OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Search by title, author...

LIBRARY GUIDE TO Graphic Design

Scholarly Resources/Articles

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Design and Applied Arts Index
Source of information for all aspects of design and crafts, from textiles and ceramics to vehicle design, advertising and sustainability. Covers journal articles, exhibition reviews and news items from 1973 to the present.

Try using these search tips for Design and Applied Arts Index-Particularly note items in Bold print.  Taking a moment to look these over could save you a lot of time and effort.
http://search.proquest.com/help/academic/Search_Tips.html

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Art Full-Text
Provides access to a wide range of bibliographies, notices of competitions and awards, reports of conferences, exhibition listings, review articles, interviews, and film reviews.

Art Full-Text offers direct links to both PDF and HTML documents.  The database publisher offers a helpful search video.
http://support.ebsco.com/training/flash_videos/adv_guided/adv_guided.html

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff JSTOR
Full text of core scholarly journals from their beginning to approximately one year ago. Disciplines include botany, business, ecology, general science, humanities, mathematics, social sciences, and statistics. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines. Especially good for historic or classic articles in most fields. Coverage: 1665 to present. How to export to RefWorks

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Communication & Mass Media Complete
This resource "offers cover-to-cover (“core”) indexing and abstracts for more than 550 journals, and selected (“priority”) coverage of nearly 200 more, for a combined coverage of 737 titles. Furthermore, this database includes full text for over 440 journals."

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Art Bibliographies Modern
Find items on contemporary art here.

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Oxford Art Online
Online version of The Dictionary of Art and The Oxford Companion to Western Art, as well as articles that have been added or updated since their appearance in print. Limit 1 user. Please log off when done.

REFERENCE MATERIALS
The Bloomsbury encyclopedia of design / editor-in-chief, Clive Edwards.
"The Bloomsbury Encyclopedia of Design provides a comprehensive guide to design, with entries on key topics in the history and theory of design, addressing a range of design forms including graphic, textile, furniture, metal, ceramic, fashion, stage and film, vehicle and product design, as well as national histories of design and key design movements. The Encyclopedia provides up-to-date peer reviewed coverage of the last 250 years of design history, with global coverage by leading international design scholars and design historians. Complete with a comprehensive index and full cross referencing, The Bloomsbury Encyclopedia of Design is the definitive guide to Design"--NK 1320 .B59 2015

 

 
Images/Archives/Collections

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff ARTstor
ARTstor is a nonprofit digital library of more than one million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences with a suite of software tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes.


AIGA Design Archives https://designarchives.aiga.org/#/home

Design is History http://www.designishistory.com 
(Good overview of Graphic Design industry; however uses some Wikipedia Links so be careful to check references)

Rochester Institute of Technology/ Cary Graphic Arts Collection
http://library.rit.edu/cary/

Library of Congress Digital Collections
http://www.loc.gov/collections/?fa=partof%3Aprints+and+photographs+division

New York Public Library Digital Collections
http://digitalcollections.nypl.org

Huntington Library: The Jay T. Last Collection of Graphic Arts and Social History
http://hdl.huntington.org/cdm/landingpage/collection/p16003coll4

Important Books on the use of Images
How to Use Images/ Lindsey Marshall & Lester Meacham / Kresge Library Catalog E Book- Full Text Online

ADVERTISING

Duke University Library Advertising Collections
Smithsonian National Museum of American History/ Advertising Collection
http://americanhistory.si.edu/collections/subjects/advertising

University of Washington/ Early Advertising Collection of  the West: 1867-1918
http://content.lib.washington.edu/advertweb/index.html

J. Walter Thompson / History of Advertising
https://www.jwt.com/history/

Winterthur Museum of Americana/ Advertising Ephemera
http://content.winterthur.org:2011/cdm/landingpage/collection/advertising

POSTERS
Important Books on Poster Design

Posters: a Global History/ Elizabeth E. Guffey (Available through MelCat) http://elibrary.mel.org/search
Presenting Shakespeare: 1100 Posters from Around the World/ Mirko Ilic & Stephen Heller PR 3091 .I55 2015
New Masters of Poster Design: Poster Design for the Next Century/ John Foster NC 1806.9 .F67 2006


Library of Congress/ Printed Ephemera: Three Centuries of Broadsides and Other Printed Ephemera
http://www.loc.gov/collections/broadsides-and-other-printed-ephemera/about-this-collection/

New York Public Library/ Digital Poster Collections
http://digitalcollections.nypl.org/search/index?utf8=?&keywords=posters#/?scroll=212

