OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Search by title, author...

LIBRARY GUIDE TO WRT 3086 - Creative Nonfiction

Models: published creative nonfiction
Top Tier Magazines

The Atlantic Monthly
Harper’s Online fulltext only 1993-2007; for more recent issues see AP 2 .H3 on the 4th floor of the library.
The New Yorker

We access these magazines' online content through databases, so that before you get to the issues of the magazine you will have to pass through ABI/Inform or Academic OneFile on your way. Also, each of these high-profile magazines has a public website with a paywall. Outisde the paywall you will find selected items from the magazine, but also blogs and other unique online content including creative nonfiction. See: http://www.theatlantic.com/ ; http://www.newyorker.com/ ; http://harpers.org/.

Journals

Brevity Magazine
Creative Nonfiction
Fourth Genre*
Hippocampus Magazine 
Michigan Quarterly Review*
Oxford American
1966: A Journal of Creative Nonfiction
The Normal School
The Pinch
River teeth a journal of nonfiction narrative*
The Southern Review*
The Sun

*Indicates OU LIbrary full-content access through a database provider. The other sites have paywalls but do offer some free content, and are devoted/sympathetic to creative non-fiction as a genre.

2014 Pushcart Prize Ranking of Literary Magazines — Nonfiction
One man's ranking of the literary magazines by the number of Pushcart Prizes awarded to pieces they've published.
The Craft
Research for Information
Numbers about people and things:

American Factfinder - current US census and updates.
Historical Census Data Browser for going back through time.
Statistical Abstract of the United States - concise current plus historical coverage on a wide variety of topics.

Articles and other kinds of information:

Academic OneFile
A huge and highly heterogeneous multidisciplinary mix of scholarly, journalistic, practitioner and popular sources, with much direct full-text included. Use the tabs to identify scholarly, newspaper or other sources as necessary.
ARTstor
ARTstor is a nonprofit digital library of more than one million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences with a suite of software tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes.
NAXOS Music Library
A collection of classical music available online. It includes the complete Naxos and Marco Polo catalogues of over 262,000 tracks, including Classical music, Jazz, World, Folk and Chinese music. While listening, you can read notes on the works being played as well as biographical information on composers or artists in Naxos's extensive database.
VAST: Academic Video Online
A multidisciplinary collection of videos that touches on the curriculum needs of virtually every department. Look for specialized collections (Theatre in Video, Opera in Video) under Advanced Search.

Ask A Librarian - Chat


Edit

OU Libraries | 100 Library Drive, Rochester, Michigan 48309-4479 | (248) 370-2471
Accessibility | Sitemap | Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster


Hours | Location

OU Libraries on Facebook OU Libraries on Twitter OU Libraries on Instagram OU Libraries News