching for your chosen career!

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Alexander Street Video

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff AVON: Academic Video Online

 
Library Contact
Picture: Beth Wallis

Beth Wallis
Professor & Associate Dean
wallis@oakland.edu
248.370.4879

Office: 300D Kresge Library
Office Hours: By appointment
US and World Data Sources
Sources for Employment Data
  • Pay and Benefits data from the Burea of Labor Statistics.  Here you can find information on wages and benefits broken down by job and location.
  • Wage and Benefits data from the Department of Labor.  Similar to the data from Burea of Labor Statistics above.  Use this if you have trouble finding the information you need from the BLS.
Sources for data about the United States:
  • PolicyMap
    This resource is a U.S. national data and mapping tool and analytics platform with multidisciplinary applications for college students and faculty.  Users can leverage thousands of U.S. data indicators in PolicyMap to perform demographic and socioeconomic analysis, from a neighborhood census block group in many cases, up to a national level, as well as create custom regions, for their research and studies.
  • DemographicsNow
    Provides access to demographic data. Drill down to the city or neighborhood level to identify markets and audiences in your community. Ideal for supporting small business and local economic development activities. Thanks to MeL.
  • Census Data - a gateway to data collected by the Census Bureau
Sources for International Data Research a Specific Country
  • MarketLine  - find an in-depth PESTLE report on almost any country in the world
  • CIA World Factbook - find a varieyt of information on a given country
Library Contact
Picture: Beth Wallis

Beth Wallis
Professor & Associate Dean
wallis@oakland.edu
248.370.4879

Office: 300D Kresge Library
Office Hours: By appointment
Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation Information
RefWorks

Refworks

Refworks allows you to create a personal database of references and automatically generate formatted bibliographies for your projects.

Infographics
Free online tools for creating infographics:



Chart from DigitalChalk
Library Instruction Videos
Finding Articles in Library OneSearch: https://youtu.be/W2es0Z60BlU
US and World Data Sources: https://youtu.be/musUzZw3MG0 
Introduction to RefWorks: https://youtu.be/kAjUPk39RVw
Infographics Tips: https://youtu.be/poOy1jbEf68
Look Up a Nonprofit or Charity
Guidestar - A database of over 620,000 nonprofit organizations in the United States. You get 4 profile views before you have to create a free account.  With a free account, you get unlimited views.

Charity Navigator - A database of charities. Includes the ability to filter by state, size, and scope. It also includes ratings and top ten lists.

CitizenAudit -  A free-to-search database of nonprofit organizations. It provides 15 years of disclosures for every charity in America.
 
Corporate Social Responsibility Resources
Books
The library owns many books and ebooks on the topic of Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR):
View a list of CSR related books.

Research Center
Center for Corporate Citizenship - run by Boston College, this site offers information on various forms of Corporate Social Responsibility.
 
Find Articles
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff ABI/Inform Complete
Provides access to articles in scholarly, peer-reviewed business journals, trade journals and business news publications. Includes the full-text of the Wall Street Journal, the Financial Times and the Economist.

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Business Source Elite
Broad scope - includes academic journals, trade publications, magazines, books, market research reports, and product reviews. How to export to RefWorks

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Google Scholar
You can check the availability of article full text if you use our link to Google Scholar, which will ask you to log in with your OU NetID. How to export to RefWorks  

Try using terms like:
  • "corporate social responsibility" OR CSR
  • "corporate citizenship"
  • "social responsibility"
  • "social enterprise"
  • charity partnership*
  • "charitable giving"
Library OneSearch
Find articles, books, etc...

Search by title, author...

Library Contact
Picture: Beth Wallis

Beth Wallis
Professor & Associate Dean
wallis@oakland.edu
248.370.4879

Office: 300D Kresge Library
Office Hours: By appointment
Writing Help

Writing Resources for Students
Find in-depth information about the mechanics of writing, MLA/APA citations, avoiding plagiarism, and more.

Writing Center
The consultants can help you with every stage of the writing process.

Library OneSearch
Find articles, books, etc...

Search by title, author...

Finding Info on Tech: Reference Sources
Reference Books are a great place to get background information, and Library OneSearch makes it very easy to search for online reference books within our collection:
  1. Perform a keyword search for your tech topic. Be sure to put quotation marks around phrases!
  2. On the results page, in the CONTENT TYPE limiter section, click on "More...," then select Reference.
Finding Industry Information: Articles
Once you've got background information on your chosen technology, you need to apply it to the relevant industry to find useful articles. Perform a new search in Library OneSearch with these tips in mind:
  • Keep it simple. Start your search using keywords for the technology and the industry, putting phrases in quotation marks as needed, i.e. "open source software" "real estate".
     
  • If you have too many results, try limiting your results... by Subject Terms that describe your technology and/or industry; to Trade Publications, which you can do under the CONTENT TYPE section; or by publication date.
Library Contact
Picture: Beth Wallis

Beth Wallis
Professor & Associate Dean
wallis@oakland.edu
248.370.4879

Office: 300D Kresge Library
Office Hours: By appointment
Writing Help

Writing Resources for Students
Find in-depth information about the mechanics of writing, MLA/APA citations, avoiding plagiarism, and more.

Writing Center
The consultants can help you with every stage of the writing process.

Finding Company Info
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff MarketLine
Includes company and industry reports, country profiles, as well as market data and country statistics.

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Mergent Online
Financial data on US and international publicly traded firms; includes annual reports, SEC filings, news, and other information. Limited to 7 users at a time. Log off after using!

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Factiva
Factiva is a premier business and general reference resource with a broad collection of sources that reach across disciplines from business and current events to communications and technology, politics, foreign policy, and more. Factiva.com combines more than 28,000 sources to give users access to premium content from 159 countries in 22 languages.
Finding Info on a Nonprofit
CitizenAudit -  A free-to-search database of nonprofit organizations.  It provides15 years of disclosures for every charity in America.

Guidestar- A database of over 620,000 nonprofit organizations in the United States. You get 4 profile views before you have to create a free account.  With a free account, you get unlimited views.
Finding Business Articles
The follwing two resources are good for finding scholarly and trade journal articles related to business.

ABI/Inform Complete
Provides access to articles in scholarly, peer-reviewed business journals, trade journals and business news publications. Includes the full-text of the Wall Street Journal, the Financial Times and the Economist.

Business Source Elite
Broad scope - includes academic journals, trade publications, magazines, books, market research reports, and product reviews. How to export to RefWorks

Try using terms like:
  • "corporate social responsibility" OR CSR
  • "corporate citizenship"
  • "social responsibility"
  • "social enterprise"
  • charity partnership*
Library Contact
Picture: Beth Wallis

Beth Wallis
Professor & Associate Dean
wallis@oakland.edu
248.370.4879

Office: 300D Kresge Library
Office Hours: By appointment

Edit

OU Libraries | 100 Library Drive, Rochester, Michigan 48309-4479 | (248) 370-2471
Accessibility | Sitemap | Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster


Hours | Location

OU Libraries on Facebook OU Libraries on Twitter OU Libraries on Instagram OU Libraries News