Colorado State University: The International Poster
https://lib2.colostate.edu/posters/


London Transport Museum Poster Collection
http://www.ltmcollection.org/posters/index.html

Library Company of Philadelphia/ 18th & 19th Century Printed & Graphic Ephemera Collection
http://digital.librarycompany.org/islandora/search/printed and graphic ephemera?type=edismax

Princeton Library/ Digital Archive of Latin American and Caribbean Printed Ephemera
http://lae.princeton.edu

EPHEMERA
Ephemera Society of America
http://ephemerasociety.org/index.html

Free Images Online
Morgue File
https://morguefile.com/

Flickr   https://www.flickr.com/

Creative Commons https://ccsearch.creativecommons.org/

Wikimedia Commons https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/Category:Images
Books/ Graphic Design
Kresge Library offers a large selection of books on Graphic Design.  Using titles, subjects and  key words in Library One Search will produce a list of options.   Please see the tutorials listing on this page for help in finding Kresge Library resources.

  The following list includes other sources to discover exciting books in the field.
  • Best Books on Graphic Design
http://www.designersandbooks.com/books/title/genre/all/covers
An excellent resource is this website created by design professionals. According to the website:

"Designers & Books is an advocate for books as an important source of inspiration for creativity, innovation, and invention. The main way we do this is by publishing lists of books that esteemed members of the international design community identify as important, meaningful, and formative—books that have shaped their values, their worldview, and their ideas about design."

Important Books on Graphic Design
Graphic Design: A New History/ Stephen Eskilson NC 998 .E85 2012
Megg's History of Graphic Design / Philip Meggs & Alston Purvis /Kresge Library E Book-Full Text Online
The Story of Graphic Design: from the invention of writing to the birth of Graphic Design/ Patrick Cramsie NC 998 .C72 2010
Graphic Style: From Victorian to New Century/ Stephen Heller & Seymour Chwast
NC 998.2 .H45 1988
Graphic Design in America: A Visual Language History/ Mildred S. Friedman NC 998.5 .A1 G65 1989
Seventy-nine Short Essays on Design/ Michael Bierut (Available through MelCat) http://elibrary.mel.org/search
Graphic Design Referenced: a visual guide to the language, applications, and history of graphic design/ Bryony Gomez-Palacio (Available through MelCat) http://elibrary.mel.org/search
By Design: Why There are No Locks on the Bathroom Doors.../ Ralph Caplan (Available through MelCat) http://elibrary.mel.org/search
Design/Writing/Research: Writing on Graphic Design/ Ellen Lupton & J. Abbott Miller (Available through MelCat) http://elibrary.mel.org/search

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff WorldCat
A catalog of materials owned by libraries worldwide. How to export to RefWorks

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Credo Reference
Provides online access to encyclopedias, almanacs, and other reference tools.
Particularly good titles under this resource include:
100 Ideas that Changed Graphic Design
Thames & Hudson Dictionary of Design and Designers


 
 
Graphic Designers/ Movements
The Premier Website for Graphic Design Professionals
AIGA / Professional Association for Design

http://www.aiga.org/

List of Top Graphic Designers/ Art Directors & Awards
AIGA/ Medalists  http://www.aiga.org/medal
AGI/ Alliance Graphique Internationale http://a-g-i.org/
ADC Awards (Art Director's Club) http://adcglobal.org/awards/
International Design Awards http://idesignawards.com/about.html
AGDA/ Australian Graphic Design Association http://www.agda.com.au/?globalCategory=
Design Culture/ Italy http://www.designculture.it/index.html
School of Visual Arts: The Masters Series http://www.sva.edu/page/the-masters-series

Important Books on Designers
Gustav Klimt: Art Nouveau Visionary/ Eva De Stefano  N 6811.5 .K55 D513 2008
A Designer's Art/ Paul Rand NC 997 .R278 1985
Milton Glaser: Graphic Design (Available through MelCat) http://elibrary.mel.org/search
Make it Big/  Paula Scher / Kresge Library EBook -Full Text Online
Things I Have Learned in my Life So Far/ Stefan Sagmeister
Tibor Kalman: Perverse Optimist (Available through MelCat) http://elibrary.mel.org/search
Women Designers in the USA: 1900-2000: Diversity and Difference (Available through MelCat) http://elibrary.mel.org/search

Key Design Periods and Movements
Important Books on Graphic Design History/ Movements
Graphic Style: From Victorian to New Modern/ Steven Heller & Seymour Chwast  
  • Victorian
The Victorian Web
http://www.victorianweb.org/art/design/index.html
  • Arts and Crafts Movement
Important Books on the Arts and Crafts Movement
William Morris: By HImself : Designs and Writings / Wm. Morris N 6797 .M5885 A4 1988
William Morris: Linda Parry NK 1535 .M67 A4 1996a
The Arts & Crafts Movement in Europe and America: Design for the Modern World, 1880-1920/ Wendy Kaplan (Available through MelCat)http://elibrary.mel.org/search

Victoria & Albert Museum/ William Morris http://www.vam.ac.uk/page/w/william-morris/
New York Metropolitan Museum/ Heilbrun Timeline/ The Arts and Crafts Movement in America https://www.metmuseum.org/toah/hd/acam/hd_acam.htm
  • Art Nouveau
Important Books on Art Nouveau
Art Nouveau: 1890-1914/ Paul Greenhalgh
NK 775.5 .A7 A785 2000
Art Noveau/ Stephen Escritt N 6465 .A7 E737 2000

Alphons Mucha/ The Mucha Foundation http://www.muchafoundation.org
New York Metropolitan Museum/ Heilbrun Timeline/ Art Nouveau https://www.metmuseum.org/toah/hd/artn/hd_artn.htm
Europeana Collections: Art Nouveau https://www.europeana.eu/portal/en/exhibitions/art-nouveau-2011
  • The Glasgow School/ The Vienna Secession
Important Books on the Glasgow School and the Vienna Secession
Charles Rennie Mackintosh: Life and Work/ James Macaulay NA 997 .M3 M26 2010
Art in Vienna: 1898-1918: Klimt, Kokoschka, Schiele and their Contemporaries /Peter Vergo (Available through MelCat) http://elibrary.mel.org/search
Kolomon Moser: Master of Viennese Modernism/ Maria Rennhofer
  • Pictorial Modernism/ Art Deco
Important Books on Pictorial Modernism/ Art Deco
A.M Cassandre/ Henri Mouron (Available through MelCat) http://elibrary.mel.org/search
Modernism: Designing a New World/ Christopher Wilk (Available through MelCat) http://elibrary.mel.org/search
Euro Deco/ Steven Heller& Louise Fili NC 998.6 .E87 H45 2004
Art Deco: The Golden Age of Graphic Art & Illustration/ Michael Robertson & Rosalind Ormiston (Available through MelCat) http://elibrary.mel.org/search

Victoria & Albert Museum/ Art Deco https://www.vam.ac.uk/collections/art-deco
  • De Stijl/ Suprematism
Important Books on De Stijl/ Suprematism
About 2 Squares+More About 2 Squares/ El Lissitzky (Available through MelCat) http://elibrary.mel.org/search
The Story of De Stijl/Mondrian to Van Doesburg  Hans Janssen & Michael White
Dutch Moderne: Graphic Design from De Stijl to Deco/ Steven Heller & Louise Fili (Available through MelCat) http://elibrary.mel.org/search

Guggenheim Museum/ New York/ De Stijl https://www.guggenheim.org/artwork/movement/de-stijl
  • Bauhaus/ New Typography
Important Books on Bauhaus
Bauhaus: Weimar, Dessau, Berlin, Chicago/ Hans Wingler (Available through MelCat) http://elibrary.mel.org/search
The New Typography/ Jan Tschichold 
The Bauhaus Group: Six Masters of Modernism/ Nicholas Fox Weber N 332 .G33 W483 2009

Bauhaus Archiv Museum/ Berlin https://www.bauhaus.de/en/
Bauhaus Dessau http://www.bauhaus-dessau.de/en/index.html
Print Magazine: The Swiss Style: the Principles, the Typefaces, the Designers http://www.printmag.com/typography/swiss-style-principles-typefaces-designers/
  • Modernism in America
Important Books on the Modernist Movement in America
Ink, Paper, Politics-WPA Era Printmaking from the Needles Collection / DePaul Art Museum
NE 508 .I55x 2014
From Bauhaus to Aspen: Herbert Bayer and Modernist Design in America/ Gwen Finkel Chanzit (Available through MelCat) http://elibrary.mel.org/search
Alexey Brodovitch/ Kerry William Purcell (Available through MelCat) http://elibrary.mel.org/search
Beyond Rosie the Riveter: Women of World War II in American Popular Graphic Art/  Donna B. Knaff NE 962.W65 K55 2012

Library of Congress: WPA Posters http://www.loc.gov/pictures/collection/wpapos/
Northwestern University: World War II Poster Collection https://images.northwestern.edu/catalog?f[institutional_collection_title_facet][]=World%20War%20II%20Poster%20Collection%20at%20Northwestern%20University%20Library
  • Postmodernism
Important Books on Postmodernism
Postmodernism: Style and Subversion, 1970-1990/ ed. Glenn Adamson & Jane Pavitt NX 456.5.P66 P673 2011
No More Rules: Graphic Design and Postmodernism/ Rick Poynor (Available on MelCat) http://elibrary.mel.org/search

 
Primary Sources/ Tutorials
Primary Sources/Archives
Archives of American Art
https://www.aaa.si.edu/
Digital Public Library of America
https://dp.la/
American Historical Association Archives
http://archiveswiki.historians.org/index.php/Category:All_Archives
Online Archive of California
http://www.oac.cdlib.org/
New York State Digital Collections
http://digitalcollections.archives.nysed.gov/
National Archives
http://www.archives.gov

Important Kresge Library Tutorials on Reference Resources and Finding Primary Source Material
  
Another excellent Guide on Evaluating Resources from University of California at Berkeley
http://guides.lib.berkeley.edu/evaluating-resources


 
Tech & Trade/ How-To/ Media
Technique/ How-To

Important Books on Graphic Design Technology

Graphic Design Essentials : Skills, Software, and Creative Solutions/ Joyce Walsh Macario NC 1001 .M33 2009


Computer Software/ Tutorials
https://layersmagazine.com/tag/illustrator-tutorials
http://design.tutsplus.com/categories/graphic-design

HOW Design Blog
http://www.howdesign.com/how-design-blog/

The Vignelli Canon http://www.vignelli.com/canon.pdf
Abduzeedo http://abduzeedo.com/tutorial
3D Artist https://www.3dartistonline.com/
Creative Bloq http://www.creativebloq.com/
Digital Output http://www.digitaloutput.net/

TRENDS AND NEWS
AIGA Eye on Design
http://eyeondesign.aiga.org
Dezeen https://www.dezeen.com/
Communication Arts https://www.commarts.com/
Design Edge/ Canada http://designedgecanada.com
Design Observer http://designobserver.com/
Graphis http://www.graphis.com/
The Design Range http://www.thedesignrange.com/
Graphic Arts Monthly http://graphicartsmag.com
Eye http://www.eyemagazine.com/
Cultured http://www.culturedmag.com/
Creative Review/ UK https://www.creativereview.co.uk/
Icon http://www.iconeye.com
Azure Design http://www.azuremagazine.com/design/


 
Companies/Marketing/Statistics

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff IBISWorld
Detailed market research and analysis on over 700 U.S. industries as well as Global Industry Reports, China Industry Reports and Business Environment Reports.
Enter Graphic Design in the Search Box

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Thanks to Mel DemographicsNow


Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Statistical Abstract of the United States (Proquest)
The Statistical Abstract of the United States Online is the standard summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States – including vital and health statistics. It is also designed to serve as a guide to other statistical publications and sources, both in print and on the Web. Visit the Statistical Abstract Guide for more information on using this resource.

The Best Marketing Database
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff ABI/Inform Complete
This database includes about 80% full-text articles from the business press, trade publications, academic journals, and newspapers (including full text of the Wall Street Journal). It is a great starting point for articles on broad business topics. How to export to RefWorks

For Information on Michigan Based Companies/ Pure Michigan Industry
https://www.michigan.org/industry

Government Data
http://www.data.gov


Important Books on Design Companies
The Push Pin Graphic: A Quarter Century of Innovative Design and Illustration/ Seymour Chwast &Steven Heller NC 999.4 .P86 C49 2004

 
Typography/ Book Cover Design
Typography
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Thanks to Mel Academic OneFile
A huge and highly heterogeneous multidisciplinary mix of scholarly, journalistic, practitioner and popular sources, with much direct full-text included. Use the tabs to identify scholarly, newspaper or other sources as necessary. Thanks to MeL / How to export to RefWorks Coverage: 1980-present

Academic One File contains several Print/Publishing oriented journals including:
Print Magazine (1987-2017)  (Current issue also available online)
Printing History (2007- Present)

JStor (See Scholarly Resources) contains Printing history journals including:
Print Quarterly (1984-2011) http://www.jstor.org/journal/printquarterly

Important Books on Typography
Adrian Frutiger-Typefaces: The Complete Works / Adrian Frutiger
NE 707.4 .F78 2014
Type: A Visual History of Typefaces and Graphic Styles: 1628-1900  / Cees de Jong & Alston Purvis Z 250 .A2 T953 2013
New Ornamental Type/ Stephen Heller and Gail Anderson (Available through MelCat ) http://elibrary.mel.org/search
The Elements of Typographic Style/ Robert Bringhurst Graphic Design before Graphic Designers: the Printer as Designer and Craftsman/ David Jury
(Available through MelCat) http://elibrary.mel.org/search

Association Typographique Internationale http://www.atypi.org
A Short Introduction to Graphic Design History http://www.designhistory.org
Identifont http://www.identifont.com/index.html
Hamilton Wood Type and Printing Museum http://woodtype.org

Book & Magazine Cover Design
Publisher's Bindings Online: The Art of Books-Univeristy of Alabama
http://bindings.lib.ua.edu
Book Cover Archive: Includes Portfolio sites of Book Cover Designers http://bookcoverarchive.com
Norman Rockwell Museum/ Book Cover Art http://www.illustrationhistory.org/genres/book-cover
Saturday Evening Post/ Cover Art Archives http://www.saturdayeveningpost.com/sections/art-entertainment
Scrap Book of Russian Bookjackets: 1917-1942 http://digitalcollections.nypl.org/search/index?utf8=?&keywords=book+cover+design#

Videos
Chip Kidd: Designing Books is no Laughing Matter: TED talk http://www.ted.com/talks/chip_kidd_designing_books_is_no_laughing_matter_ok_it_is
Inside Random House: The Art of Cover Designhttps://www.youtube.com/watch?v=l2Z86L25v30
Logos/ Brands/Product Design
BRANDS
Interbrand http://interbrand.com/


Important Books on Brands
How Brands Become Icons/ Douglas B. Holt HD 69.B7 H647 2004
Airline Visual Identity: 1945-1975/ M.C. Huhne (Available through MelCat) http://elibrary.mel.org/search
Brand Bible: The Complete guide to Building, Designing and Sustaining Brands/ ed. Debbie Millman (Available through MelCat) http://elibrary.mel.org/search
Designing Brand Identity/ Alina Wheeler / Kresge EBook-Available Online

LOGOS
Important Books on Logos
Logo Design Love/ David Airey NC 1002.L63 A37 2015
Logo Life / Ron van der Vlugt  (Available through MelCat) http://elibrary.mel.org/search
 
Title Design/ Audio/Video
FILM TITLE DESIGN
Title Sequence Design
Art of the Title
http://www.artofthetitle.com

ALBUM DESIGN
Important Books on Album Cover Design

Alex Steinweiss: The Inventor of the Modern Album Cover/ Kevin Reagan (Available through MelCat) http://elibrary.mel.org/search
Blue Note: Album Cover Art/ Graham Marsh & Glyn Callingham NC 1882.7 .J39 B68 1991

AUDIO/ INTERVIEWS
Design Matters/ Debbie Millman
"The world's first podcast about design and an inquiry into the broader world of creative culture through wide-ranging conversations with designers, writers, artists, curators, musicians, and other luminaries of contemporary thought.".   http://www.debbiemillman.com/designmatters/

VIDEO
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff VAST: Academic Video Online
A multidisciplinary collection of videos that touches on the curriculum needs of virtually every department. Look for specialized collections (Theatre in Video, Opera in Video) under Advanced Search.
Research Assistance

Ask a Librarian
Ask a research question by phone, chat, email, or in person at the research help desk.

Research Consultation
Sign up online for an individual session with a librarian to get help with your research.

Find Books

Library Catalog
Use the catalog to find books, videos, recordings, and goverment documents we have at the library.

MelCat
A statewide catalog of many of Michigan's libraries. It allows you to request books at another library be sent to Kresge Library for you.

Library Contact
Picture: Diane Vermette

Diane Vermette
Overnight Supervisor
vermette@oakland.edu
248.370.4425

Writing Help

Writing Resources for Students
Find in-depth information about the mechanics of writing, MLA/APA citations, avoiding plagiarism, and more.

Writing Center
The consultants can help you with every stage of the writing process.

Interlibrary Loan

Interlibrary Loan
You may request materials we don't have and we'll borrow them from another library for you.

RefWorks

Refworks allows you to create a personal database of references and automatically generate formatted bibliographies for your projects.


Edit

OU Libraries | 100 Library Drive, Rochester, Michigan 48309-4479 | (248) 370-2471
Accessibility | Sitemap | Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster


Hours | Location

OU Libraries on Facebook OU Libraries on Twitter OU Libraries on Instagram OU Libraries News